HotelsClick.com

Reviews Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 Stars

  Scarsdale Place - Wrights Lane, W8 5SR, London

COPTHORNE TARA HOTEL LONDON KENSINGTON The hotel is housed in a sleek modern building with private parking (for a fee). Offers its customers excellent services, such as three bars, three restaurants, concierge 24h-24h, multilingual staff, air conditioning, laundry service, car rental, gift shop, disabled access, fitness room, meeting... More Details Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Book

  • Vote 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Stay 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Price 4/5 4/5
  • Rooms 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Location 4.5/5 4.5/5
  • Cleanliness 4.3/5 4.3/5
  • Reception 4.3/5 4.3/5
  • Services 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Business Services 1/5 1/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Diane
United Kingdom
13/05/2017

3/5 Read Review

Woken three times

A saga of room lights not working, engineer visiting and mending, bedside light going off 10 minutes after engineer left, bedside light coming back on again in the night and waking me up - switched it off, went back to sleep and it came on and woke me up again. nice enineer came after 11pm (i was having an early night) and disabled the switch of the bedside light - then, unbelievably, the telephone started ringing - no-one there. went back to sleep and was woken a third time by the telephone; took receiver off and buried phone under a pillow. got to sleep eventually.

Close

more

Paula
Sheringham, United Kingdom
24/03/2017

4/5 Read Review

Recent stay

We loved the location of the hotel, breakfast was excellent and we managed to miss the long queues that we saw on leaving the breakfast room. standards rooms are basic and in need of some modernising but are clean. extra pillows would have been useful in the room to sit up and watch tv. as we stayed 3 nights a better view should have been an option for staying longer but we were given a brick wall and offered a better view if we paid for a club room. the room above us we heard high heels for about 1/2 hr at 3.30 am each early morning -- must have been in the bathroom as the rooms were carpeted. lots of airline staff staying here after flights.

Close

more

Helen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
24/03/2017

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel with fantastic staff

We had a very pleasant stay here, not least because we were given a free upgrade to a club room when we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. the staff were all really helpful and friendly and the location worked well for us.

Susan
N.A., United Kingdom
25/03/2017

3/5 Read Review

Sadly not a happy guest

When arriving to check in, the hotel had no reservation for me on their system even though i had booked 6 weeks prior and had received my confirmation email. the receptionist (poonam i think) was very friendly however, and gave us a complimentary drinks voucher while we waited. all this though had a knock on affect for us getting ready for an event we were attending that night. the room it's was disappointing. no air con, no fan in the bathroom and the shower was little more than a dribble. i was almost tempted to go to sleep that night with the hotel door propped open just to keep some more air coming through the room. we then had the chambermaids entering our room at 7am and again at 8.30am wanting to clean it when we were still in bed. not impressed at having them walk in!!! will definitely not be going back again and wish i'd book the holiday inn opposite!

Close

more

Chris
United Kingdom
17/03/2017

4/5 Read Review

Many good points

Good overall value. the central position, with an underground station less than 5 minutes away make it easy to get around london. the hotel restaurant served some lovely asian food for a very reasonable price and the staff were helpful. the rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and our initial room had a gap between the window frame and wall creating a whistling sound but we were moved to another room once we pointed this out. intermittent wireless reception in room. have stayed here before and no doubt will again.

Close

more

Patrick
N.A., United Kingdom
18/03/2017

4/5 Read Review

Tara

Cosidering the comparatively low price compared to other london hotels, i was pleasantly surprised with all aspects of this hotel, from the pleasant and helpful msnner of commissionaires and front of house staff to the decor and cleanliness of the hotel generally. the room was of generous proportions and contained everything we needed. the breakfast was probably as good as one would find anywhere. top notch!

Close

more

Amanda
United Kingdom
07/02/2017

4/5 Read Review

Just right for a one night stopover

Needed somewhere to stay in order to attend an early morning meeting. just what we needed; clean, comfortable, easy to check in & out and good breakfast.

David
United Kingdom
07/04/2016

4/5 Read Review

2 night getaway...

We booked our parking in advance via just park website which was stress free. on arrival we were quickly checked in and given our room keys. the hotel is clean, the staff very helpful and it has a great central location.

Emily
United Kingdom
09/04/2016

4/5 Read Review

Good hotel

Good facilities in a great location

Joanna
United Kingdom
25/03/2016

4/5 Read Review

Relaxed environment

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and keep going back. it is ideally placed for all the london attractions and the room sizes are good. service is prompt and efficient.

Matthew
United Kingdom
16/03/2016

5/5 Read Review

Good value in a great area

Nice hotel, breakfast is good quality. rooms are starting to look a little dated but on the whole good value for money in a great area of london. .

Carol
United Kingdom
16/03/2016

4/5 Read Review

Our stay here

Our stay at the copthorne tara was great , a very welcome and helpful bunch of staff, clean and very comfortable bed . breakfast is really nice also. many thanks

Dianne
United Kingdom
10/03/2016

4/5 Read Review

Copthorn tara kensington

Only 5 minutes walk from high street kensington underground station. smooth check in. we were on floor 10. 5 lifts so never had long to wait. room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water. the tube station could be seen from the bedroom window and obviously could be heard but to be honest we were so tired from sightseeing that it was never an issue. fridge, safe and tea making facilities but no hairdryer. we did ask for one but are still waiting for it. nice pub around corner - devonshire arms - with nice atmosphere. breakfast in hotel was good, with plenty of hot tea! i'd stay here again for another london break. within walking distance of kensington palace, albert hall and hyde park.

Close

more

James
United Kingdom
08/03/2016

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel - great deal

Good hotel great deal

Siobhan
United Kingdom
08/03/2016

5/5 Read Review

Excellent one night stay

Booked a one night stay with my daughter. hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. room was lovely, breakfast in the morning buffet style and lots to chose from (although very busy staff were quick to clear table and get people in). price was a bargain and if could get it again would definitely stay. nice pub just off the high street called the britannia.

Close

more

Dianne
United Kingdom
24/02/2016

4/5 Read Review

Outstanding

Fantastic location five minutes from tube station and kensington high st .staff are extremely friendly from the duty manager to the cleaning staff ,would go back again definitely.

Mandy
United Kingdom
12/02/2016

4/5 Read Review

Peaceful haven in the heart of london

My favorite hotel in london. within walking distance of museums, kensington palace, parks, royal albert hall, harrods and so many others.

Philip
United Kingdom
05/02/2016

3/5 Read Review

Hotel gone in reverse

I have been using this hotel for a long time, but i am very sorry to have to say its standards have dropped dramatically,for instance, reception staff were very rude,kept you waiting uneccasarry,kept wandering of out to check on details,waiting for a quarter of an hour, extremely rude,rooms are now very poor, they have now moved the furniture out of rooms, so being there is nowhere to put your undreclothes etc, you more so have to live out of a your suitcase, which there is also nowhere to put,plus the rooms are not that warm, even though i did try to adjust heating.

Close

more

Ruth
Cambridge, United Kingdom
08/10/2015

4/5 Read Review

An enjoyable experience

An excellent hotel, superb location, elegant public areas and - a big plus in central london - spacious, well equipped bedrooms.

Christine
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
09/09/2015

3/5 Read Review

Needs refurbushing

Good points were luxurious reception, bars, leisure facilities and eating areas. average points were room cleanliness and breakfast selection. poor points were - rooms need refurbishing, rooms at the back overlook the underground tracks, windows were filthy and locked with ventilation provided through noisy air conditioning units. overall not recommended and over-priced.

Close

more

Jonathan
United Kingdom
03/08/2015

4/5 Read Review

Comfortable basic and good value

Excellent location with easy walk to high st kensington. room clean and comfortable if not exciting. we had a basic grade of room but more luxorious grades available. room well soundproofed and nearby railwah not a problem.

Christopher
Brighton, United Kingdom
28/07/2015

4/5 Read Review

Tired, but fine

There's no doubt that the copthorne tara is in need of a refurb. this enormous bed factory provides a decent nights sleep with no frills. breakfast was busy but the food good.

John
United Kingdom
25/07/2015

4/5 Read Review

Concert break

Hotel is very convenient for the nearest tube high street kensington which is liturally 2 minutes walk away. very clean and comfortable. good breakfast. will definitely use this hotel again. hotel parking at £25 is a very good option.

Robert
Birmingham, United Kingdom
29/05/2015

5/5 Read Review

Weekend stay at coptorne tara

A very pleasant stay in a well run and clean hotel. service was very good and friendly. rooms spacious and clean. good location for tube station and central london.

Meurig
Bramber, United Kingdom
21/03/2015

5/5 Read Review

Great stay

Chose this hotel for its location. ignore the look of the building - inside it is very nice, staff great and bedroom very comfortable. breakfast was good and plentiful.

John
Warrington, United Kingdom
18/02/2015

4/5 Read Review

Handy

Good faciliities and a very handy location

Gary
Hinckley, United Kingdom
07/02/2015

4/5 Read Review

February break

Very good hotel, clean and well presented rooms, pleasant staff and a good location

Barbara
Ripponden, United Kingdom
22/01/2015

4/5 Read Review

Nice hotel, friendly staff, great central london location.

This hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from kensington high street tube. convenient for bars, restaurants and shopping, and ideally placed for getting around london for other areas and sightseeing. rooms are a fair size, warm, good breakfast, and the staff, particularly on reception, were helpful and friendly. the prices for central london are very competitive, my impression is that it is a no 'frills' hotel, but has everything you need at a good price. good view of london from the higher rooms. would definitely return.

Close

more

Jerry
Exeter, United Kingdom
16/12/2014

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara kensington

I stay here regularly and it is unfailingly good. staff are very helpful, rooms and bathrooms well maintained and clean and the overall atmosphere is welcoming, quite an achievement in a large hotel in london.

Edward
Ipswich, United Kingdom
05/12/2014

4/5 Read Review

Well located hotel

A well located hotel five minutes walk from high street kensington undergound station. good reception area and restaurants. comforable room. above average breakfast.

Wendy
Falmouth, United Kingdom
08/11/2014

5/5 Read Review

One night stay

We found the that the hotel was perfect for our stay. our stay included breakfast in the restaurant which was well presented and efficiently managed by the staff, plenty of hot drink refills at your table if you required them and the food was good. rooms were clean and contained everything we needed. staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Close

more

Norman
Swansea, United Kingdom
18/10/2014

4/5 Read Review

Siging in london

A faultless stay. easy checkin, easy checkout and a peacfull stay in between. the hotel was exactly as offered. staff proffesional and friendly. the singing in the bar at the end of a male voice concert in the albert hall was the icing on the cake.

Close

more

Andrea
Strete, United Kingdom
26/08/2014

5/5 Read Review

Just great!

Read many reviews, very mixed but came to the conclusion, what is wrong with some people?! we had a great stay there, all staff were polite and friendly, warm efficient welcome, parking, rooms not massive but very nice, spotlessly clean bedding, toiletries, plenty of tea making stuff, fridge, excellent full english breakfasts with all other options as well, great location, the 4 of us couldn't fault it at all. wanted to go back there in a fortnight's time but it was fully booked :( will definitely go back again. we got a good package through an agent, seems to be dearer if you go direct.

Close

more

Nigel
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
23/08/2014

5/5 Read Review

Nice change.

Great location avoiding all the busy london traffic but easy to get to all the attractions. lovely shops and pubs all in walking distance. walking distance of knightsbridge. lovely clean, pleasant hotel. i would use this again.

Denise
Usk, United Kingdom
19/08/2014

4/5 Read Review

Great location

Great location for kensington high st. and the tube staion. the hotel also has a carpark which offers guests a great rate for the duration of your stay. the rooms are a reasonable size although some do need some tlc. breakfast is excellent offering a variety of foods to suit most people although it can be packed if there is an event on nearby. overall, if you are on business or touring the hotel will provide most peoples needs.

Close

more

Ian
Kinross, United Kingdom
25/07/2014

4/5 Read Review

Nice hotel

Nice comfortable hotel with friendly staff. fairly standard corporate type hotel with nothing to note to its detriment

Andrew
Harrogate, United Kingdom
28/07/2014

5/5 Read Review

A couple of days in london

We chose this hotel because is quite central. a lovely hotel the concierge was very helpful and friendly as were the other members of staff! the breakfast was great too and we loved the noodles. we would definitely stay here again as it had everything we needed.

Close

more

Andy
Sherborne, United Kingdom
26/07/2014

3/5 Read Review

Pretty average

Overall a fairly average hotel. room was noisy due to nearby trains, the bathroom sink was broken as was one desk light and not repaired despite bringing it to the staff notice. staff were very friendly and helpful. room was a douible room but only one sachet of shower gel and shampoo provided - a minor issue but symptomatic of the whole approach which seemed to be reducing costs were possible. internet expensive, better rooms are higher but more expensive. overall wouldn't use again if in the same area.

Close

more

Gail
March, United Kingdom
19/07/2014

4/5 Read Review

Birthday weekend

N/a

Robert
Kettering, United Kingdom
19/07/2014

4/5 Read Review

Good hotel - elevators a nightmare

For the claustrophobic amongst you, there is no access to floors higher than 1 other than by using an elevator. when we stayed these were unreliable, although at 9 am on sunday morning there was an engineer on site trying to sort them out. breakfast was good.. but the minibar was noisy..

Close

more

Lyn
Chepstow, United Kingdom
02/07/2014

5/5 Read Review

Tara kensington

Fairly regular visitor for many, many years. feel at home there and comfortable. staff are so helpful. can seem a little expensive now.

N
pe22 0aa, United Kingdom
30/04/2014

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara

Enjoyable stay

Sandra
York, United Kingdom
25/04/2014

4/5 Read Review

Weekend away

The hotel was easy to find and so convenient for the tube. we stayed for the weekend and used the hotel as a base for theatre trips and sightseeing. the room was a superior twin and was very comfortable and clean with plenty of room for cases etc. the only real down side was the heat, it really was warm even with the air conditioning on full (this was april). we had breakfast included in the price and it really was lovely, lots of choice and very tasty. the staff were friendly and helpful when we asked for directions to local attractions. all in all i would stay again.

Close

more

Caroline
Bollington, United Kingdom
26/04/2014

4/5 Read Review

Good hotel

Overall, a good hotel. very close to kensington high street tube station so very easy to get to attractions. great choice at breakfast, and staff all very friendly, would stay here again!

Caron
Wigton, United Kingdom
19/04/2014

4/5 Read Review

Easter weekend at copthorne tara

The hotel was busy and seemed a popular choice. we were not disappointed. we upgraded to a club room (facing west) so that we had good views of the city. the hotel was central enough for sight-seeing and had a good oriental restaurant (bugis) with reasonable prices. rooms were clean and comfortable with good beds. i would use this hotel again.

Close

more

Mike
Willerby, United Kingdom
22/04/2014

4/5 Read Review

Great hotel

Very nice hotel, staff faultless. great position. close to nearest tube.

Wendy
Worcester, United Kingdom
12/04/2014

5/5 Read Review

First class!

We needed just a one night stay as our son and daughter in law were running the london marathon. we were treated like regular and welcome guests. will definitely use this hotel again on our regular trips to london.

Christine
Cardiff, United Kingdom
28/03/2014

4/5 Read Review

March visit

Impressed with the hotel overall.we thought the food served at the hotel was excellent. had a great singapore meal there one night and the breakfast was very good with good service, plenty of choice etc. very good location too only a few minutes walk from the underground. only two minor issues- didn't have a bedside light one side of the bed which is a pain if one of you wants to read in bed.other minor issue was ventilation fan not working in the bathroom so it got very steamy.we reported the fault but it didn't get sorted during our weekend stay. didn't spoil the stay for us though and we would stay there again

Close

more

Maureen
Doncaster, United Kingdom
14/03/2014

4/5 Read Review

Lovely weekend

Lovely stay at this hotel would really recommend it

Gerry
Sunderland, United Kingdom
01/03/2014

5/5 Read Review

Weekend stay

My wife and l stayed the weekend in london to attend the capital cup final and the hotel meet our needs. it is centrally located with a tube station only two minutes away, check in fine and our superior room was large and had very comfortable bed. even though there was a queue for breakfast we only waited a couple of minutes to be seated. the only slight downside was at breakfast where we had to ask for a pot of tea for two rather than waiting for our cups to be refilled. but the choice food at breakfast was excellent.

Close

more

Keith
Andover, United Kingdom
21/02/2014

4/5 Read Review

Great for a london break

A modern hotel with excellent facilities. comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff. close to the tube and with on-site parking it is ideal for a london break. we were so impressed we have booked for our next stay in london

Sarah
Little Waltham, United Kingdom
21/02/2014

4/5 Read Review

Great once we had upgraded

The staff were very friendly and helpful at reception. we booked in for our adjoining twin and double room with our two sons age 19,17 unfortunately when we got to the room the double bed was very small and the room was fairly average. however, on going down to reception and saying that it was not really what we thought it would be they did upgrade our rooms for an extra £35 per room. we then had rooms with a spectacular view of london and several perks of evening drinks papers etc. we could have gone to the copthorne club lounge for breakfast because of our upgrade, but decided to go to the main dining room when the full english was really well done, and although it was busy it ran very efficiently.

Close

more

Sadie
Yeovil, United Kingdom
20/02/2014

4/5 Read Review

My stay with 5 years old daughter at copthorne hotel

Lovely hotel. central location and good service. enjoyed lavish breakfast. lovely little gym. rooms are dated and not as you would expect at 4star hotels but room was clean and warm. enjoyed our day visiting science museum and natural history museum as both in walking disctance and the atmosphere of central london!!! would recommend.

Close

more

Fiona
Burton Latimer, United Kingdom
19/02/2014

4/5 Read Review

An overnight stay in south kensington

An excellent location for those booking an event at the albert hall

Vanessa
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
08/02/2014

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara hotel kensington

The rooms were very 'tired' and initially we were given a room which had had a smoker in however the front of house manager was fantastic and sorted everything out for us. which meant we had a great stay. booking company a nightmare though as i hadn't realised they were italian and they would only issue me paperwork in euros which has caused me mega problems as it was a business trip and my company are now making it difficult for me to claim the stay back! beware

Close

more

Sharon
Charlton, United Kingdom
29/01/2014

4/5 Read Review

Enjoyable saty

Have stayed at this hotel before, thats why we choose it. good location, nice staff, pleasant and professional.

Robert
Guildford, United Kingdom
27/01/2014

5/5 Read Review

A special birthday

This hotel is in a perfect location for site seeing, and was excellent value for money,

Julian
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
24/01/2014

5/5 Read Review

London trip

Hotel, staff, food, car parking, all superb, spotlessly clean and could not fault at all. the biggest problem we had was the excessive heat in the bedroom, with a window that only opened 2 inches i struggled to breathe properly. two occasions on the first night i had to go to the front foyer to get some air, met another guest with same compliant.

Close

more

John
Leics., United Kingdom
20/12/2013

4/5 Read Review

Great for the albert hall

Easy to find, quiet, comfortable room, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, good car park (£10 for 24 hours).

Paul
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
21/12/2013

5/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel

Excellent value for money at the special offer deal price.

Karen
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
22/11/2013

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break

Stayed here as going to royal albert hall. very handy for this. nice hotel with everything needed for a weekend break.

Sasan
Corby, United Kingdom
14/12/2013

3/5 Read Review

My recent stay

Room are in great need of new decor, heating system is old and does not work well overall hotel is over rated.

Andrew
Rainham, United Kingdom
12/12/2013

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel

Only stayed one night but a great place to stay, the bar was great and the food in the bar was standard food for a bar ? pub buy very nice.

Dorothy
Manchester, United Kingdom
05/12/2013

4/5 Read Review

Conference at the cothorne

Few problems on check in, booked two single rooms, nearly only got one!! room quite spacious with two single beds, bathroom with bath and shower. shower products quite nice. disappointed with the breakfast, all of the hot; bacon, egg and tomatoes were cold, not even luke warm. the meal we had in the restuarant was very nice.

Close

more

James
Bolton, United Kingdom
12/10/2013

3/5 Read Review

Albert hall visit

Stay fine in comfortable room, but why couldn't the breakfast be hot. tea was lukewarm and stewed, from jug not a fresh pot and all the 'hot' breakfast items were almost cold. toaster worked well!! same in the oriental restaurant side -- very tasty food but served on a cold plate.

Close

more

Carol
Folkestone, United Kingdom
06/09/2013

5/5 Read Review

My stay in london

The hotel was in the right location for our visit to london

Emma
Brecon, United Kingdom
08/09/2013

3/5 Read Review

Songs of praise

Good location for our needs - close to the albert hall and shops. disappointed with the room - advertised as superior room but appeared to be a single room with twin beds - no space between beds - not enough room to get into bed between bed and wall - just one bedside table - one glass in bathroom - no biscuits in room. breakfast adequate but didn't expect tea to be served in a flask - pot of tea would have been nice.

Close

more

Valerie
Warrington, United Kingdom
29/08/2013

4/5 Read Review

Birthday treat

As a birthday treat for my 13 year old grandaughter we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. it's location suited us perfectly, it was just minutes from kensington gardens, shops, restuarants and the tube station, we had a tasty full english breakfast which set us up for the day and dined in the brassiere in the evening and could'nt fault the sevice or food which was delicious. the room was clean and comfortable especially the bed. i would certainly use this hotel again and recommend it to others, as we both had a very enjoyable stay.

Close

more

Ian
Inverurie, United Kingdom
28/08/2013

5/5 Read Review

Nice stay in kensington

The copthorne tara is a decent hotel about a 5 minute walk from kensington high street. the transport links to the west end are great with the tube from high street kensington and buses at the top of the road run to the strand and oxford street. you are also not far from hyde park. the room had a small fridge but no safe and wi-fi is £10 for 24 hours which is a bit excessive considering most pubs have free wi-fi. the air-con is very effective and i'm sure it would be as effective as heating in the winter. all in all a good stay at a good price for london.

Close

more

John
Salisbury, United Kingdom
28/08/2013

5/5 Read Review

Great place to stay

We booked for a one night stay for a birthday treat for my wife. booked in at noon and went straight to our room. room was on the 5th floor , no trouble as their are six lifts. very quite a night . breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice.

Aileen
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
23/08/2013

5/5 Read Review

London weekend

This was our second stay at the copthorne tara,we enjoy the time we spent there. the rooms are comfortable, the linen clean , fresh towels daily. we had a problem one morning when we had no lights it was reported before breakfast and on returning to our room it had been delt with. we have had both a bar meal which was very nice and a restaurant meal which was delicious. the only down side was the price of the drinks , we thought they were a little expensive. we like the area the hotel is in ,it it very convenient for the underground and we would stay there again.

Close

more

Theresa
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
08/06/2013

5/5 Read Review

Great weekend stay in london

Excellent hotel with a very convenient location being right near the tube station and near some excellent shops (harrods especially). the breakfast was delicious and the service very good with all the staff being friendly and helpful. would definitely recommend staying here.

Close

more

Paul
Buntingford, United Kingdom
15/06/2013

3/5 Read Review

Really 4 star..?

The hotel could not be better positioned for kensington and the albert hall. it is also very close to the underground district line which runs behind the hotel and keeps you awake. the hotel is in need of some modernisation, our room was quite small, and could do with a refurbish. the reception staff were charming and very helpful, in strict contrast to the bar staff in the evening who were very rude. overall it is not a cheap hotel and it is very well positioned, but i would try another if i was going to stay in the area again.

Close

more

Kathy
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
08/06/2013

4/5 Read Review

Recent stay

We arrived earlier than expected, but our room was ready for us. reception staff were polite and courteous. the hotel was clean as was our room. it was conv enient for kensington high street and the royal albert hall. although the hotel was busy there was ample seating at breakfast and ample food. would definately return again.

Close

more

Melanie
Ovingham, United Kingdom
24/05/2013

5/5 Read Review

Great experience. great location

Superb location. staff from reception, waiting , hotel service staff to chambermaids were just about the most courteous helpful i have come across. couldn't have asked for better service . we were treat as " people" rather than customers . well done .

Close

more

Michael
Ilminster, United Kingdom
19/03/2013

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

It was a second visit to the copthorne tara and we were not disappointed. from check in to check out it was hassle free, very friendly reception staff. the breakfast was perfect and again the staff most helpful and attentive. although a little dated, the room was clean and comfortable and had everything in it needed for an overnight stay. thank you.

Close

more

Brian
Amsterdam, United Kingdom
04/11/2012

4/5 Read Review

During w.t.m.

excellent hotel in good location .

Sonia
Cadmore End, United Kingdom
11/10/2012

5/5 Read Review

Very good

Very pleased, been here before so know hotel. staff very friendly and helpful, used both restaurants - good food.

Malcolm
Keynsham, United Kingdom
04/10/2012

4/5 Read Review

Short stay in london

Hotel conveniently placed with local facilities and close to tube and bus routes

Christine
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
04/05/2012

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break

Great location for albert hall but room was noisy from guests smoking outside hotel reception until the early hours of the morning

Sharon
Rossendale, United Kingdom
03/09/2011

5/5 Read Review

Wonderful stay

We had a lovely time in this very swish hotel. very friendly, helpful staff and lovely food,

Jane
Dereham, United Kingdom
03/09/2011

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay for wedding

Didn't know what to expect but excellent for large standard city centre hotel. reception and housekeeping staff helpful and professional. room fine - good view of london skyline. wedding reception we attended was excellent - service, food, everything.

Close

more

Rachel
Ringwood, United Kingdom
31/03/2011

5/5 Read Review

Excellant

Stayed at this hotel for two nights great location clean and tidy breakfast was lovely would definately stay here again. one downfall the room was really warm.

William
Bedford, United Kingdom
18/03/2011

5/5 Read Review

Weekend break

We were made very welcome from the start of our stay. the hotel is only two minutes from high street kensington tube station which makes it easy to get into the west wnd to see a show. all the staff were very polite and helpful, the hotel reception, bars, cafe and restraunt were of a high standard. the buffet breakfast was a great start to the day and staff were very attentive. room was a little dated but very comfortable and clean. we would go again.

Close

more

David
New Polzeath, United Kingdom
19/03/2011

3/5 Read Review

Needs updating

Have stayed here for over twenty years, on and off, and the hotel rooms are now very "tired". bathrooms need updating urgently. location must be the only reason it's still busy.

Carole
Dudley, United Kingdom
16/03/2011

4/5 Read Review

Value for money

Good clean hotel location good breakfast excellent nice that u didnt have to go out of hotel for food nice chinese there this is my 2nd time there very good value for your money

Carol
Bristol, United Kingdom
03/03/2011

4/5 Read Review

Convenient location

Good value for money, room clean, breakfast excellent

Malcolm
Loughborough, United Kingdom
02/02/2011

5/5 Read Review

Fair value

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times and little chages which in a way is good. the rooms will need some updating within the next couple of years but for now still ok. i thought the drinks were expensive in the bar even for london. also while watching the football there was a lot of pressure to keep buying drinks.

Close

more

Frank
Penzance, United Kingdom
16/01/2011

4/5 Read Review

Tara hotel 3 day break

Have stayed at tara hotel before so knew what to expect. room clean and of good size, bed very comfy. bathroom a bit dated but functional. always try and get a room high up as train just past hotel. i think that in the 21 st century all hotels should have free wifi, at least in lobby or bar. tara charge £14 a day. if you need internet buy a dongle for £20. good location. carluccio has just opened a good cheapish italian restaurant 5 mins walk off the high st. all in all good hotel, try and book tru third party as much cheaper, make sure breakfast included. will stay again.

Close

more

Anna
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
26/11/2010

5/5 Read Review

Pleasant place to stay

My teenage daughter and i stayed at the copthorne tara for a weekend in november and both really enjoyed it. it is a very big hotel, but the service was personal and helpful, particularly when i had problems with internet access. it was in a good location for what we wanted to do, which was why we chose it, and we would both stay there again.

Close

more

Philip
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
12/11/2010

4/5 Read Review

A pleasure weekend

Excellent hotel, centrally located, quiet area, excellent food, obliging staff

Richard
London, United Kingdom
09/10/2010

3/5 Read Review

Mixed review

I booked two double rooms, one for my parents and one for my sister and partner. while they were pleased with the location and overall appearance of the hotel lobby, they had mixed reviews about their respective rooms. both rooms were a little shabby dated in decor and in need of upgrading. my sister was particulary dispointed as her room was much smaller and in a much worse state of repair. i think it's a case of hit and miss with this hotel and it should only be considered if you manange to secure a heafty discounted room rate.

Close

more

Susan
Brighouse, United Kingdom
15/10/2010

5/5 Read Review

Made our weekend

Excellent value for money.supurb location for all attractions, especially the royal albert hall, museums, and portabello road market.next to high street kensington tube station. staff were very helpful, rooms very clean and a good choice for breakfast. would use this hotel in the future.

Close

more

Michael
Boston, United Kingdom
07/09/2010

3/5 Read Review

Great for sightseeing

In a very convenient location with ample car parking, the copthorne tara hotel kensington was a good choice. we stayed two nights in september 2010, on a deal including bed and breakfast. one major gripe - you have to pay for adsl access in your room which seems somewhat outdated. the hotel reception area is large and modern, the restaurants are good and the prices reasonable. however, as other reviews have mentioned, the rooms are getting pretty tired and are in need of modernisation. they were clean and bed linen was fresh ( we were on a non smoking floor), but the carpet had clearly recently been shampooed where replacement would have been more appropriate. the shower curtain was old with rusty eyelets, and was inadequate for the powerful shower, making it impossible to shower without flooding the floor. we mopped the puddle up afterwards, but i am sure there would be many who would not. however, on the deal we had from hotelsclick, we were more than happy with our choice and would use this hotel again. i do find it surprising that the hotel still has whole floors where people are allowed to smoke in their rooms. as one would expect, these have a horrible smell of stale tobacco experienced in most hotels up until the smoking ban. had we paid full price from the hotel i think we would have complained about the decor. i hope that the hotel will undertake a redecorating and refitting programme soon.

Close

more

Joanne
Briston, United Kingdom
03/09/2010

5/5 Read Review

Hotel rating

Perfect for every need

Martyn
Cardiff, United Kingdom
19/08/2010

4/5 Read Review

City break

Good location for albert hall and for sightseeing. rooms a little tired but comfortable and clean. public areas were good.

Martyn
Cardiff, United Kingdom
19/08/2010

4/5 Read Review

Visit to the proms

Good position for royal albert hall and for west end

John
Ross-On-Wye, United Kingdom
03/08/2010

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara

Friendly staff, very comfortable bed and pillows. fancy bedside lamp in bedroom was not plugged in and there was no socket to do so. room comfortable, roomy and clean however there was a smell of 'damp dishcloths in the corridor which pervaded the room.

Close

more

Stanley
Essex, United Kingdom
04/07/2010

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara hotel, kensington

Great value for money in a fantastic location. very good for royal albert hall and holland park opera.

Lesley-ann
Rustington, United Kingdom
27/06/2010

5/5 Read Review

Excellent value

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely return. although the room was a little dated it was a decent size, very clean and the air conditioning was easy to control.

Kevin
Coates , Whittlesey, United Kingdom
12/06/2010

3/5 Read Review

Dated accomidation

First impression of hotel in the reception area very good then you check into your room and find them very dated and in need of refurbishment. the bathroom has a dated shower system you have to mix water temperature by hot and cold taps (not very h&s),also furnuture is dated and worn . the hotel bar and restaurant are very expensive , be careful you do not get overcharged for drinks like i did . will not use this hotel again as it was very overpriced for what you get

Close

more

Santanu
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
10/06/2010

4/5 Read Review

Overall good experience

The location of the hotel is great in zone 1 close to the underground which is great. my room was on the 10th floor which had good views. the problems were the wash basin did not have a mixer tap so either it was very hot or cold water. there was no exhaust in the toilet so the foul odour pervaded the air for a long time! there was no minibar in the room. the locks of the room wouldn't open and i had to walk all the way down to the reception twice before finally calling the security. english breakfast was good but very expensive £16 per person. however, booking through hotelsclick.com saved me some money. overall, i will recommend this place.

Close

more

Carol
Bristol, United Kingdom
08/06/2010

4/5 Read Review

Value for money

Convenient location great breakfast beginning to look a bit shabby

Stephen
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
22/05/2010

4/5 Read Review

Real value for money hotel

Plush entrance and reception was very quick and efficient.our room was a standard double,clean and tidy and nice powerful shower.iron and ironing board hairdryer and extra towels. nice comfy bed and we were there on a hot night so the air conditioning was a plus.

Close

more

Charlotte
Ipswich, United Kingdom
13/05/2010

4/5 Read Review

Big tara

Very big hotel, so some queuing inevitable, though the staff were obviously very used to dealing with the large numbers. excellent service at dinner.

Sylvia
Riseley Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
08/04/2010

4/5 Read Review

Local to royal albert hall

We looked for a comfortable, affordable hotel in kensington for a one night stay. the tara copthorne fitted this bill, and as we know the copthorne in brierley hill we were aware of the standard.our stay although short did not dissapoint,

Lorraine
Bathgate, United Kingdom
27/02/2010

4/5 Read Review

Maid service leaves a lot to be desired!

I had booked a twin room but only one glass was left in the bathroom. after the first night, the empty glasses and wine chiller had not been taken out of our room which is what i would have expected for a hotel of this star rating. rubbish that had been left on the floor was still on the floor after the maid service! otherwise, good location and decent sized room.

Close

more

Christina
Oswestry, United Kingdom
16/02/2010

3/5 Read Review

You're paying for the postcode!

This hotel is not a 4 star for the rooms! bathroom stank of drains and wa cramped and tired! everything else ok! an expensive waste of time. spend your money on a real 4 star!

B
Bracknell, United Kingdom
30/01/2010

2/5 Read Review

Never again

Hotel claimed not to have received the booking from hotelsclick, so check in took 1.5 hours and was not a pleasant experience with rude and patronising staff all the way up the chain. they offered a room upgrade to club - i hate to see what the state of standard room is like! room and bathroom temperature were extremely high and no thermostat to turn down or opening windows - it was like a sauna. room facilities were non existent (minibar empty, old tv that barely worked with very poor picture and the most limited choice of channels, trouser press had been pulled off the wall). breakfast was included and pre-paid. yet, the restaurant manager tried to throw us out because he said we had not paid.

Close

more

Robin
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
27/01/2010

5/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara jan 2010

Have stayed here several times, usually in a club room. rooms are very tidy and hotel is quiet which is essential for business travel i find. the heating/cooling system is air based from blowers and very old. in the summer it was unbearable. i find location is excellent for the west end with plenty of shopping on the door step. the car park is also extremely useful travelling into west london. the price that hotelsclick achieved was the only reason i stayed here this time

Close

more

Anna
London, United Kingdom
25/07/2009

5/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara kensington

Great hotel in a great location. staff were very helpful and nice. rooms were clean and reasonable size. can be hard to find a reliable central london hotel for a reasonable price. this is one of them. 2 minutes from high street kensington, the tube and hyde park.

Close

more

Brenda
Glasgow, United Kingdom
06/03/2009

4/5 Read Review

Great london break at copthorne

Hotel was great - only hitch was when checking in - not impressed by receptionists - when asking for twin rooms together they said ok but come back at 3pm when we did so two rooms one on 1st floor and other on 7th floor - we eventually asked for the manager and he sorted things out and we were happy with our rooms on 4th floor together - otherwise breakfast great and other staff also very good

Close

more

Carol
Bristol, United Kingdom
24/09/2008

4/5 Read Review

As good as ever

I have stayed several times and it has always been pleasant

Carol
Bristol, United Kingdom
13/05/2008

4/5 Read Review

Comfortable and convenient hotel

The hotel was excellent though shame there was such a long check-out time

Stephen
Colchester, United Kingdom
28/03/2008

5/5 Read Review

Night at the albert hall

Hotel was chosen for its location in relationship to the albert hall.with one member of our party in a wheelchair the staff,parking and service couldn't have been better.excellent stay and we will be back.

Nichola
Oxon, United Kingdom
26/02/2008

5/5 Read Review

Copthorne tare

It was an excellant hotel and the service was first class the booking process was easy and helpful and the cost fantastic i will be using this site again for hotels

Malcolm
Loughborough, United Kingdom
30/01/2008

4/5 Read Review

London feb 2008

Good value in a good location. hotel of choice when in london

Karen
Halifax, United Kingdom
08/01/2008

4/5 Read Review

Copethorne tara jan 2008

Pricey like all london hotels but good location and clean warm and very comfortable.

Kevin
South Shields, United Kingdom
19/10/2007

3/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara feedback

The hotel appears to be of a high standard, but has hidden problems. my room was 1021, situated with a underground trainline directly below the widow. trains run until 1.00am and start again at 5.30am. managed no sleep. also room 1023, for over 1 hr fom 1.15am the people who occupied the room had a domestic, and became very irate and aggresive. once again was unable to sleep. the fridge motor in the room stopped and started all night, the noise prevented me from sleeping. what a night to remember.

Close

more

Barbara
Carnforth, United Kingdom
09/09/2007

5/5 Read Review

Nice location

Good hotel, good location

Lisa
Loughborough, United Kingdom
19/07/2007

5/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara

Hotel staff were incredibly helpful, especially when the car park flooded! would definitely use this hotel again.

Eric
Leeds, United Kingdom
11/07/2007

5/5 Read Review

Lovely hotel - terrible bed

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. everything was top class except the bed. it desperately needed a new mattress. it had an indentation in the middle which was very uncomfortable when there were two people in the bed. having said that i would usethe hotl again hoping that the mattress had been upgraded.

Close

more

Darran
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
09/07/2007

4/5 Read Review

2 days in london

This hotel is looking tired in the rooms showing lots of signs of heavy use, everything was clean and tidy. evn with double glazing all rooms were noisy with the tube just out the back. the breakfast sitting was very over crowded with no room between tables even for the staff & you had to constantly ask for tea/coffee toast etc rather than staff bring it over.

Close

more

Richard
Birmingham, United Kingdom
11/04/2007

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara

My girlfriend and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it to be ideal for a city break. it was near to the main stations and tube and the centre could be reached by an hours walk. the room was fine and clean and the reception was very helpful.

Close

more

Terence
Merseyside, United Kingdom
01/04/2007

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara

Great location for tube yet quiet at night. godd facilities. bar area will be better when smoking ban is introduced.

Rebecca
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
22/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

One night quick stay

This hotel was fine for what we wanted we spent little time in the hotel. location was central, continental breakfast was good. the rooms were fine if the bathroom was a little dated. all in all for the money a good nights stay.

Ian
Arundel, United Kingdom
22/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

Copthorne tara - kensington

For a london hotel - this was reasonable and the room size ample. if you get the choice ask for a front facing room over the hotel entrance as the other rooms back on to the underground line, and were a bit noisy early morning. rooms have a fridge which was nice. bathrooms were a bit dated

Close

more

Alyson
Heol Wyllt ,Pontarddulais, United Kingdom
28/02/2007

3/5 Read Review

Overnight stay copthorne tara

Good location , convenient for shops + tube. staff helpfull + friendly.continental breakfast good. good view from hotel window. everywhere very clean . could not get heating in our room to work and insufficient towels .dripping tap in another family members room.

Close

more

Joanne
Briston, United Kingdom
05/02/2007

5/5 Read Review

My stay at the tara

A truly fantastic hotel right in the heart of the city. good accomodation, food and service.

Frances
Norwich, United Kingdom
18/01/2007

5/5 Read Review

Excellent stay at copthorne tara

I have stayed here on three visits to london and have always been delighted with the hotel. everything from room to food and service is excellent. i highly recommend it.