Welcome! Already registered? Access your profile
Are you a new user? Register

Reviews: Hotel Travelodge London Southwark

Hotel TRAVELODGE LONDON SOUTHWARK

202 - 206 Union Street - Southwark, SE1 0LH,

The hotel is a modern gray building and has fast check-in and check-out for those who travel for work, 24 hours reception, wifi in all common areas (extra charge), vending machines for soft drinks and snacks for quick breaks, ATM and public parking (charged) nearby. Opposite the hotel there are...

Vote 4/5
Stay 4/5
Price 4.2/5
Rooms 3.8/5
Location 4.2/5
Cleanliness 4.1/5
Reception 4.1/5
Services 3.6/5
Business Services 0.6/5
View only reviews from
Akshay - Nottingham, United Kingdom - 02/04/2017
The room was big, with a large size bed. Was basic, which you expect from a Travelodge but they provided a TV, a kettle (with tea/coffee, sugar/sweetener and milk) and breakfast. The tap in my room didn't work properly, and basic toiletries like toothpaste was not provided. However, the breakfast was good, staff were nice and they kindly let me store my bags in their staff room on the day that I checked out.
Richard - , United Kingdom - 09/06/2016
Much better price (roughly 40% cheaper) than the Travelodge website!
Dean - , United Kingdom - 04/06/2016
Upset to find we had to pay £10 for early check in when the room was ready anyway.... What is this money for ???
Gordon - Ballymena, United Kingdom - 14/12/2014
Great location at a great price. Friendly and helpful staff. Will stay again.
Eamonn - Bridgend, United Kingdom - 05/09/2014
good price for 3 nights in good location What you expect from Traveloge,basic but clean
Jane - Taunton, United Kingdom - 02/08/2014
This recently refurbished hotel offers everything to a weekend visitor - the staff are switched on and courteous, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Situated just minutes away from the South Bank and Borough Market, it suited us excellently.
Anne - Merseyside, United Kingdom - 18/10/2013
We stayed at the Travelodge London Southwark in October 2013. The hotel is a couple of minutes' walk from Southwark station and within walking distance of the Thames. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and the self-service breakfast offered lots of choice. We got discounted reservations which made this stay excellent value for money - would definitely stay here again.
Phil - Helsby, United Kingdom - 23/08/2013
We were looking for 2 rooms for one night only and this was perfect. Inexpensive for London and although the rooms are basic they are very clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was ideal - close to Southwark tube station. No charge for leaving our bag for the day.
Steven - West Midlands, United Kingdom - 10/08/2013
We stayed at this hotel for one night only as we had an event to attend on the Saturday night. We arrived a little earlier than check in but was informed by the friendly desk attendant that we could drop off our bags and begin to enjoy our London adventure straight away. Returning a few hours later, a bit tired and hungry, we were pleased to find our room was a decent size with a big comfy bed. We picked up a couple of snacks from the convienently located shop which is right next to the hotel and we relaxed in front of the tv for an hour before ordering a very fulfilling vegetarian meal at the hotel restaurant. Once again, we were delighted with the member of staff who served us, I believe his name was Claudio? There was a new member of staff on the desk during the afternoon and she was very pleasant and helped us with directions to our event. Lucky for us Southwark station is a two minute walk down the road so it takes 15 mins to get to all the main attractions. We slept well that night, our only concern was a couple of noisy trains but that can easily be resolved by bringing ear plugs (I'm a light sleeper) In the morning we were treated to a hearty all you can eat buffet style breakfast of crossaints, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt or a cooked breakfast. Very nice!! This was my husbands first trip to London and my first trip staying in a budget hotel. When we return to London next year we will book into this Travelodge again. Good Times: Proximity to tube Big bed Great shower Excellent staff - really are such nice people Excellent breakfast Great selection of food and drink on restaurant Great value Great view of Gherkin and Shard from hotel window Bad Times: Noisy trains
Heather - Sale, United Kingdom - 01/08/2013
I was very impressed with the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful; the room was comfortable, with much needed air conditioning as it was the hottest weekend of a very hot summer and the breakfast was good. There is a great pub, the Admiral Nelson, across the road which serves excellent food. The overall location of the hotel makes it a definite return venue.
Wendy - Stocktonon Tees, United Kingdom - 06/09/2012
Used this hotel for a mini break in London . Area felt safe and it was a couple of minutes walk from the tube station which was great for getting into the centre. Friendly staff, and the bar, although very basic, was open till 4pm! Rooms were also basic but very clean and the bed was ok. The hotel was very good value for the money.
Terry - Jersey, United Kingdom - 16/01/2011
This hotel was very basic; no frills but its location (very good access to a lot of attractions)made it very good.When spending time in London you only need a bed and a bathroom and both were of a reasonable standard and very clean.Plenty of choice at breakfast to suit all tastes.Our room faced a central courtyard which meant it had no view at all but was very quiet,no traffic or train noise. Perfect hotel for a London short break on a budget. It was even possible to eat cheaply at the hotel in the evening although we did not do this.Southwark tube station 5 minutes down the road.
Angela - Channel Islands, United Kingdom - 24/10/2010
This hotel was exactly what we were looking for - very clean,friendly, easy access into the centre of London and good value for money. The hotel's proximity to three railway lines could prove a problem- but as we already knew this from reading reviews we took our ear plugs and did not hear a thing! Breakfast tends to be rather manic when the hotel is full with queues of people everywhere waiting for hot food to arrive but this only happened once during our stay.
Stuart - Wolverhampton, United Kingdom - 22/10/2010
Easy access from Lambeth North Tube. Efficient checkin on 1st (UK terminology) floor. 6th floor room massive (which unfortunately highlighted how sparcely Travelodges are furnished). Looked out onto street but quiet. Only flaw was the chain from the roller blind had become detached and so it had to be wound up and down by hand. Room maintenance is generally Travelodge's weakest point. Took some time to work out heating/cooling system which was set at 17 degrees in October! Eventually stopped trying to be clever and set it to automatic and cranked up the temperature to 21 degrees. Perfectly adequate brakfast buffet - I think I may have been upgraded to full English, but maybe it was because it was a weekend. Only problem was the conveyer belt toaster only produced warm(ish) bread, even on 2 passes. In contrast to friendly reception, staffing here very dour, and clearly there to guard the breakfast rather than help the customers. Everything helped by a cracking (for London) room rate from hotelsclick.
Tracey - Liverpool, United Kingdom - 04/06/2010
We enjoyed are stay in this hotel it was clean the room was spaces and the staff were helpful. The hotel is basic but good value for money.
Michhael - Hornsea, United Kingdom - 19/02/2010
Do not be put off by the outside as you arrive. The hotel has just been refurbished and was as good as any budget chain hotel will be. Location is good within walking distance of Waterloo station and all it's travel options. Room was adequate and clean. You can park on the road outside the hotel from 6pm Friday until 8.00 Monday.
Christine - Northwich , United Kingdom - 16/01/2010
Good friendly reception. Clean basic quiet room. Breakfast included . Good value for money