HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel The President

3 Stars

  56-60 Guildford Street, WC1N 1DB, London

Hotel THE PRESIDENT The President Hotel is the perfect place to stay in London, whether it's a pleasure trip or business. The hotel makes available to its guests a reception service, a breakfast service, restaurant, cafe, and bar. The hotel does not accept changes of names, once the reservation is made. More Details Hotel The President

Book

  • Vote 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Stay 3.5/5 3.5/5
  • Price 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Rooms 3.1/5 3.1/5
  • Location 4.4/5 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Reception 3.7/5 3.7/5
  • Services 3.3/5 3.3/5
  • Business Services 0.8/5 0.8/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Derek
Jersey, United Kingdom
09/09/2014

4/5 Read Review

3 day visit

I was fortunate to have a refurbished room which was comfortable and clean. helpful and courteous staff.

Beryl
Bolton, United Kingdom
07/06/2014

3/5 Read Review

Regular short stayer.

We choose for location - we have been there a few times before enroute to europe. glad to see they are updating the facilities - this was overdue as the dining room and bar were old fashioned. much better now. only complaint with staff having on the job training they were slow at reception and the bar staff were (although busy) not giving proper attention or service to customers.

Close

more

Christine
Freshwater, United Kingdom
13/11/2013

3/5 Read Review

Ok for one night...

...not brilliant, but was cheap so what can you really expect? to be honest, won't be staying here again.

George
Montrose, United Kingdom
15/09/2013

4/5 Read Review

President art deco

I found the hotel had a good, pleasant atmosphere. the food was very adequate when i asked staff what to do. the art deco bar is a hoot!

Timothy
Helston, United Kingdom
14/08/2013

4/5 Read Review

Tim review

Ok hotel good location . breakfast a scramble

Martyn
Guernsey, United Kingdom
10/08/2013

2/5 Read Review

Disappointing

Very disappointing in fact. i was recommended this hotel by a colleague who had stayed there. he must have partaken of the amber nectar a bit too much. the hotel is very dated and expensive for what it is.....certainly a very poor 3 star! it seems that the prices across london doubled for the olympics and have not gone back to what they should be. the bright red carpet halfway up the walls in the lifts is the first giveaway about the hotel. the room was poorly decorated and the tv on the wall didn't hide the holes where the previous bracket had been. the window had to be kept closed at night to keep the noise of the machinery out, and they didn't even provide any shower gel! to cap it all the nearby tube station (which was one of the reasons we chose the hotel)was shut. would i stay there again? no!! and then they charge you 50p to leave your case for the day! the staff were the only good thing there.

Close

more

Dessislava
Kirkby-In-Ashfield, United Kingdom
12/06/2013

4/5 Read Review

Ok for a short stay

Reasonably priced, this hotel is ideally situated in the center of london . staff are fast and efficient at the check in/ out process. the room was clean and tidy - basic but we didn't need more for one night. the bed however was very hard and the pillow quite old and used - not very comfortable to sleep. many people smoked in the rooms or the corridor, our room was filled with the smell of cigarette smoke. breakfast was too basic - cereal and bread rolls that didn't look as they were baked enough. no croissants or pastries, which would normally be expected from continental breakfast.

Close

more

Gordon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
17/04/2013

4/5 Read Review

Great value

Great value for a trip to central london . good location

Kathleen
Nottingham, United Kingdom
12/04/2013

4/5 Read Review

Enjoyable stay

This hotel is in a really good area of bloomsbury, this was our 2nd stay here. it is a very clean hotel and friendly staff, the only little snag was that they now charge £5 per person for a full english breakfast, this used to be in with your stay. on your booking it will tell you that breakfast is included, this is only a continental ( cereal @ toast). however we think it is worth £5 and will stay here again.

Close

more

Hilary
Jersey Ci, United Kingdom
08/04/2013

5/5 Read Review

London break

A good place to stay, ideal for tube and central for city centre! clean room, friendly staff and good breakfast! will definitely stay there again.

Norman
Shipley, United Kingdom
16/03/2013

4/5 Read Review

President

Cheaper than others in this location. basic but good value.

Margaret
Stockton On Tees, United Kingdom
07/03/2013

4/5 Read Review

Our view of the president

We always use this hotel if possible. it is well run although a bit dated. bedrooms are clean with fresh linen and towels daily. staff are efficient and helpful. breakfast is average but a more varied selection and slightly hotter food would be a bonus. wi fi reception could be improved, only being available in the lobby near the reception desk. the luggage holding service is helpful for guests who check in early or wish to have a full day in london after checking out of their rooms we found our bedroom door lock a bit stiff and hard to open. rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter. those overlooking the main street entrance can be noisy if the window is open when the room is too warm.

Close

more

Colin
Guernsey, United Kingdom
01/02/2013

4/5 Read Review

Excellent value

The hotel is in an excellent location and just two minutes from the tube. public areas cocktail bar and reception are very stylish. rooms clean but basic though very nice bearing in mind the cost.bathroom was spotlessly clean but lacked shower gel and towels a bit rough and thin. overall though excellent value for the price paid and i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants value for money and a central location

Close

more

Brian
Folkestone, United Kingdom
27/01/2013

4/5 Read Review

3 day stay

Stayed for three days, found hotel to be perfectly acceptable for a very competitive price. rooms clean, staff generally helpful, generally a little tatty but perfectly acceptable. good location, tube station three minute walk, selection of reasonably priced resturants near by.

Close

more

Ken
Southport, United Kingdom
18/01/2013

4/5 Read Review

Food

The breakfast was always cold

Michael
North Shields, United Kingdom
18/01/2013

5/5 Read Review

Excellent value and service

First time at president (but have stayed at other imperial group hotels) reception very efficient and friendly, as were all of the staff. room as expected for a three star and location excellent. breakfast good. excellent price via hotelsclick.com. definitely use hotelsclick.com again and also the president

Close

more

David
Durham, United Kingdom
14/01/2013

3/5 Read Review

3rd time at president

This was the third time we have stayed at the president hotel. it is very close to the tube station and within easy walk to some of the theaters and resteraunts. we are not fitness fanatics and we are over sixty so times to venues are not just for fit youngsters. the hotel is clean and comfortable with no frills, very good value for money. the staff are all friendly and helpfull.

Close

more

David
Ashburton, United Kingdom
06/12/2012

3/5 Read Review

Basic & ok except for the toast!

The president hotel is ok if you want cheap basic accomodation. clean rooms, helpful staff. bed quite hard and toast too soft. there were no crosaints or crispy french stick in the 'continental breakfast' so we ended up just eating crunchy nut cornflakes. at least the milk was cold. if we went there again we'd go for the full english option.

Close

more

Laurence
Bradwell-On-Sea, United Kingdom
03/12/2012

4/5 Read Review

Great for great rail journeys

I have read bernadette's review (14/11/12) and must say that our experience of the hotel was totally opposite to hers. we spent a night before and after a great rail journey to the bavarian christmas markets. the front of house staff were extremely helpful and the porter looked after our bags at 7am while we had a quick breakfast before walking to st. pancras station - it is really that close - only 10 minutes away. the price was just right for what we needed, the rooms were clean and had all we required for the night and the breakfast set us up for a full day's travel. we shall certainly book again either when travelling by eurostar or spending the weekend in town.

Close

more

Bernadette
Perth, United Kingdom
14/11/2012

2/5 Read Review

Special occasion

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to friends, family or colleagues. the reception staff were surly and unhelpful and offerred very poor customer service. the rooms were basic more reminiscent of hostel provision, although clean towels were provided daily. basic cleanliness standards were observed by staff. breakfast consisted of very cheap produce, cold and tasteless. at 9 am on one morning, the breakfast queue stretched from inside the restaurant all the way across the hotel foyer - approximately 50 people in the queue. we gave up and opted to eat elsewhere. this was booked for a special occasion - pity the accommodation did not come up to our expectations. never again!

Close

more

William
Kirkcaldy, Fife, United Kingdom
22/10/2012

4/5 Read Review

Close to attactions venue hotel

This is my second stay in the president hotel , i was there last in march 2011 and found it a very nice place and good accomodation and very good service.

Eileen
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
16/10/2012

4/5 Read Review

Anniversary visit to london

The hotel is very handy to euston railway station and also local to tour all the sites of london ,can all be visted on foot or bus we were very impressed.the hotel was basic but very clean with excellent breakfast and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Close

more

Bertrand
Douvres La Délivrande, United Kingdom
04/10/2012

3/5 Read Review

Vétuste mais correct

Deux façons de voir les choses : - hôtel vétuste (menuiseries des chambres d'un autre âge, isolant très mal du bruit de la rue), petit déjeuner indigent dans une salle surpeuplé (pas pu le prendre le samedi matin car trop defile d'attente), accueil sans sourire - hotel d'un confort très correct, très proche du centre, à tarif raisonnable pour londres , remplissant bien sa fonction pour un court séjour

Close

more

Helen
Stirling, United Kingdom
19/09/2012

3/5 Read Review

Click does not give a good price

I could have got a cheaper rate just by turning up at the hotel or booking direct !! the click rate only included a continental breakfast whereas the off the street hotel rate was cheaper+included english breakfast.click was not good value. the hotel was like a student residence-hairdryer only available with £10 deposit;left luggage cost (i have never encountered such a charge before);breakfast room was very overcrowded;room was clean though wallpaper torn and ''toiletries'' consisted of a small bar of soap...

Close

more

Kevin
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
28/05/2012

3/5 Read Review

Good three star hotel

Lovely lobby but could be busy at times. nice area of london with convenient shopping centre just minutes away. single room was very compact with no air conditioning but unusual for uk the windows on the seventh floor would open wide. breakfast was good if you like bacon, eggs and the works. a little limited if you prefer yoghurt & fruit etc.

Close

more

Geraint
Cardiff , United Kingdom
18/04/2012

4/5 Read Review

Good overnight stay

Convenient hotel for eurostar and london in general.helpful staff,clean rooms,good breakfast. good value for money but no frills.

Anthony
Hamilton, United Kingdom
07/12/2011

3/5 Read Review

Good value president

Decent hotel in excellent location. not expensive. not fancy but few drawbacks.

Christine
Holbrook, United Kingdom
24/11/2011

3/5 Read Review

President

Clean, comfortable,no frills, good value for money. very convenient location just round the corner from russel square underground station.

Ann
Edinburgh , United Kingdom
16/11/2011

4/5 Read Review

Ideal london tourist hotel

Excellent tourist hotel. ideal location and good value. room was very quiet for central london. staff friendly and helpful. room basic eg no biscuits with the coffee and no toiletries but those are very minor issues.

Lance
Lincoln, United Kingdom
29/01/2011

4/5 Read Review

Weekend trip

We`ve stayed here before, imperial group of hotels represent good value in a convenient location. we walk from kings cross and into the west end for shows. for a 3 star hotel it is comfortable enough & who wants to spend their trip in a hotel room.

Philip
Merley, United Kingdom
28/01/2011

3/5 Read Review

Stay at the president hotel

The hotel is in a quiet and convenient location for london attractions. the service is very good, staff being pleasant, courteous and helpful at all times. the rooms are small but well-appointed and clean. the catering is generous and offers a very good choice of food.

Close

more

Gillian
Elgin, United Kingdom
11/11/2010

4/5 Read Review

Hotel president

Clean, compfy and excellent value for money.

Philip david
Colne, United Kingdom
05/12/2009

4/5 Read Review

Hotel president

We got room 162 which backs onto the fire escape, where people seemed to congregate, as we could hear them talking,and someone with a bad cough. also there was some gind of fan running all night which was annoying. the english breakfast was plentiful & a good choice, if a bit cold. the hotel was well placed for the stations and also a nice pub very close.

Close

more

Sharon
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
12/06/2009

3/5 Read Review

London theatre break

This is the second time i have stayed at the imperial president for the weekend of the trooping of the colour and to see a west end show.. its ideally located close to russell square tube and within easy walking distance to covent garden and the theatres so you dont need to use the tube at night.. rooms are comfy and clean but the bathrooms are small.the complimentary tea and coffee tray was ok but not enough of it or enough choice ie no hot chocolate or biscuits... chose the continental breakfast option this time because i was staying with a friend who is vegetarian and the was disappointed with the selection .. no natural yogurt for the fresh fruit , one choice of toast ( anemic looking ) no cheese or ham / cold meat selection . a poor comparison to our spanish and french counterparts example of continental.. while there we reviewed the nearby hotel russell and i have to say we hope to visit london again later on this year on we will be using this hotel on that occassion as opposed to the president ..

Close

more

Lynda
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
19/05/2009

3/5 Read Review

Imperial president

The hotel was difficult for the taxi driver to locate. we asked for imperial president, it should have been just the president. we had to walk through the imperial to get to the president. the reception was well manned but after seeing the imperial reception it was definitely "down market". rooms were very basic, definitely not 3*, certainly not what we expected. towels very thin and only one each. the rooms had however been recently refurbished and clean. the dining room was more like a cafe, and certainly not enough seating

Close

more

Maurice
Lincoln, United Kingdom
15/02/2009

4/5 Read Review

Visit the shows

a very good hotel good value for money and very good location for the tube and the west end

Andrew
Preston, United Kingdom
19/11/2008

5/5 Read Review

Well located

I stay at this hotel every year now. it is well located just a 10 minute walk from the main railway stations euston, kings cross and st pancras. it is ideally situated to walk towards the thames and the major sites around westminster. the great pubs of soho are just a short walk away too. the hotel is clean and comfortable and there is a good public house opposite which sells good food and beer. being able to leave luggage after checkout for 50 pence a bag was a bonus. recommended whatever your reason for visiting the city.

Close

more

Susan
Halifax, United Kingdom
19/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

Stay 19 /11/2008

The hotel was clean and comfortable with the added bonus of a double room for a booked single. although check-in time was 2 o'clock i had no problem checking in a little earlier. substantial breakfast in pleasant room.

Michael
Plymouth, United Kingdom
04/06/2008

4/5 Read Review

Stay at president hotel

Enjoyed our stay for two nights in a very pleasant part of london - park across the road. very clean and friendly. thought long metal bar holding key hilarious, as did other guests, but it was a talking point. continental breakfast could have been better, no yoghurt for example, and not enough variety of fruit. internet service impossible - stools too high, had to stand up, keys virtually invisible and system not easy to understand. would book there again.

Close

more

Stephen
Waringstown, United Kingdom
05/04/2008

5/5 Read Review

Good value for money - accessible location

We stayed at the hotel weekend of 5th april. the hotel is a stone's throw from russell square tube stop. there is a great pub opposite the hotel "the helping hand". you can get a decent meal and watch sky sports. the hotel was more than adequate for our needs (just a 1 night stay).£108 for a clean triple room. note the third bed was a fold down mattress, but adequate. my only slightly negative comment was that breakfast was not very well organised. the seating in particular was a bit of a free for all, although it was very busy. no complaints about the food though. overall we found that this hotel was good value for a short stay, and its location was a bonus so close to the tube stop.

Close

more

Nicole
Colchester, United Kingdom
19/04/2008

5/5 Read Review

Saturday night stay

Great service,good room with no noise!!!plently of time for meals that are good value for money.my only negative is the matresses could be better,rather lumpy.

Colin
Larne, United Kingdom
12/03/2008

3/5 Read Review

Basic but adequate

Location excellent for access to central london and a piccadily line tube (russel sq) 2 nim walk away.the room we stayed in was small but clean with the linen and towels changed daily. breakfast was reasonable.you get what you pay for in central london and at the price we paid it was good value for the location.

Close

more

Pamela
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
06/03/2008

4/5 Read Review

First trip to london

The hotel is in an ideal location. the room was adequate for two, but on the small side for families sharing. could be noisey during the night, outside noise! had a meal in the carvery, but we did not feel that it was worth the price!

Christopher
Nottingham, United Kingdom
23/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

Theatre break

This hotel was very comfortable and clean. the double bed was a good size and the shower was hot and powerful. staff were friendly and helpful and the location was excellent - a 10 minute walk from st. pancras, 5 minutes to the british museum and about a 20 minute walk to the west end. we hardly needed the tube but if we did it was just across the road and around the corner.

Close

more

Richard
Glasgow, United Kingdom
08/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

My birthday

My wife arranged our stay as a surprise for my 50th birthday. we had previously stayed in the hotel ouselves on an earlier trip to see les miserables a few years ago. this time we cam with all the family 6 in number ourselves, my daughter 26 and her boyfriend and my son 22 and our youngest daughter who is 14. we had a great stay at the hotel and were well treated from the minute we arrived at reception. booking in was easy and we were in our rooms within 10 minutes of entering the hotel.the rooms were well maintained clean and functional.

Close

more

Robert
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
01/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break

Reasonably priced hotel for london. location very good. 5-10 min walk from euston. 20 mins approx to oxford street. staff very helpful. hotel ok a bit dated and bedroom small, but a nice easy atmosphere. carvery very good, a bit of a free for all at breakfast. would stay again.

Close

more

Richard
Weymouth, United Kingdom
24/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

A very convenient hotel in london, close to everything you could ever want.

This hotel is such value for money. situated very close to all the theaters and restaurants in london one would ever wish for. it only takes minutes to get to the theater and sights of london by walking, saving the hassle of subway, buses and the expense of taxis. a friendly hotel although a little hectic in the morning for breakfast, you could not ask for a better buffet breakfast. the attached bar called night and day is very good value, bar snacks and drinks well within any budget. you can even sit on the raised balcony and watch the world go by even in the autumn protected from cold breezes by the plate glass. all in all a very nice hotel and the added advantage of having parking underneath at a reasonable cost.

Close

more

John
Stockport, United Kingdom
16/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

Uk visitors to london

We were pleased again with the hotel. an unexpected bomus to be allowed into our room at 8.30 am on the day of booking! and to have a pleasant view of russell park. breakfasts were good though a somewhat limited range and rather busy at peak times. in our opinion, very good value for money at just over £40pppn and with quick central london access by foot and underground.

Close

more

Helen
Swansea, United Kingdom
15/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Fine for a business stay

The continental breakfast was limited and i would have prebooked the full english had i known. other than that a great little hotel for an overnight business trip. would stay here again if on a business trip. wouldn't stay here again if on a theatre break/shopping trip with friends/family as i'd prefer a bit more up market!

Close

more

Sara
Walsall, United Kingdom
12/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Our stay at the president

Good location, clean rooms and polite staff.

Marie
Bath, United Kingdom
05/09/2007

4/5 Read Review

President, russell square

I would recommend the hotel and was more satisfied than colleagues at another hotel nearby which was the same price but very busy - took them half an hour to put their baggage in the holding room and couldnt get the lift because so many wanted to use it - in the president we experienced non of these problems. just an easy, pleasant, uncrowded stay

Close

more

Alan
Lockerbie, Dumfriesshire, United Kingdom
13/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

Enjoyed our stay

We enjoyed our stay at the president in august 07. the hotel and room was very clean and staff pleasant and helpful at all times. continental breakfast was adequate but more choice could be made available. if you want a quiet hotel this one is not for you, very noisy, near a busy road, traffic all night.

Close

more

Emma
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
07/07/2007

3/5 Read Review

President hotel,ok for 1 night

We booked a triple room and got one which turned out to be a cramped twin with a camp bed which we had to put up and squeeze in ourselves.room was adequate for overnight though.check in and out was fine and efficient.despite knowing there would be 3 people in the room we actually found 1 set of towels in the bathroom. breakfast was awful.we only had the continental and it consisted of a choice of 4 types of cereal,3 bowls of fruit(prunes,grapefruit and something else)and 1 type of bread roll and toast.our table contained dirty pots from previous diners and was never cleared while we sat at it despite others being done around us.i actually noticed other guests with their own toppings for toast and yogurt ect which they had obviously purchased due to the poor quality on offer.wouldnt like to think i had booked here for a whole week or more !had read other mixed reviews and decided to make up my own mind ,unfortunetly the bad ones where in my opinion correct.

Close

more

Maria
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
02/02/2007

3/5 Read Review

Location is great.

Great location. hotel is basic which needs updated. room was clean(ish) & the bar ajoined with the imperial hotel was very good. i would recommend this hotel, for younger people, wanting to be close tot he centre of london, who can also enjoy a good nitghs craic in the local hotel bar-am:pm. (which incidently serves basic pub grub all noght long!)

Close

more