HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel Tavistock

3 Stars

  Tavistock Square, WC1 H9EU, London

Hotel TAVISTOCK The hotel is located in a typical '50s building, red brick in art deco style. Among the services available there are outdoor terrace and bar. This hotel does not accept name changes after closing the book. More Details Hotel Tavistock

Book

  • Vote 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Stay 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Price 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Rooms 3.3/5 3.3/5
  • Location 4.3/5 4.3/5
  • Cleanliness 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Reception 3.5/5 3.5/5
  • Services 3.4/5 3.4/5
  • Business Services 1/5 1/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Helen
Larne, United Kingdom
20/04/2014

4/5 Read Review

Tavistock

I found the hotel excellent value, clean, with friendly and very helpful staff, especially the porters. it is in a lovely area of london with great transport connections: 3 underground stations and frequent buses. there are various restaurants and bars nearby with good food.

Close

more

Andrew
Preston, United Kingdom
19/11/2013

5/5 Read Review

London retreat

This hotel is superbly located and i have used it with my family and friends for the last 6 years when i visit. the staff are friendly and due to my continued custom i was bumped up for english breakfast which was greatly appreciated. i you want easy access to the west end, euston /st pancras / kings cross railway stations as well as the strand area then this is just the ticket. and what a price for such a location. the rooms are clean and suitable for the stay. no frills but all you need. a few restaurants nearby and a great pub opposite the president which is in the same hotel group. recommended!!!

Close

more

Trevor
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
06/12/2012

4/5 Read Review

T & l's views of the tavistock

Very good value for money, particularly considering its location. to get english brekfast was excellent.

David
Ulverston, United Kingdom
15/11/2012

4/5 Read Review

Great base for a london weekend

We were really pleasantly surprised at what a great find this hotel was. it had been recommended by a friend and we will recommend it to others. apart from a slightly cool response by the first person we met on reception, we were really very impressed by the quality of the staff, their friendliness and helpfulness. the dining room was run very efficiently and the staff were very quick to respond, eg offering more coffee or tea, extra cutlery etc. the room was clean and pleasant, sheets and towels were changed daily and the bed was comfortable. the location was brilliant for us: near to euston station, very convenient for russell square tube stn, with easy access to all the places we wanted to visit.

Close

more

David
Lytham St. Annes, United Kingdom
23/03/2012

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break in london

The tavistock was a good location for all the activities we had planned, as well as unplanned visits. it provided us with an ideal base for our weekend break.

Angela
Bolton, United Kingdom
07/02/2012

2/5 Read Review

My recent stay at tavistock hotel

By booking through hotelsclick found i paid £22 more than usual. was given room with a high sided bath when i needed a shower as i am disabled. found out that was only booked in for a continental breakfast and had to argue we had paid for 'full english'. staff on reception don't seem to know what they are doing. will consider booking another venue on next visit.

Close

more

Gillian
Belfast, United Kingdom
25/01/2012

5/5 Read Review

Good value

I was attending a meeting at the university of london and the hotel was cheap and well located. (it would also be very good for tourists too). breakfast was plentiful and well cooked and the hotel clean. the room was recently renovated, had a view of the square and i got a peaceful night's sleep. the art deco features added a little extra to this 3* hotel.

Close

more

Kenneth
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
01/11/2011

4/5 Read Review

Short stay

Excellent value

Kevin
Maidstone, United Kingdom
20/07/2010

2/5 Read Review

Expensive for what you get

We booked a double room through hotelsclick for £121. when we arrived we were given a twin room, after speaking to the manager we were finally given a double. the going rate if booked direct is £91 so we feel a bit ripped off by hotelsclick.com. room was basic, but clean and because it had no ac it was very hot. we had to leave the window open but then had to contend with the very load traffic noise. also beware that there is building work going on during the day(drilling/hammering) and there is no water to some rooms between 11am and 4.30pm.

Close

more

Lorraine
Chigwell, United Kingdom
18/12/2009

3/5 Read Review

Review of tavistock hotel

good middle of the road hotel in a pleasant area (bloomsbury. great for transport links to west end. within walking distance of theatre land and west end if feeling fit. great decor with interesting features. reasonable price for location.

Keith
Birmingham, United Kingdom
30/09/2009

5/5 Read Review

Tavistock hotel london october 2009.

My colleagues and i have regularly stayed at the tavistock and found it to be excellent value for money and very comfortable, convenient for reaching many parts of the capital and with very convivial staff.

Joan
East Linton, United Kingdom
21/07/2009

4/5 Read Review

Pleasantly suprised

I was in london for business and wanted to stay near my son's flat. the tavistock had a very 50s appearance and i was very pleased with the reception i got, the cleanliness of the room and the generally efficiency of the staff.

Janis
Grantham, United Kingdom
15/07/2009

4/5 Read Review

Good basic accommodation

Have stayed here twice once in a single and once in a twin (paying as single) rooms are clean, bright and pleasant. no air con so can be a bit close or noisy with window open but so are most london hotels. nice position opposite a park square and very convenient for transport. staff all helpful, lovely art deco bar and reception.good buffet breakfast. probably wouldn't stay long but good for a couple of nights as position is convenient for me. price is reasonable too.

Close

more

Jerry
Leeds, United Kingdom
20/02/2009

3/5 Read Review

Tavistock experience

The hotel provides a very basic but adequate overnight stop. the staff are very attentive and polite, breakfast is fine although it pays to go outside the main rush between 8 and 9 as it can get busy. one fault is that a lot of the rooms were originally smoking rooms and even to this day they reek of smoke.

Close

more

Shizana
West Drayton, United Kingdom
06/02/2009

4/5 Read Review

Tavistock hotel

Good location and perfect for a cheap place to stay in central london. not luxury but clean and comfortable and surprisingly a lot more pleasant than expected.

Patricia
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
28/01/2009

5/5 Read Review

Value for money

A second stay in this conveniently situated hotel. it is extremely good value and very efficiently run. it is clean and the staff are friendly. i can't rate the business services.

Bruce
Harrogate, United Kingdom
17/01/2009

5/5 Read Review

A night in the triple

Good all good staff were god food was nice room was very good

Keith
Birmingham, United Kingdom
14/01/2009

5/5 Read Review

Tavistock hotel london.

The hotel was excellent - service - staff - food and accommodation. room was spotless and well appointed and all facities were first class. i shall visit again and recommend to friends.

Pamela
Halifax, United Kingdom
12/02/2008

5/5 Read Review

Excellent value for money hotel!!

Very clean, very comfortable, very quiet and very central - what more can you ask? excellent breakfast choice. would definitely stay there again.

Peter
Formby, United Kingdom
01/04/2007

3/5 Read Review

Dated but ok for the price

Dated hotel. it probably looked great in the 70s but doesn't any more. good location and price was reasonable. the first room we were given was very pokey and smelt a bit but we got moved to a much better room which was larger and did not smell. overall the quality was representative of the low price. probably wouldn't stay there again

Close

more

Linda
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
02/04/2007

3/5 Read Review

Conference stay

Good location and less than 5mins from euston station. could do with an update in decor and bedrooms are clean and basic. don't rely on getting a hairdryer in your room! noisy when you need to open window! which is likely as bedrooms very stuffy and hot. radiators don't seem to turn off! ok for a short stay, but would look for something better if more than a couple of nights.

Close

more

Zoe
Shipston On Stour, United Kingdom
16/02/2007

3/5 Read Review

Tavistock

Rooms and bathrooms very small, sheets very clean, however blanket and bedspread left alot to be desired,no toiletries supplied so take your own, hairdryer only available with prior booking.room very hot but ok once radiator turned off. staff friendly and helpful, breakfast continental ok cereals/toast/rolls/coffee/tea, £4 extra for english. overall basic accomodation but value for money

Close

more

Stuart
Truro, United Kingdom
12/02/2007

4/5 Read Review

Conference accomadation

We stayed here on business to attend a conferenced at a nearby hotel.it is very convenient to this part of town and it is possible to walk to covent garden and oxford stree or a short bus or taxi ride,you are also close to russell square tube. for the money in central london this is really good value,the retro style is good and the majority of staff friendly and helpful. the only let down was the awful "continental"breakfast with undrinkable coffee and stale roles.otherwise would fully recommend.there is a great cafe in the middle of russell square.i suggest you skip breakfast and head there.sr

Close

more