HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace

4 Stars

  18 Royal Terrace, EH7 5AQ, Edinburgh

Hotel CROWNE PLAZA EDINBURGH ROYAL TERRACE The hotel has a small leisure centre and swimming pool. There are also elegantly landscaped gardens, separated by the original Georgian garden walls. More Details Hotel Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace

Book

  • Vote 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Stay 3.9/5 3.9/5
  • Price 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Rooms 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Location 4.2/5 4.2/5
  • Cleanliness 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Reception 3.9/5 3.9/5
  • Services 3.7/5 3.7/5
  • Business Services 3.3/5 3.3/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Wilma
Dumfries, United Kingdom
20/03/2010

4/5 Read Review

Relaxing break in the city

Very nice italian waiter helpful and respectful.saturday 20th march. nice clean pool area. lovely smelling rooms.nice quiet garden to sit in. second visit to this hotel. love it.

William
Coalburn, United Kingdom
06/03/2010

5/5 Read Review

Saturday 6th march 2010

Had a great stay at the royal terrace hotel, free parking saturday and sunday around edinburgh. the location was perfect for shopping and pubs and the view from our room was fantastic

Frances
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
27/11/2009

2/5 Read Review

Family get together

Disappointed with the outcome due to various mishaps including rowdy rugby team staying, lift not working and other 'mishaps'.

Anne
Balloch, United Kingdom
12/12/2009

4/5 Read Review

Theatre break

think we were very fortunate to be given a very nice large room on the first floor of the hotel. the breakfast was excellent. would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Jacqueline
Dumfries, United Kingdom
05/12/2009

5/5 Read Review

Lovely hotel, wonderful servie

We stayed here on saturday 5th december. we arrived early and our room was ready. the room for 3 people was spacious and well appointed and would be ideal for a family of 3 or a group of friends. the reception staff were wonderful, helpful, polite and interested. trust me i stay in hotels a lot and these people know good customer service. pool is very nice and breakfast great. one minor niggle - there was a wedding reception on at the hotel and we were on the first floor above it, check when you book - unless you particularly like cheesey dance music :) will certainly go back

Close

more

Mary
Drongan, United Kingdom
27/11/2009

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

We were a group of six people in three double rooms, each having there own character and home comforts.the hotel was close to amenities especially the theatre which was the reason for our visit and this was a bonus.the staff were helpful and polite and we will certainly make a return visit.

Close

more

Gail
South Shields, United Kingdom
21/11/2009

5/5 Read Review

Review

Had a really lovely stay at this hotel. staff were helpful and food was good. we stayed in a triple roon which was quite spacious, the room did not have a minibar, which was most unusal but not a problem at all

Francis
Airdrie, United Kingdom
18/11/2009

4/5 Read Review

Review on royal terrace hotel

Hotel room was clean , staff we're friendly enough and food was good aswell!

Richard
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
27/03/2009

4/5 Read Review

Royal terrace

First room was very cold, very draughty and very noisy. do not have a room at the front of the hotel - the road outside is cobbled and very, very noisy at all hours. breakfast was ok, very cheap ingredients used for cooked breakfast.

Close

more

Jonathan
Cowbridge , United Kingdom
19/03/2009

5/5 Read Review

Royal terrace hotel review

We arrived at 9.30 am the repcepionist was most helpfull even tho i did not have my booking form. they found my booking by allowing me to use their computer behind the desk. the room was available (g2) and very nice very clean and welcoming. the hotel staff were all excellent the breakfast was very nice, freshly cooked the location was brilliant five minutes walk into the centre. wished i stayed there longer.

Close

more

Andrew
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
06/03/2009

4/5 Read Review

Royal terrece

Lovely hotel ,clean polite staff lovely food ,location slightly out from exact centre but walking distance 15 mins to princess st,and pool and spa very small.

Sarah
Nottingham, United Kingdom
28/02/2009

5/5 Read Review

Lovely place to stay

It is about 10 minutes walk from waverley bridge (at a good pace). the hotel reception was friendly and let us leave our bags before the room was available. the whole place was warm, welcoming and comfortable. the bed was great, probably better than our own! the facilities were fine and we had a lovely view to top it off. the breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and plenty of it. a good stay. we will be going back!

Close

more

William
Thornhill, United Kingdom
31/01/2009

4/5 Read Review

Edinburgh night out

Very good location staff very helpfull first class breakfast

Alexander
Prestwick, United Kingdom
21/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

Weekend in edinburgh

Hotel was clean and very central. as usual when booking through an agency, we were given a very small room, this time right next to the lift, presume if paying the full rate would get a better room

Katrina
Houghton Le Spring, United Kingdom
15/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

Royal terrace edinburgh

The staff were very friendly and helpfull. the hotel had a very attractive garden outside although being november we did not go out. the room was very small and near the lift so we were woke several times during the night with people talking outside. i would not stay at this hotel again unless i was assured that we did not have a quiet room.

Close

more

Ellis
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
04/07/2008

4/5 Read Review

Wedding anniversary

52nd wedding anniversary,arrived approx.2.15pm,room not ready,room ready approx. 3.15/3.30pm,not a great start for our special weekend!. breakfast was,in my opinion,not 4* quality,have had much better food,and choice in a b&b.most of the food pre-cooked and lies for a while,not my idea of a 4* and expensive hotel. we are living on a small pension and this was going to be special,we are a bit disappointed. regards ellis and irene shand

Close

more

Ann
Consett Co. Durham., United Kingdom
19/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

royal terrace hotel

This hotel is a perfect place it is ideally situated for princes street and the theatre

Kenneth
Penicuik, United Kingdom
12/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Love this place

This was the second time my wife and have stayed at this hotel & both times have been great,the location is ideal the rooms have been refurbished and are very comfortable and clean,the staff have been helpfull and pleasent.the pool is small but big enough for a quick dip before an evening out,followed by a great breakfast in the morning,iwould recommend this hotel to anyone

Close

more

Susanne
Derry, United Kingdom
13/09/2007

5/5 Read Review

Great stay

Lovely hotel, location perfect, was within walking distance to city centre. food very good although bedroom was a little on small side. staff were very helpful and polite, would definitly go back again.

Susanne
Derry, United Kingdom
13/09/2007

5/5 Read Review

Great stay

Lovely hotel, location perfect, was within walking distance to city centre. food very good although bedroom was a little on small side. staff were very helpful and polite, would definitly go back again.

Laura
Inverness, United Kingdom
14/09/2007

3/5 Read Review

Don't bother

Radiator hanging off the wall, filthy skirtings and window sills, noise from automatic door above room (p6), cleaners cloth left on bedroom chair, slow bar service....need i go on?

John
Milton Keynes , United Kingdom
07/09/2007

5/5 Read Review

Excellent again

Another great stay at the royal terrace. we have stayed here before before the renovations, and cab say that the improvements are great , as always the staff are all friendly and helpful and always willing to assist. if there is a negative , the cleanliness of the rooms needs improving , the gym whilst small has first class equipment , the sauna and steam room are good - not large but big enough as not many people seem to use the facilities. breakfast was excellent , there is a great choice for everyone

Close

more

Juliet
London, United Kingdom
28/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

Short stay

Good location near to all the central points of interest but far enough away to have a little peace. the view towards the forth was lovely from our third floor room. the public rooms were clean and well furnished. our room was well equipped, but slightly cramped in the effort to fit in both two arm chairs and an admittedly very comfortable office chair. a pleasant modern bathroom. the staff were friendly and obliging. the food was well presented and tasty.

Close

more

Audrey
Bowness On Windermere, United Kingdom
31/07/2007

3/5 Read Review

Pleasant with a few problems

Arrived early at hotel 12.45pm - room not ready until 2pm- we came back at 2pm and the room was still not ready so had to wait about 30 mins - enquired again at reception and the room was ready. we were told that our bags would be sent to room. 20 minutes later still waiting for bags- my husband went down to reception and saw the porter who didn't know that the bags had to be brought to room - lack of communication! hotel room clean and quiet ample room for 2 adults and 1 child age 4. no information booklet in the room to let us know about the hotel. we just stayed for bed and breakfast not evening meals but menu did look good. they did not really accommodate for childrens meals unless you had 1/2 portions, but no problem plenty of restaurants nearby. ideally located for playhouse theatre.

Close

more

John
Mansfield, United Kingdom
23/07/2007

4/5 Read Review

Edinburgh short break

Great location for sight seeing clean and comfortable rooms exelent breakfast and service

Gerry
Newry, United Kingdom
05/07/2007

4/5 Read Review

Royal

Nice hotel well located needs air con though.

Judith
Preston, United Kingdom
11/07/2007

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

I came for business but wwould love to come again for a short break. a really lovely hotel, where you really felt everyone was trying to get it right.

Lesley
Kniglassie, United Kingdom
30/06/2007

5/5 Read Review

Boozy stay in the city

Excellent hotel for a stay in the city, great location and excellent value for £. stayed several times and always look at this hotel when booking.

Sue
Emsworth, United Kingdom
20/06/2007

5/5 Read Review

A taste of luxury

I have recently spent an evening in the royal terrace hotel whilst on business in edinburgh and it was a real taste of luxury. the room and surroundings were excellent; soft, warm furnishings and a real sense of elegance despite some renovation work that was taking place. the staff were both helpful and friendly and did their best to support me as i was not sure of my way around the city. i will definately be visiting the hotel again, hopefully with my partner for the christmas break and recommending it to friends. thank you

Close

more

Emma
Cookstown, United Kingdom
19/05/2007

5/5 Read Review

The royal terrace

It was a very pleasant experience to stay at this hotel.

John
Torpoint, United Kingdom
13/06/2007

4/5 Read Review

Wet and windy but very pleasant

Reviews from before the 'makeover' in 06 should be ignored. this hotel is now of a fine standard, well appointed and well located. as everywhere they have many european staff but all were very helpful, cheerful and professional. the breakfast is good and hearty and the dinner exceptionally good and reasonably priced. the swimming and fitness facilities are superb and must be visited. the reception staff were always pleasant and very helpful. the gardens have great potential but still need a lot of upgrading.

Close

more

Heather
Newtownards, United Kingdom
18/05/2007

4/5 Read Review

Royal terrace hotel, edinburgh

Lovely hotel, modern decor, very clean, food excellent. it is located in a quiet area of edinburgh. initially disappointed with room as it was in the basement! but was able to change rooms for our second night without any difficulty. near to john lewis', prince's street etc although is a bit too far to walk for more elderly visitors, however, taxis are easily accessible and reception staff can order them for you.

Close

more

M
Annan, United Kingdom
08/05/2007

3/5 Read Review

Wished i had stayed at home

Chose this hotel on a rcommendation very dissapointed hotel in process of renovation i do believe some rooms are lovely they should not advertise if all rooms are not suitable .we were in three rooms before something reasonable was offered ;not what iexpected from the brochure.

Close

more

Peter
Rotherham, United Kingdom
30/04/2007

4/5 Read Review

One night in edinburgh

Hotel location central ideal for sight seeing and shopping . hotel staff very helpfull informative and friendly, room clean and comfortable breakfast good ,would be happy to book again.

Wilma
Inverness, United Kingdom
14/04/2007

4/5 Read Review

Comfortable stay nr center

Had a nice stay at the royal terrace. it is a nice hotel is a quiet location, about 10-15 mins walk to princess st (waverly station end). it suited us fine for our girls weekend.

Lesley
Kniglassie, United Kingdom
07/04/2007

5/5 Read Review

Excellent stay @ the royal terrace

have stayed before and will stay again. we go out in edinburgh and get back to our hotel normally about 5am so for the time we are actually at the hotel it is great value at these prices. think we've only made breakfast once. see you soon.

Close

more

Elaine
Glasgow, United Kingdom
30/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

Excellent value

Given the other reviews i'd read ihad requested a refurbished room .. it was smart and stylish but there was no heating in the bathroom and outlook from window half blocked by brick wall... other wise perfectly nice double room.when i asked for some heating i was immediately moved to a shabbier but much larger and much warmer room with fabulous garden view. tiles and paintwork definitely in need of a bit of tlc but richly furnished with traditinal fabric and carpet and excellent value for the price we paid. waldorf salad on room service was excellent and more than enough for two.staff helpful and pleasant although it seems crazy to me to leave a perfectly nice but clearly disabled receptioniust solely in charge of an area where speed and mobility seemed essential requisites of the job.

Close

more

Sharon
Tyne & Wear, United Kingdom
23/03/2007

3/5 Read Review

My stay in royal terrace

Roomwas cold and rigt at the end of the basement

Mike
Grantown-On-Spey, United Kingdom
16/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

One night stay in central edinburgh

A good clean, modern and friendly hotel in an excellent location.

Anna
Durham, United Kingdom
02/03/2007

5/5 Read Review

Very nice hotel...

Lovely hotel, well situated, easily located and fabulous facilities. newly refurbished everything was great for our stay. the double bed was extremely comfortable and came with a lovely thick duvet. just perfect for snuggling down after walking edinburghs cold streets. breakfast was spot on too.

Close

more

Mark
Swansea, United Kingdom
02/03/2007

5/5 Read Review

Thoughts on the royal terrace hotel

The reason we went to the royal terrace was simple - we had a special deal! 3 night stay for £150.00. in saying that it was a fantastic hotel, very proffessional members of staff who were always there to help (especially at the bar!). the room was fantastic and no noise from the neighbours. its location was also perfect - just off princess street with plenty of restaurants available. well worth anothe visit. any chance of sending us regular updates on special deals you may have?

Close

more