HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel Mespil

3 Stars

  Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Dublin

Hotel MESPIL The hotel offers limited parking. The friendly reception staff, available 24 hours on 24, will be happy to book taxis and airport shuttles and to advise on local attractions. More Details Hotel Mespil

Book

  • Vote 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Stay 4/5 4/5
  • Price 4.2/5 4.2/5
  • Rooms 4/5 4/5
  • Location 3.9/5 3.9/5
  • Cleanliness 4.4/5 4.4/5
  • Reception 4.3/5 4.3/5
  • Services 4.2/5 4.2/5
  • Business Services 2.6/5 2.6/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Margaret
Glasgow, United Kingdom
25/07/2014

4/5 Read Review

Dublin stay.

Lovely hotel. only thing i was disappointed in was that there was no shampoo/conditioner/body wash in bathroom. staff very friendly and breakfast nice.

John
Stoke On Trent, United Kingdom
09/09/2013

4/5 Read Review

Pleasant & good value

This is my fourth stay at the mespil and as ever the hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the room large. perhasp some rooms are a little tired - especially in the bathrooms. however, overall for me as a business user this hotel fits the bill. the breakfast is good but the evening menu is perhaps limited and of average quality but quite nearby there are a few nearby pubs and restaraunts.

Close

more

Sam
Lisburn, United Kingdom
28/10/2012

4/5 Read Review

Enjoyable short stay

We have stayed at this hotel for several years and the stays have always been pleasant. the location is good and the hotel is conveniently located for places that we visit, including st stephens green and the rds. these are maybe 12 to 25 minutes away when walking. the rooms are comfortable and clean, the foyer is bright, the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fine, with quite a range of foods available.

Close

more

Sam
Lisburn, United Kingdom
24/10/2010

4/5 Read Review

Nice hotel

We have stayed at the mespil hotel for several years now. i run in the dublin marathon and the hotel is very well situated for it. many other runners stay there also. the hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. for example, on marathon day, providing breakfast at 6:30 a.m. instead of 7 a.m. to cater for participants.

Close

more

Thomas
London, United Kingdom
31/12/2009

5/5 Read Review

Mespil

Excellent hotel. staff welcoming. reception helpful at all times.

John
Altrincham, United Kingdom
28/03/2008

4/5 Read Review

Choir trip

Generally excellent and well organised hotel. restaurant sevice was friendly and efficient and the food was good - especially breakfast. rooms were clean and pleasant but the plumbing in our room needed attention - a slow draining handbasin and the shower water temperature was only warm to hot (no cold!) we enjoyed our stay and the staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful.

Close

more

Fiona
York, United Kingdom
11/02/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hotel mespil, dublin

This was a perfectly placed hotel for myself and my friends. it was in a quiet area which ensured a peaceful night's sleep, it was a pleasant amble away from the main areas we wanted to visit but if you were feeling lazy there was a bus stop just round the corner (no 10) which took you into the main shopping area. each morning we enjoyed a relaxing breakfast, with a good choice of food. i was very impressed with the size of the bedrooms and the beds were very comfortable.

Close

more

Shane
York, United Kingdom
01/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Mespil hotel - a good time had by all

Hi folks have used this hotel twice now both times in november each year. firstly use it because of location, then price. the rooms themselves are very spacious with a modern feel. all have hairdryers, irons etc and loads of space for suitcases. location is excellent, walking distance from st stephen's green nr grafton street (even after a few pints of black stuff and numerous alcoholic substances!). note: if you want to book this hotel direct be warned, i tried this first and was disappointed, as it would have cost us a lot more for the room without breakfast than actually doing a price check with all the online hotel operators such as hotelclick.com which was cheaper and included breakfast. breakfast is ok - if you are used to a full continental breakfast i found this above average by uk standards, but not as much variety in food items as you would find in germany or italy where continental breakfast is normal. full cooked breakfast is nice, sausages are particularly good. service is prompt. staff - i found all staff helpful and friendly. i particularly liked the fact that some speak more languages than just english/irish such as german, dutch and french which helps visitors who do not speak english to feel more relaxed and welcome. one of our rooms had a sink which drained away slowly and we reported this to reception and they sorted it out straight way whilst we had breakfast. so 10 out of 10 for prompt action. getting there - instead of using taxi's from the airport we opted for bus passes from inside the airport (tourist info) and caught a no. 747 from the airport to o'connell street and switched to the no.10 to lower baggot street which crosses the mespil road. both services are every 10-20 mins and easy to navigate with suitcases. the hotel is literally around the corner so very easy to use. again use the no.10 to get back to st. stephen's green or grafton street or temple bar area. getting back to the airport - we found that if you leave on sunday and need a bus before 9am you are stuck. however instead of using taxi, you can walk up mespil road towards leason street and catch an aircoach from the blue and orange bus stop which costs 7 euros each and takes you directly to the airport approx. 40 mins away from the hotel. these go by every 10 mins which was a very cheap alternative to the taxi. finally i would recommend this hotel to anyone, but the younger ones (say 18-24's) might prefer hotels directly on temple bar which is literally collapsing distance from the night clubs. the hotel's overall atmosphere is family/business/sensible orientated and not party life/being sick in the corridor type if you catch my drift. although having said that there were a number of quite 'fit' rugby types around and the majority still had a pulse! all in all have and would stay again at this hotel. especially nice in november just after half term. city is not as busy but has a lovely buzz to it.

Close

more

Andrew
Porth, United Kingdom
25/05/2007

5/5 Read Review

A hotel that met all of our needs

A very nice hotel that met all of our needs. the hotel was clean and smart with very helpfull reception staff that could not do enough for you. a nice 10-15min walk into the main area of dublin, but a plesent walk on a fine day. a good all round hotel, that made our stay in dublin a plesent one. the only downside was that we had to wait about 5 min on morning to be seated for breakfeast. but that all that i can criticise! the breakfeast itself is good, with a vast selection to choose from on a self service

Close

more

Gillian
Galashiels, United Kingdom
05/05/2007

4/5 Read Review

Mespil stay

Arrived at mespil and was greeted in a friendly and professional manner. unfortunately we couldn't get our lunch there (saturday). it was about a 10-15 minute walk along a main road with restaurants and shops on the way. we had a view of the grand canal which we walked along; it was lovely with lots of wildlife. the rooms were clean and modern. the bar was cosy with a selection of hot drinks. the buffet lunch and evening meals were super too.

Close

more

Natalia
Crewe, United Kingdom
11/04/2007

5/5 Read Review

Excellent city hotel

We stayed at this hotel in april 2007. we were delighted with every aspect of our stay. the staff were friendly and helpful and all facilities were very good. excellent value for a city hotel.

Neil
Liverpool, United Kingdom
16/03/2007

5/5 Read Review

Good place to stay

The hotel was clean, the room was a decent size. although it was at the front of the hotel (near the road, we didn't hear any noise) and the view in the morning on the small canal was lovely. stayed there for st patrick and it was quite busy, heard some noise from other people but apart from that, good hotel. the location was ok, 10 mins walk to st stephen's green max! nice breakfast, loads of choice

Close

more

Daniel
Loughton Essex, United Kingdom
09/03/2007

5/5 Read Review

Mespil

A very nice hotel, especially at the extremely reasonable price.