HotelsClick.com

Reviews Gran Caribe Hotel Plaza

4 Stars

  Ignacio Agramonte No. 267, Habana Vieja, -, Havana

GRAN CARIBE HOTEL PLAZA The hotel opened in 1909 and was originally the home of wealthy family Marqués de Pinar del Río. The original atmosphere, very pleasant and welcoming building has survived over the years. Guests are greeted in the courtyard with a statue in Carrara marble. The walls are decorated with paintings... More Details Gran Caribe Hotel Plaza

Book

  • Vote 2.5/5 2.5/5
  • Stay 2.3/5 2.3/5
  • Price 2.3/5 2.3/5
  • Rooms 1.8/5 1.8/5
  • Location 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Cleanliness 2.3/5 2.3/5
  • Reception 2.7/5 2.7/5
  • Services 2.3/5 2.3/5
  • Business Services 0.5/5 0.5/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

David
N.A., United Kingdom
28/12/2016

2/5 Read Review

Gross misrepresentation

Bedrooms were 2 star - very tired, broken tiles, boarded up windows, minimal or no hot water, old beds, poor bedding; check in was 16.00 not 14.00 on website. lobby area has insufficient seating; restaurant food poor

Imogen
United Kingdom
09/10/2016

3/5 Read Review

Havana hotel experience

The beds were comfortable and the room was as clean as could be expected considering there was a damp problem. the first day the breakfast was very tasty. the second day the hot plates weren't working so all was cold and soggy. the hotel was an amazing building from times past but sadly in real need of restoration. the glass ceiling was held together by tape!

Close

more

Hannah
United Kingdom
04/06/2016

2/5 Read Review

Poor hotel

Considering the 4 stars and price the hotel quality was below poor. we moved rooms twice. the first being as the basin tap did not work and the general cleanliness of the bathroom. the second room we were moved to the front door would not open. our third room was fine. very basic. the staff were extremely unhelpful and felt always rushed and not personable.

Close

more

Caroline
United Kingdom
19/01/2016

3/5 Read Review

This will be a fabulous place in a few years!

The public areas of the hotel, the bar, the roof top buffet restaurant etc were great, exceeding expectations, but some of the rooms were not so good. what is the point of having air conditioning for example, if there is no glass in the windows? one of our party was in a room with a serious damp problem.

Close

more

Michael
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
25/01/2016

3/5 Read Review

Hotel plaza havana cuba jan 2016

Lucky to get what seemed to be the last room available in any hotel in old havana. overall pleasantly surprised given some of the reviews. grand lobby, rest of hotel badly in need of extensive renovation, but we found it all quite amusing & part of the overall cuba experience. rooms very basic, hand held shower, shuttered windows almost falling out of their frames. our room was facing the internal atrium so was quiet, but lots of construction work going on outside. rooftop breakfast chaotic and poor quality. expensive for what it offered, but great location for a couple of days.

Close

more

John
Dartford, United Kingdom
31/05/2015

3/5 Read Review

A 4 star hotel that really isn't 4 stars!

We turned up at the hotel, and as they say, looks can be deceiving...on the outside it looked ok, and the reception was restored, so it looked quite good... the reception staff were pretty efficient at check-in, and there are two elavators in the place to cater for an awful lot of rooms, and no service lift, so quite often, you'd see staff using at least one of the lifts, so a longer than normal wait is expected when using them. the rooms, i think, were last restored at least 30 years ago, with the duvet cover literally threadbare, with one of those small in-efficient air-con units jutting out of a window working hard to cool a room that's 16ft high! the bathroom was ancient, with a very limp wristed excuse for a shower, with a shower head, which is arguably the largest i've ever seen...but the flow of water was so poor that i could've filled up a jug and had a more pleasant shower. the 'bath towels' were nothing more than handtowels, again, threadbare... if you really want to compare this, a 4* hotel, with a 5* hotel, just cross the street, to the iberostar parque central...just from the lobby, you can see the world of difference and realise that this hotel obviously paints 4 stars everywhere, as it relates to the stars you can see at night, rather than the rating of the hotel... the breakfast, well, it is on par with the shower in the room...limp wristed...not even rateable in the stars...you can go out and spend $2 cuc on a breakfast, which is by far, so much better than the pig swill served up on level 5... all in all, there are so many far cheaper hotels there, which offer the same standard of class, but without falsely advertising it...

Close

more