HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel The Principal Edinburgh

4 Stars

  19 - 21 George Street, EH2 2PB, Edinburgh

Hotel THE PRINCIPAL EDINBURGH The hotel, which has existed for 200 years, has been named the best hotel in Edinburgh, and received the Scottish Hotel Awards 2009. It offers elegant rooms and the famous bar-restaurant Tempus. The Tempus offers dinners, tempting Sunday lunches, a wide selection of cocktails and an assortment of... More Details Hotel The Principal Edinburgh

Book

  • Vote 4/5 4/5
  • Stay 4/5 4/5
  • Price 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Rooms 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Location 4.9/5 4.9/5
  • Cleanliness 4.2/5 4.2/5
  • Reception 4/5 4/5
  • Services 3.7/5 3.7/5
  • Business Services 1.4/5 1.4/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Becky
Heswall, United Kingdom
26/04/2014

5/5 Read Review

Fabulous hotel

Stayed at the george for 2 nights. reception staff very friendly, rooms clean and a good sze. the bed was huge and so comfy. great location for everything. one small (and i mean small) gripe is the bathroom is very minimalist so they didn't have a hook on the back of the bathroom door to hand your towels on nice used and only a very small shelf in the bathroom so no room to put your toiletries that you would normally store in there. overall fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again

Close

more

Carol
Wishaw, United Kingdom
26/04/2014

5/5 Read Review

Fantastic hotel

Stunning hotel

Gillian
Kendal, United Kingdom
21/03/2014

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

Lovely hotel in great location. very friendly and efficient staff all round. only one complaint was that our room should have had face cloths and there were none

Muriel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
30/01/2014

5/5 Read Review

Wee jolly!!!

My friend and i go away for an overnight stay every january and this was our third time at the george hotel and we love the location, service, food and drink. all the staff are very helpful and will continue to go back.

Wendy
Stanley, Co Durham, United Kingdom
12/11/2010

4/5 Read Review

Great weekend away

Lovely hotel. great position and the breakfast was fab

Carole
Larne, United Kingdom
04/08/2008

4/5 Read Review

Great location

This is my 2nd visit to the george and i would definately stay again. one complaint however is the rooms of the 4th floor, 2 of our party had rooms there and as they are both quite tall they had a problem with the ceiling height. the gentleman in question is a little over 6' tall and kept hitting his head on the smoke detector also he found it impossible to use the shower. added to this was the fact that the room was not air conditioned and became extremely warm. in fairness to the hotel they moved the couple to another room after the first night.

Close

more

Eric
Arduaine Nr. Oban, United Kingdom
15/05/2008

3/5 Read Review

No longer "great"

This used to be a great hotel with a marvellous restaurant..i used to love eating there...it is no longer great and the restaurant is now just very expensive average food. there is no parking and no valet service so you have to search up and down george street...almost impossible to find parking. hotel receptionist simply shrugged..."no we dont have valet parking..you can park 10 minutes walk away and we will reduce the fee by 20%." not very helpful for an 80 year old with cardiac problems!! (or anyone else!)

Close

more

David
Preston, United Kingdom
06/12/2007

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel in prime location

A lot of money has been spent on the george hotel. situate just off princess street in amongst all the best designer shops .friendly and helpful reception, although the price is £100+ per night well worth it. fantastic breakfast, the rooms are kitted out to the highest standard. outside the hotel across the road is the dome !! an old bank re-furbished and made into a bar/ restaurant. it is a sight to behold lights everywhere quite a spectical for a nightcap. my second visit to the george. well worth a visit.

Close

more