Welcome! Already registered? Access your profile
Are you a new user? Register

Reviews: Hotel Stormont

Hotel STORMONT

Upper Newtownards Road, BT4 3LP,

With its proximity to the stunning views of the Stormont Parliament and improved facilities, this is a very good 4-star property.

Vote 4/5
Stay 3.9/5
Price 4/5
Rooms 4.1/5
Location 4/5
Cleanliness 4.3/5
Reception 4/5
Services 3.9/5
Business Services 3.1/5
View only reviews from
Margaret - , United Kingdom - 16/04/2016
I booked a room as I was attending a function for a local charity, on arrival the receptionist was pleasant and directed us accordingly. entering the room the dressing table and mirror were covered in a film of dust , however the bed and bathroom were spotless. On arrival at the dining room for breakfast the following morning we stood unattended for ten minutes before deciding to seat ourselves. There were three floor staff, all tables in the dining room had not be cleared and there were a few guests but the majority of the tables free. we requested the table to be cleared , we were then given clean cups, a fork and spoon with no knives which we lifted off another table at one setting not used by the previous occupants. Tea arrived as we finished an average breakfast. total experience was new to me. I have stayed in premiere and basic hotels and never witnessed such a mess. On checking out we were going to complain however the receptionist took the room number , said the balance was clear and turned her back and walked away. I have emailed the hotel , posted a review on their social media page and have heard nothing back. I hope they take note of my experience and use it in staff training.
William - Plymouth, United Kingdom - 15/07/2012
A good quality hotel at reasonable value.
Eileen - Dreghorn, Irvine, United Kingdom - 01/02/2011
I wasn't dissapointed on my choice, I have been meaning to try this hotel for sometime and at last I managed to stay here. It is good hotel with excellent visual presentation from approach.I liked the atmosphere, the lobby and the bar are the most impressive. A little disappointed in the bedroom, decor a bit tired in the room I was in on the 3rd floor, it may be there are other more modern rooms as the hotel at present is under some refurbishment. Bistro is lovely and staff are very attentive in a nice and professional manner.
Brian - Barrow In Furness, United Kingdom - 07/05/2010
We have stayed here twice now and both times the hotel as a whole has been excellent. Rooms are modern and clean, the beds very comfortable and the shower fantastic! The hotel is not in the city centre but is only about 15 minutes out so it really depends on your purpose for vistiting the city as to whether it is suitable in that sense. Breakfast was comprehensive and served until a convenient 10am.
Carolyn - St Andrews, United Kingdom - 27/12/2009
Excellent hotel very comfortable modern decor and excellent service
Christopher - Bridgend, United Kingdom - 17/11/2009
I booked 2 nights B & B in a Superior room, at a total price which was £18 below that quoted as a lowest price deal, by the hotel's own website. (The hotel website price was £14 lower, but did not include breakfast, which was an extra £16 per day) The room was of a good size and contained a large double bed - actually two singles pushed together, but, nevertheless very comfortable. It had good size working area, which accommodated a laptop and files, HD TV and Hotel WiFi access (at extra cost). Evening meals were served in the La Scala Bistro and the food and the service were very good. Breakfast was in the Shiraz restaurant and was primarily self-service,but I was impressed with the prompt delivery of tea & coffee and the speed with which tables were cleared and prepared for re-use. A wide selection of alternative food was available, at breakfast, all of which was good and well presented. The hotel staff were very good, in Reception and in both restaurants and check-in and check-out were efficient and helpful.
Dorothy - Tamworth, United Kingdom - 01/03/2009
Good friendly hotel. Although a distance away from the city there are many good value local Taxi firms. Other Guests informed me that there was excellent frequent Bus service into Belfast Would stay there again
Owen - Warminster, United Kingdom - 27/11/2008
Hotel was clean, well presented, all employees were extremely friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The breakfast was excellent with large selection of foods on offer. Dining room decor was very good.
William - Plymouth, United Kingdom - 06/11/2008
The hotel is only satisfactory. I found it rather impersonal; the restaurant service was not good at breakfast and the reception seems disinterested. With a bit more effort it would be good - the fabric of the hotel isn't bad.
Brian - Eccles, United Kingdom - 12/07/2008
Comfortable bedroom, good choice for breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.
Robert - Larbert, United Kingdom - 01/06/2008
This hotel is particularly suitable for those travelling by car as it has ample parking and is easily accessed from the maid traffic routes. City centre is £8 taxi ride. Accommodation is excelent with large, clean and well appointed double rooms. Public areas are of high standard with agood choice of food in the restaurants on site. For a change of venue go to the Old Moat Inn, a mile or two further out of the city.
Geoff - Coleraine, United Kingdom - 31/05/2008
lovely hotel nice rooms good food expensive drink!
Philip - Darlington, United Kingdom - 27/02/2008
An excellent hotel with good attention to detail and generally excellent service. My usual hotel when travelling to Belfast. Superb suite.
Derek - Warwick, United Kingdom - 03/02/2008
Overall, a good stay. I look forward to my next.
Scott - Portadown, United Kingdom - 01/02/2008
We found the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the staff helpful and polite. In an execuative room you get massive bed and LCD tv with complimentry bottle of water and slippers, also the standard rooms were great too they were big and comfortable, also i liekd that they all had blackout curtains so you were not disturbed by early sun, also the hotel is quiet and clean. Late bar is open till 3am!
Sean - Paisley, United Kingdom - 07/08/2007
This hotel was chosen because of it's proximity to the city of Belfast, the ferry port of Larne and the star rating. We had stayed at hostel accommodation in the Mournes and in an excellent hostel/boutique hotel in Newgrange and were hoping for a little bit of luxury on the final night of our family holiday touring Ireland. IN the end the Mourne hostel and the Newgrange hotel knocked spots off this hotel which is obviously trading off the proximity to the new Stormont government building. On arrival we were shown to our room and it was clear that the previous guest (or staff) had been smoking in it. The room stank. Given that is against the law to smoke in the North of Ireland this was totally unacceptable given we had our ten-year old son with us who has a susceptibility to chest infections. We immediately complained that the room was unacceptable and the staff, who were very pleasant, changed our room immediately. However when we set off to the room with our luggage trolley by lift, they did not point out that the lift we were taking did not allow us to access the room without negotiating stairs. The new room did not stink of smoke but the light fitting in the bathroom was broken, the panel on the bath was broken and one of the bedroom windows was sealed shut. The heat in the room was stifling (leading to a most uncomfortable night and being unable to open the window to air the room did not help. However it was the state of the breakfast room the next day that really made this a thoroughly horrible experience. The room did not look like it had been cleaned for a number of days. There were piles of dust on the window ledge; the tables were not being cleared after use. It was a positive health hazard about to happen This was a totally unacceptable standard for a 4, yes four, star hotel. We had the pleasure of staying at the Ballymascanlon in Dundalk and it was like night and day in comparison for the Stormont. Members of my extended family did not express surprise at these states of affairs having suffered similar situations at other hotels in the chain. (Hastings) We are in the process of compiling a letter of complaint to the Chief Executive of Hastings Hotels group. They need to get their finger out and justify their totally undeserved star ratings.
Basil - Londonderry, United Kingdom - 18/08/2007
We attended a wedding reception in the stormont hotel and booked overnight accomodation the service was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable and clean, I would recommend this hotel to any one who was looking for accomodation in the area.
Brian - Earith, United Kingdom - 08/08/2007
If you stay here just make sure that the restaurants are both open before you confirm otherwise you will get involved in a scramble for a table. Lose out and there is nowhere else for miles to eat - definitely not 4 star restaurant service. Rest of hotel was OK.
Cheryl - Lowestoft, United Kingdom - 20/06/2007
Hotel was exceptional standard and exceptionally good value for money. Booking through hotelsclick was excellent
Bernard - Dunfermline, United Kingdom - 24/05/2007
Have stayed here before but have to say this stay was a major disappointment. Annex type room was unpleasant in lacking windows to the outside and no air con. The room had noise from the hall traffic and hot. Reception staff needs some customer service training in the simple things such as how to say "Good Morning, how was your stay?". They showed no interest in the paying customer. The quality of the breakfast had also gone down. What going on at the Stormont, not what it was.
William - Plymouth, United Kingdom - 07/05/2007
This is a high standard hotel; it was clean, modern, airy and the restaurant staff were efficient. The decor was to a high standard. However, the pricing was on the high side - a coke and a pint of Guinness cost over £6 which is exorbitant by any standards. One does not mind paying for quality, but the Stormont Hotel was "over the top" for prices.