HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel The Roxburghe

4 Stars

  38 Charlotte Square, EH2 4HQ, Edinburgh

Hotel THE ROXBURGHE Room Service. Restaurant(s). Breakfast Room. Golf Course. Massages. Whirlpool. Library/Reading Room. Steam room. Water sports. Concierge. From 13/01/2017 to 31/03/2017 hotel restaurant is closed. More Details Hotel The Roxburghe

Book

  • Vote 4.2/5 4.2/5
  • Stay 4.4/5 4.4/5
  • Price 3.7/5 3.7/5
  • Rooms 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Location 4.7/5 4.7/5
  • Cleanliness 4.5/5 4.5/5
  • Reception 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Services 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Business Services 2.6/5 2.6/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Jo-ann
Leeds, United Kingdom
14/02/2014

4/5 Read Review

Comfort & style

I picked this hotel for it's location and for the spa. neither disappointed. although unable to make full use of the facilities as i was working during the day, it was lovely to relax with a swim after work. i ate in the restaurant which was excellent value at £16.95 for 2 courses plus a glass of wine. the food was delicious. the room was slightly old-fashioned but very clean and comfortable. it was also extremely spacious for a single room. i would definitely stay here again.

Close

more

Kevin
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
06/12/2013

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel, perfect location , friendly staff

We really enjoyed our stay at the crowne plaza we were made very welcome at reception and the staff throughout our stay were the same. our room was warm comfortable and immaculately clean. the linens and the towels were sparkling white. the chocolates and the aroma therapy tissues were a nice touch. we chose to stay in the hotel for our evening meal. we enjoyed per dinner drinks in the comfortable bar. dinner was first class good quality food well cooked and well presented . we would definitely chose to stay here again over other 4 star hotels we have stayed at in edinburgh.

Close

more

John
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
09/10/2013

4/5 Read Review

Great hotel, good location

Friendly, helpful staff. comfortable rooms. good scottish breakfast. bar with great live music. good spa. we enjoyed our stay a lot. it's very convenient for the new town and a short walk from the old town.

Andy
Plymouth, United Kingdom
14/09/2010

4/5 Read Review

Roxburghe review

Hotel was well located staff were very freindly and helpful. good breakfast could have been hotter, didnt use the gym but looked well equiped.

Elizabeth
Houston, United Kingdom
12/03/2010

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

Excellent location (difficult parking). very attentive staff.

Louise
Scone, United Kingdom
07/11/2009

4/5 Read Review

Roxburghe review

Lovely, friendly and clean hotel, old style but with modern decor. ideal location for shops, touring and nightlife.

David
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
06/03/2009

5/5 Read Review

Roxburghe review

The staff were excellent - unobtrusive, but always available, friendly and helpful. the room was clean, a good size, warm and comfortable. there was an excellent choice at breakfast. the hot breakfast was tasty and always being topped up. the only criticism was that it was crushed onto a small table (both saturday and sunday) with the self-service tureens at an angle, which made it a bottleneck because people could not move along until they had taken from all of the tureens.

Close

more

Dorothy
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
18/02/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great location

We could not have wished for a better hotel. from staff to bedroom and location it was all fantastic. the staff could not do enough for you wether it be opening doors or offering breakfast it was all excellent.

Susan
Leyburn, United Kingdom
16/02/2009

5/5 Read Review

Short break in edinburgh

The roxburghe hotel is ideally placed in a lovely part of edinburgh and within walking distance of everything you would probably want to visit. very helpful reception staff and very welcoming feel to the hotel. the breakfasts were well catered and provided a wide choice of foods - just a little chaotic waiting for a table as they obviously have more guests than the restaurant holds at one time and you may be seated downstairs or in the lounge - wasn't a problem for us.

Close

more

Christopher
Leeds, United Kingdom
09/08/2008

4/5 Read Review

Roxburghe

Hotel very good and comfortable. one problem was with our particular room. the tv reception was poor and we were unable to watch or listen to anything without losing the signal. also parking is a problem. the hotel charged us £19 a night to use their car park!

Close

more

Angela
Blackpool, United Kingdom
21/03/2008

4/5 Read Review

Roxburgh at easter

Lovely hotel in a good area, convenient for restaurants, pubs and shops. good service, friendly staff. our rooms had good facilities, but in need of a bit of tlc, which is scheduled for later this year. can't rate business services because we didn't use them.

Close

more

Spike
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
13/03/2008

4/5 Read Review

Book fair stay

The roxburghe hotel we found to be friendly, clean and comfortable.

Martin
Derry, United Kingdom
11/02/2008

5/5 Read Review

Excellent break at reasonable price

Excellent hotel fantastic location great breakfast super time

Ashleigh
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
13/12/2007

4/5 Read Review

Christmas market

Having been to some 8 european xmas markets this ranks as one of the best and not least because of the hotel and the very friendly locals

Stuart
Hyde, United Kingdom
12/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

Stuart & hilary meredith of hyde cheshire

Clean & very friendly hotel. breakfast was excellant with a great selection of foods & fresh fruit. good leisure/fitness facilities, pool nice and warm.

Donald
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
09/11/2007

3/5 Read Review

Roxburghe

Convenient location with car park but not a 4 star establishment and some areas already in need of ongoing maintenance. bar/lounge area is barren and without atmosphere staff friendly and helpful

Harper
Uxbridge, Middlesex, United Kingdom
11/10/2007

3/5 Read Review

I thought i was in a boat

On opening the door i thought i was boarding a boat! the floor bowed from the left so much so that the wardrobe and dressing table were at least 2" away from the wall. i could feel the slope and that was when i was sober!. best of all when turning to close the door, the door on the closure side was at least 3" from the floor - surely this was a fire hazard if not a wacking great big peep hole. room 315 is very small and for the money unacceptable. i was lucky, the next day a friend had a spare room booked.

Close

more

David
Harrogate, United Kingdom
25/01/2007

4/5 Read Review

Roxburghe hotel

Everything excellent except on the last day a miscalculation meant long queues for breakfast and nearly an hour's wait in the lounge before being called in to eat. the hotel claimed is was on account of too many guests coming in at the same time, but this is surelya circumstance which is hardly unlikely? when the hotsal is full (which it was not this weekend) what contingency ist here for this?

Close

more