Welcome! Already registered? Access your profile
Are you a new user? Register

Reviews: Hotel Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Hotel TRAVELODGE LONDON KINGS CROSS ROYAL SCOT

100 Kings Cross Road, WC1X 9DT,

The Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot is a 3-star hotel situated in London's city centre, next to the main attractions and to the means of public transport. Just a few steps away, it is possible to reach every place of interest in London. The services offered by the hotel include a bar...

Vote 3.4/5
Stay 3.5/5
Price 3.6/5
Rooms 3.1/5
Location 3.9/5
Cleanliness 3.5/5
Reception 3.5/5
Services 3.1/5
Business Services 0.6/5
View only reviews from
Tony - Denver, United Kingdom - 03/02/2017
Travelodge is a well known budget accommodation brand and as such we have used their hotels at various times for short breaks. This particular hotel is well situated if you are using King's Cross or St Pancrass railway stations. It is also on the number 63 bus route from King's Cross. The room we had was somewhat tired,ie well used, but it was clean and the bed was fine. The full English breakfast was exceptionally good. We did not use the restaurant in the evening but the menu was varied and reasonable priced.
Peter - , United Kingdom - 29/11/2016
Overall my stay here was pretty good which for a large part was to do with the friendly staff, comfortable bed and good breakfast. It is an easy 10 min walk to the main Kings Cross / St Pancras Train and Underground stations which also means that the area is relatively quite compared to the main Kings Cross area. This is most definitely a budget hotel and there is nothing in any way sophisticated or luxurious about it however look past the drab building and small rooms it is a perfectly clean, comfortable, secure and friendly environment to be in. The rooms are basic but have everything you need with extremely comfortable beds, strong showers with plentiful hot water and towels, good mirrors, TV and kettle etc. The real surprise was that there was an excellent breakfast included in my price. The only thing missing in the rooms was a hair dryer and the only criticisms I have are that all the internal sides of the windows needed cleaning and there was a strange and intrusive whirring noise in my room ( 407 ) every night between 1100 and 1130. Otherwise I was pleasantly surprised.
Alan - , United Kingdom - 25/11/2016
This is a good hotel for those who are budget conscious. The rooms are large have had had the Travelodge makeover with a comfortable bed good décor and a good TV. The area is well connected for public transport with King's Cross and St Pancras a 10 minute walk away. The West End is a 30 minute walk away. There a re good shops and restaurants nearby. for those coming back late you may see the urban fox wandering down the Kings Cross Road.
Alan - , United Kingdom - 22/11/2016
This hotel is a good value for money hotel with large well furnished rooms and comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel can be lively at weekends but you can always find a quiet room. The location is excellent being near the transport hub of King's Cross/St Pancras. There are also supermarkets nearby and some good restaurants.
Steve - Poole, United Kingdom - 18/11/2016
Good value hotel with handy location. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, bit dated and tired but overall a good stay
Diana - , United Kingdom - 12/11/2016
Couple of lifts not working, vending machines broken on our arrival, both fixed by morning though. Tatty battered furniture, but a clean room and comfy bed. For the price I paid I'm not really surprised. It's fine for a crash pad after a party. Breakfast was plentiful and included in the price.
Alan - , United Kingdom - 29/09/2016
The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from King's Cross station with links to many tube lines and buses. There is a Tesco and a Sainsbury's nearby and some good restaurants and takeaways. The hotel has large rooms and the beds are comfortable. It is also great value. The hotel staff are very friendly.
Alan - , United Kingdom - 09/06/2016
Travelodge Kings Cross is well located for the transport hub of Kings Cross/St Pancras which is a 10 minute walk away. Nearby there is a Tesco and Sainsburys and takeaways from pizzas to Vietnamese food. the hotel is comfortable. The rooms on the top floor have a great view of London and are said to be superior. all the rooms are good however with the famous comfortable beds. The breakfast has recently been upgraded and is good for vegetarians scrambled eggs veggie sausages beans and mushrooms.
Mark - , United Kingdom - 04/04/2016
stayed here for 1 night as 4 of us needed somewhere close to stations and on a budget. great place nice and clean ,have stayed here before and ticks all the boxes for us as a group .breakfast great and never had any reason to complain about anything.
Trevor - , United Kingdom - 14/03/2016
I booked with this Company. They took the money. I turned up at the hotel and they had cancelled the booking without telling me. Fortunately the hotel had a room, but I had to pay nearly 3 times the rate I originally booked at. The hotel said they would sort it, but Hotelsclick have not responded to them. I strongly advise to use another booking company!
Patricia - Morpeth, United Kingdom - 08/06/2015
Had a very good refurbished ground floor room with walk in shower.breakfast was ok.
Kathleen - Launceston, United Kingdom - 03/06/2015
I stayed at this hotel for one night. It was remarkably good value. My rate included breakfast. I had a single occupancy in a reasonably sized twin room. I arrived before the requested check in time but the reception staff were very helpful and although I couldn,t check in then without incuring an extra cost the receptionist did allocate me a room next to the room where my friends were staying. When I returned later to check in it was all very simple. I had a reasonably good nights sleep. The bed was comfortable but I was aware of traffic noise, hardly surprising in London. The breakfast next morning was adaquate. I would stay here again.
Alan - Birkenhead, United Kingdom - 26/03/2015
This is a good hotel and well sited for the transport hub of Kings Cross and St Pancras which is just a 10 minute walk away. Euston is 15 minutes away The hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly.
Kevin - Sheffield, United Kingdom - 22/03/2015
Had a two night stay here . Everything clean, breakfast good and parking available although price for parking a little steep.
Alan - Birkenhead, United Kingdom - 04/03/2015
This hotel offers great value and the rooms have all been recently updated with the Travelodge décor and comfortable bed. The hotel is located to St Pancras and Kings Cross train stations. all the major tube lines converge here too. There is a Tesco and Sainsburys nearby and some good takeaways. It is a good hotel to use as a base to explore London.
Kara - Crawley, United Kingdom - 16/12/2014
I stayed for 1nt in London following an Xmas party. Hotel was just what i needed. Clean, tidy and had all amenities i needed (Except a hair dryer in the room). Staff were really helpful and friendly and breakfast the next day was gorgeous. Couldn't have asked for a better room for the night especially for the rate.
Ann - Hartlepool, United Kingdom - 16/12/2014
Stayed here about four times now. It's a convenient location for buses, trains, tubes & taxis. The staff are always happy to help with anything. The rooms & beds are clean & comfortable too. Overall nothing to complain about.
Bernice - Mansfield Notts, United Kingdom - 05/11/2014
Stayed for 3 nights to see the puppy's and sightseeing, we had a single room with a double bed in, you could tell it was a single because it had a single headboard on the wall and no bedside table. on our last night house keeping don't leave a hand towel which we used as a floor mat, as the hotel did not supply one very Dangerous getting out of a very tall bath so had to use a bath towel when I told reception they promised to send one to the room ready for the next morning, and of course there was no towel for myself in the morning. VERY POOR SERVICE.
Tonino - Burton-On-Trent, United Kingdom - 31/10/2014
Stayed at a very busy time but this did not stop the staff being helpful and friendly at all times. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast service was good with a nice variety the staff worked hard to turn the tables round and get you seated quickly.It was a short walk from Kings Cross but very convenient for the underground.
David - York, United Kingdom - 19/09/2014
We had a late arrival and very early start to catch the first Eurostar train out of St Pancras on the Saturday morning. Disappointed to learn that the hotel had no record of our booking from HotelsClick but the receptionist was very helpful and reassured us that it was not a problem. She even provided us with a breakfast picnic box each as we had such an early start the next day. The room was very clean though basic with no bedside tables but the bed was comfy and the room was facing the back so it was extremely quiet away from the road.
Ann - Hartlepool, United Kingdom - 02/09/2014
Felt confident enough to go to bar & restaurant on my own...especially so as I am a very shy person.
Ruth - Lancashire, United Kingdom - 10/08/2014
The hotel was a great base for sight seeing London. It was close to the station and provided substantial breakfast to set you up for the day. We will be back again. Thank you
Brian - Bridgend, United Kingdom - 07/07/2014
we arrived at 2.00pm to check-in to be told that we had to wait until 2.30pm for check-in to open. We were offered free refreshments from the hot drinks machine in the dining area while we waited. At 2.30pm EXACTLY we were allowed to check-in along with everyone else who was waiting. NOT A GOOD IDEA. The room was O.K. but dated. Original basin plug replaced with ordinary plastic one leaving a 1-1/2in hole where you could easily loose ring, toothbrush etc. Drawers not closing properly and our room was not cleaned until around 5.30pm on the first day. Buffet breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice. I would stay again though due to location. All staff were helpful and courteous.
Douglas - Glasgow, United Kingdom - 06/06/2014
Only one night but will use again for longer stay. Room was clean and bed comfy. Continental breakfast was more than adequate. Plenty to eat. A full breakfast could be purchased.. Door lock would not work when we went to the room on arrival. Needed new batteries but these were changed quickly. Good service. Air con only on first and sixth floors so ask on check in.
Muhammad - Birmingham, United Kingdom - 19/05/2014
Good reception nice rooms
Marion - York, United Kingdom - 02/05/2014
We had a very comfortable bed in a quiet room. Getting a good nights sleep is very important when you have a busy schedule. Breakfast was very good and efficiently run. We could walk to the British Museum. It's reasonably priced and very close to Kings Cross railway station
Stephen - Southport, United Kingdom - 24/03/2014
Perfectly serviceable. Good central location. Somewhat overrun with students at times. Advertises car parking but that is more difficult than it first appears, and is somewhat down to chance as much as anything else. Wouldn't recommend the car parking aspect. Overall though a good stopover place for central London, with pleasant and helpful staff.
John - Wokingham, United Kingdom - 20/03/2014
I chose the title because the hotel was just that. I spent many nights twenty or more years ago staying in Travelodges - at that time, they were competitively priced, clean and the rooms were good. As cost cutting set in, poor decoration, paper thin towels, poor beds and a general air of decline made other places better value. We booked at the Royal Scot because of price and location but were greeted at reception by charming staff, our room was tidy and, overlooking the central courtyard, very quiet. Ther were plenty of local places to eat plus the hotel's own restaurant. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat of good quality. Seeing a seemingly never ending stream of guests leaving to join coaches, I was amazed at how quiet the hotel had been. So, surprisingly good value and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good night but without such extras as uniformed doormen!
Kent - Edinburgh, United Kingdom - 21/03/2014
Dirty, worn down, cheap. No complimentary shampoo. Unbelievably, there was only hot water in the shower (and the sink) so we couldn't shower on the first night. This was rectified for our second night, but.... The bed was terrible (way too soft). The 'breakfast' was awful. Too crowded, and the food was of very poor quality. It took forever to get clean plates and cutlery out, and when they arrived they were all soaking wet.
Kevin - Brierley Hill, United Kingdom - 15/02/2014
We stayed at the Kings Cross Royal Travellodge for one night, as for location spot on. Short walking distance to train stations and tube. So ideal to get around the capital. The hotel catered very well, the rooms where basic but its only a bed for night no intention of staying round all day so its was fine and clean. However could in someways do with a little updating. Breakfast was busy but the opening times where fine and food was generous, however please note at busy times it may difficult to get a table so be patient. The bar was stocked well for a nightcap also. The reception staff where great, very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our time in London, and i would stay there again? for the right price definitely.
Helen - Preston, United Kingdom - 11/02/2014
Me and my sister spent 2 nights in this travelodge, its a really good location 5min walk to kings cross station, 20min to british museum. The room we booked had really comfy twin beds and nice bathroom, we booked bed and breakfast, which was as much as you wanted cooked buffet plus toast and croissants etc, the staff were helpful provided extra pillows, hairdryer. Will definetly use hotel again.
Marion - Halifax, United Kingdom - 21/01/2014
Friendly staff Clean rooms Very good breakfast Good location for London bus services
Bernard - Barton On Sea, United Kingdom - 23/01/2014
Usual sparse rooms and uncomfortable beds but clean, hot water and the bonus of a quality breakfast of fruit, cereals, muffins, croissants, toast with cooked bacon, sausages, egg, tomato, beans all quickly replenished and tables cleared efficiently by nice staff.
Rachel - Horsham , United Kingdom - 14/12/2013
Very nice hotel, good location for anyone visiting London.
Janet - Huddersfield, United Kingdom - 29/11/2013
This hotel is incredibly reasonably priced. The rooms are clean with daily maid service. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There was a choice of a good range of food for breakfast. I would suggest asking people to share tables at breakfast times as often 2 people sit at a table meant for 4 people. This would stop delays at breakfast during busy periods. A short 10 minute walk from the station. i would certainly return again should i need to stop at a hotel close to Kings Cross Station.
Paul - Kings Lynn, United Kingdom - 20/09/2013
We had a one night stay and arrived before booking in time. We were greeted very politely and our cases were locked in a secure storage room. We were able to use the facilities and then went out for a few hours. Upon our return we were given our room numbers 2015 and 2018. We were pleasantly surprised, our rooms were clean and fresh and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Not being disturbed by any other guests who had been out later than ourselves. The breakfast was excellent, tasty and very substantial. We vacated our rooms and asked if we could again leave our suitcases. These were again locked in a secure room until we returned to collect them. We were very pleased and satisfied with our stay and would definitely stay again. The bonus for us was how close the hotel was to Kings Cross Station.
Francesca - Boston, United Kingdom - 12/07/2013
It was what I expected from the money paid. Breakfast was good the first 2 mornings, then for some reason on Monday morning before we left we were sent to the first floor for breakfast. Here there was only plastic cutlery available (we felt like 10 years olds not trusted with metal cutlery), the orange juice was obviously watered down, the cofee machine gave out less coffee per cup and quality was generally lacking. I felt very disappointed that on the last morning we were given this rubbish breakfast. It was claimed this was because downstairs was busy, it wasn't.
Heather - Nottingham, United Kingdom - 08/04/2013
Good hotel close to Kings Cross and St Pancras for one night stopover.
Linda - Glasgow, United Kingdom - 04/04/2013
The travelodge was well placed within walking distance of King's Cross station. Pleasant staff, clean accommodation and cooked breakfast. They stored our luggage on arrival and before departure. Basic but value for money.
Christine - Plymouth, United Kingdom - 19/02/2013
Three days in the capital with two nights at the Royal Scott. Clean basic but comfortable rooms, very helpful staff, great breakfast all added up to a great first time visit to London by three generations of our family. Near the tube, cheap and cheerful what more could you ask?
Jill - Leeds, United Kingdom - 30/11/2012
For a budget hotel this was not bad. The room was clean although the bathroom could have done with an update. Breakfast was included in our package and was good value - the choice was reasonable and there was plenty to eat.
Joan - Holmfirth, United Kingdom - 12/10/2012
I have stopped at this hotel once before. I had read the reviews, some good and some bad. I have to say that on my second visit i encountered no problems whatsoever. The room was clean, everything worked fine. I could not fault the breakfast. The proximity to Kings Cross station is ideal. My only complaint was that if i had waited another 2 weeks to book the price would have come down. I only paid £156 on my first visit but £197 on the second. I could not understand why when i booked further in advance the price was more expensive.
Geoffrey - Bradford, United Kingdom - 19/08/2011
The hotel looked tired and unclean, could do with an upgrade / refurbishment
Aminah - Cardiff, United Kingdom - 06/11/2010
very central, basic but adequate facilities for short stays. quite expensive for what i paid, others paid much much less than me for the same time period. Close to bus, train and tube stations, within walking distance
Patricia - Dalkeith, United Kingdom - 23/07/2010
I use this hotel purely because it is handy for Kings X Station but I really wouldn't recommend it as it can be very noisy as it is used by school groups and foreign students who are obviously very excited about being away from home but are very thoughtless and selfish and often very bad mannered.
Geraldine - Belfast, United Kingdom - 09/07/2010
A clean and comfortable hotel.The only problem was, it was very hot when we were there and the rooms got very stuffy also no ventilation in the bathroom.We did not spend a lot of time in the hotel so it was tolerable.No toiletries or soaps in the bathrooms so bring your own,or find yourself running across the road to the local shop. A short walk to local starbucks,mc donalds,shops and kings cross tube station and st.pancras international.Great location,wud definately stay again.Only £15 home in taxi from leicester square,not bad with 4 people.
Peter - Stockport, United Kingdom - 27/06/2010
no cold water, only boiling hot from both taps.one out of three lifts working for a 6 floor hotel no hangers in wardrobe, air conditioning notworking. will never visit again
Kevin - Grimsby, United Kingdom - 12/03/2010
My wife and I stayed at the Royal Scott over the weekend of the 12th March. Our stay was very comfortable and the hotel offered good value for money. The room was spacious and spotlessley clean. Breakfast was Buffet style and was adequate for our needs. The Hotel was very busy with lots of foreign students that meant we had to queue for breakfast. This was a minor inconvenience and didn't spoil our stay. This is a good value Hotel if you are looking for a base to explore London from and I would reccomend it
Jane - Edinburgh, United Kingdom - 10/02/2010
When I arrived I was allocated a room. The key card didn't work. I went back down to reception and was allocated another room. The electricity didn't work. I went back down to reception and was allocated another room. This one had no kettle, no TV remote control, no tumblers in the bathroom, and hairs in the bath. I did not return to reception a third time. The bed was comfortable and the first night I slept well. The second night I had noisy neighbours and did not sleep so well.
Rodney - Killamarsh Sheffield, United Kingdom - 11/12/2009
Hotel clean & tidy room no frills but again clean & quite adequate.The all you can eat breakfast was ok allthough very busy at peak times.All in all a good stay.I would use the hotel again I found it good value for money.The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Kings Cross u/g station so no need for taxi,s unless you have a lot of luggage.
Gordon - Dundee, United Kingdom - 01/12/2009
Hotel was so uninviting we booked out asap. Would not have spent the single night we did but internet function was very poor so we couldn`t book another hotel until the next day. Reception staff dismissive,told us to contact you for any chance of a rebate for the two nights we had paid for. Would probably be sued if we wrote truthfully about the food and pervasive smell of air freshener.
Annie - Brighouse, United Kingdom - 03/11/2009
Every thing was clean. Although you need to take tea coffee milk if required. Breakfast was toast or croissant but better than room only.
George - Widnes, United Kingdom - 26/09/2009
During our stay we visited Little Venice, walked the boat race course and went to Kew by boat. We are pensioners and found the hotel convenient for the buses that we used a lot with our bus passes. The Travelodge was like other Travelodges clean and basic.
Sylvia - Bolton Greater Manchester, United Kingdom - 12/09/2009
very disappointed with the room,never had 2ft 6in beds before,these were only suitable for children not adults,also very very basic accommation.Breakfast very average,not a good selection of food and only luke warm.We will not be using a a Travelodge again.
David - Lincoln, United Kingdom - 18/07/2009
Dirty - the bathroom had mould on the grouting. No plug in the sink. Carpets felt sticky. TV had only the 5 main channels. Room was dark with old fashioned furniture. The "Breakfast Room" was dirty, the coffee machines did not work, there was a towel laying on the side near one of the machines which appeared to have been used for mopping up spillages - and not a member of staff in sight! We wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel close to Kings Cross and thought it would be like any other (basic but clean and tidy) Travelodge. However, this was probably the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. I wish we had taken photo's - we could have attached them for you all to see.
Sheila - Belfast, United Kingdom - 13/02/2009
Arrived at the hotel and checked in (after the option of waiting 20mins or paying £10) got up to our room in a lift that was about 100 years old!! Room was triple, with 3 bed obv smaller than a single bed and little space to even walk past each other! Had to go back down which took a while in the ancient lift to say we had booked a double, so they changed us to another room which to say i was very happy with :) Rooms dont have a hairdryer (on loan from reception only for one hour only!) Same goes with an iron.. not very convienent. Overall i wouldnt stay here again esp for the price!! Great Location tho so if u like very basic and not very modern or up to date hotels (ie; a hotel that was built maybe a million years ago) u will love this place! p.s there was some entertainment one morning, free of charge when the toaster went up in flames! Enjoy :)
Jane - Fairford, United Kingdom - 03/12/2008
Central location - very good value for money - need to ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Decor pretty minimalist (no chairs in room - but there were three comfortable if slightly soft beds). General decor somewhat dingy and tired - in need of a good refurbish. Only one lift (out of three) working which led to long queues). Breakfast scrum a bit tedious, but manageable. Should provide free wireless internet access not charge for it.
Laura - Evesham, United Kingdom - 25/01/2008
For somewhere to sleep on a cheap budget, this hotel was ideal.
Hilary - Leeds, United Kingdom - 10/01/2008
Generally a pleasant stay, but marred by being asked to pay £10 to leave my case in my room for 35 minutes, because I arrived before check-in opened at 3pm. There was no luggage store facility. By law the hotel can only charge a rate for additional services at a rate proportionate to the rest of the stay. If the 21 hours between check-in and check-out had been charged at the same rate, the cost would be £315! I was in a hurry and felt held to ransom and I was not given a receipt for the extra money till I asked for one that evening. Other hotels are more accommodating. The room was ready so there was no extra work involved. I was offered a change of room later, because window catch broken in my room, so they could have easily accommodated my request. The alternative was a rather shabby room smelling of smoke, so I declined it and went back to the first one. As long as you arrive not a minute before 3pm, it's reasonable value for money.
John Harry - Middlesbrough, United Kingdom - 03/11/2007
We engoyd our stay at the Royal Scot.
John T - Holmfirth, United Kingdom - 17/04/2007
Room was clean, warm and relatively quiet - for London. Some damage to the bathroom door needed attention and might have been more of a problem with multiple occupancy. Staff were generally helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was just adequate, no more than that!