Japan Hotels

Choose where to sleep in Japan: we have over 5143 hotels available in 403 cities

Most popular destinations in Japan

Here are the top destinations


Every spring Japan celebrates the blooming of cherry blossoms. This event is called hanami and involves admiring the beauty of the blossoming trees.
The beautiful landscapes that this event creates attract every year many visitors, and it is indeed a very cherished celebration by Japanese people.
This involves the whole of Japan and follows the blossoming cycle of the cherry blossom trees: it begins in April in the southern Honshu Island and ends in mid May on the northernisland of Hokkaido.
Check out our spring offers to admire the blossoming cherry trees.


Japan is the Land of the Rising Sun, as one can see looking at the symbol on the national flag. The capital is Tokyo. The archipelago consists of four main islands: Hokkaido, Honshu, Kyushu, Shikoku. 75% of the territory consists of mountains, and the conic Mt. Fuji is the tallest one.
In the archipelago there are also four volcanic complexes with 165 volcanoes, of which about 60 are still active.
Japan doesn’t have big lakes with the exception of the Biwa, the Inawashiro and the Kussharo. Rivers play a very important role for irrigation throughout the country. Also, there are a number of water and mineral water springs on account of the volcanic nature of the islands.


The weather is temperate and varies from North to South. Japan is divided into six climate zones, each one with peculiarflora. The best time to visit Japan is during spring and fall, thanks to the mild temperatures. Summers begin in June with a humid, monsoon-type of weather and end in July/August, with humidity and high temperatures. Winter is the perfect season to go skiing.


Rice is pretty common in many Japanese recipes, and it is usually steamed using specific electric containers.
In traditional Japanese cooking,there isn’t the concept of a meal with starters, main course, dessert, etc. People share most dishes. Besides rice, Japanese employ steamed vegetables in their food. Sushi (raw fish served on rice), Sashimi (raw fish served sliced), ramen (spaghetti soup), and tempura (deep fried fish and vegetables) are only a few of the dishes that represent Japanese cuisine. Japanese don’t use utensils, but chopsticks called hashi and spoons to eat soups.


Hotels and hostels are divided into buildings for Japanese people and foreigners. The Japanese-reserved buildings have tatami in place of mattresses, and are mostly run by families in the vicinity of mountains or next to the lakes. The hotels for foreigners are the regular international chains with which most travellers are familiar.


Traditional Japanese arts owe a lot to the Zen philosophy. Slowly, Zen philosophy spread worldwide, and many people are now taking inspiration from it in order to achieve the inner enlightenment. Japanese culture is based on the principle of the “ways”, which has an aesthetic meaning as well as a philosophical one. An important element of Japanese tradition is the immediate representation of beauty, which is expressed with a gesture, a sign or a shape. The most common ways are the “cha no yu”, the way of tea; the “ikebana”, the way of flowers; and the “shodo”, the way of calligraphy.


The most used language is Japanese and rarely you’ll hear speaking other languages. English is the only foreign language commonly known, and it’s used mostly in touristic areas by people working in the tourist industry, in the hotels, in the airports, in the stations, etc. Because of the great affluence of Chinese and Korean people, in some areas of Tokyo you might hear speaking Chinese and Korean.


The official currency is the yen (JPY). Japan is linked to the international banking system and it’s very common to pay in cash.