HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel Alexander Thomson

3 Stars

  320 Argyle Street, G2 8LY , Glasgow

Hotel ALEXANDER THOMSON A buffet breakfast is available and all rooms have a private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception desk are also available.High ceilings and large windows are some of the original features that are included in the hotel. Guests can relax in the traditionally decorated lounge area. More Details Hotel Alexander Thomson

Book

  • Vote 3.7/5 3.7/5
  • Stay 3.5/5 3.5/5
  • Price 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Rooms 3.3/5 3.3/5
  • Location 4.4/5 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness 3.6/5 3.6/5
  • Reception 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Services 3.5/5 3.5/5
  • Business Services 1.8/5 1.8/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Hazel
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
21/04/2017

5/5 Read Review

Great location

Location good for train stations, football, secc, city centre excellent value for money clean tidy spacious room breakfast that even fussy eaters would enjoy. tea coffee, water and biscuits in room

Anthony
United Kingdom
08/04/2017

5/5 Read Review

Alex t

Presumably named after one of glasgow's main architects, alex greek thomson, this hotel with its mackintosh features is tremendous value in every way. central to the city and handy for all the business and tourist matters. very comfortable with excellent staff, it provides one of the best breakfasts you will ever see. highly recommended.

Close

more

Tom
United Kingdom
11/02/2017

5/5 Read Review

First stay

First time at the hotel but won't be our last

John
Fort William, United Kingdom
15/02/2013

4/5 Read Review

Central location; good price

Hotel is conveniently located on argyle street, very close to central station. in spite of this, we found the room to be very quiet - we stayed over the weekend. plenty of pubs & restaurants nearby. room was perfectly adequate. buffet-style breakfast was good.

Close

more

Sheila
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
01/02/2013

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break

Great location for going between the secc and shopping. friendly staff and clean rooms.

John
Wallasey, United Kingdom
11/09/2012

3/5 Read Review

One night stay

Hotel basic and tired.location very good.bar sevice poor no draught beer only cans offered.breakfast adequate, could easily be improved upon with little effort and imagination.during shower water stopped both hot and cold did not come back on. burnt cover on bed

Close

more

Stephen
Greenock, United Kingdom
01/09/2012

4/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

Great location food was good only thing was the toaster a little slow the accomadtion was really good will be back shortly

Andrew
Poole, United Kingdom
01/10/2011

4/5 Read Review

Second stay

This was my second stay at this hotel good value for money and very good breakfast close to central railway station and airport shuttle bus stop. will use the hotel again.

Amanda
Thurso, United Kingdom
25/03/2011

4/5 Read Review

Value for money

Very good value for your money and the location was excellant,rooms were comfortable and breakfast was very good and plenty of selection.

Kenneth
Stevenston, United Kingdom
21/08/2010

4/5 Read Review

Overnight stay

I was a bit wary of booking this hotel as i had heard previous bad reports about the condition of the rooms and also the type of clientel that use it. i must say i was pleasantly surprised by the room i was allocated it was large with two standard sized beds well furnished and with a large flat screen tv on the wall, the bathroom was also quite big with a shower over the bath. had to wait for about ten minutes in the morning for breakfast as the hotel was full and everybody seemed to have gone at the same time. however it was worth waiting for as it was a help yourself buffet with all the usual cereals and cooked breakfast items. very friendly staff , will definitely use this hotel again if the price is right

Close

more

Michael
Cramlington, United Kingdom
18/06/2010

4/5 Read Review

Good value

Hotel situated next to central station within easy reach of the centre of glasgow. the hotel rooms are basic but clean. the staff were friendly and very attentive. very good breakfast.

Claire
Perth, United Kingdom
12/06/2010

5/5 Read Review

Third stay at alexander thomson

This is the third time we have stayed in the hotel, and each time we can't quite believe it is such great value for money. the location is superb, very central and great for any aspect of glasgow life. the staff are always so helpful and the breakfasts are amazing. there was only one point about our stay, the room was very warm and the windows were very heavy. if i had not been with my partner i would not have been able to open the windows. i will definately continue to use this hotel when i visit glasgow.

Close

more

Ian
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
19/11/2009

3/5 Read Review

Glasgow visit - november 2009

Room was small. it had one chair for a double room with two occupants. i requsted anothr chair from reception but this was not provided. there was no shaving point in the room which was unusual. unfortunately some of the guests were a little rowdy and we were wakened on three of our four nights by individuals talking loudly as they passed in the corridor on their way to their rooms. there was also a lot of traffic on argyle street throughout the night.

Close

more

Sephen
St Mgt's Hope, United Kingdom
07/10/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great value

This hotel is near the main shopping area, a very clean, comfortable and well run hotel with excellent breakfast facilities and friendly, accommodating staff. does not provide evening meals, but loads of eating establishments very close by. we had a very enjoyable stay and will certainly be back.

Close

more

Janette
Dingwall, United Kingdom
18/08/2009

3/5 Read Review

Confused and disappointed

After reading the wonderful reviews and looking at the spectacular photographs online, i was most disappointed at the condition of the hotel, which is still being renovated although the website did state that all renovations had just been completed. the lovely picture of the executive double room was nothing like the pit i had for an executive double room, which was tiny. the hotel felt more like a student hostel than a 3 star hotel and my cooked scottish breakfast was cold. i am utterly confused as to how the website could be permitted to advertise such false information. i was almost hoping that the hotel had lost my booking or were double booked so that i could take my business to the radisson across the road.

Close

more

John
Coventry, United Kingdom
25/07/2009

4/5 Read Review

Visit to gods country

Great breakfast although the rooms were not up to the same standard. have stayed here three times now and at the prices they charge it is value for money accommadation.

Mary
Tarbolton, United Kingdom
13/06/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel

Stayed at this hotel a few times as it is convenient and central very close to the train station, always value for money, staff very helpful, rooms clean, cooked breakfast included in price.

Barry
Kings Lynn, United Kingdom
03/06/2009

2/5 Read Review

First time at alexander thompson

Arrived at hotel and immediately could see that it was in need of a paint over. drab interior, tired carpets. reception gave me key and told me which floor room was on, what they forgot to tell me was how to lock room up when leaving it!! room was a good size but only a thin see through curtain in bathroom with offices overlooking me. toilet bowl cracked. carpet in room full of capet fluff. carpet was never swept in all 3 nights as bits laid there from day 1 and accumulated! breakfast area very drab and in need of refurbishment.

Close

more

Karen
Limavady, United Kingdom
28/10/2008

5/5 Read Review

Happy holidays

Staff are pleasant & helpful, rooms are clean and spacious, price is good, breakfast is warming & copious.

Wiliam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
15/10/2008

5/5 Read Review

Glasgow on the cheap

Hotel needed a bit of tlc dining room a bit drab but room was spotless staff very helpfull food well breakfast very nice very fresh would definatly book again

Jane
St Albans, United Kingdom
22/05/2008

4/5 Read Review

Staying in glasgow

Room was spacious and there was a large bathroom with bath and shower (over the bath) which was great for us with a 4 year old. the double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together, which is fine, but the bed linen seemed sized for a regular double bed which meant that it just stretched edge to edge, but nothing tucked in. our daughter's single bed was fine. our wake up call failed to arrive at all, so it was lucky we woke up on our own! breakfast was standard fare and the hotel had a pleasant old world feel without any of the grubbiness that sometimes goes along with that. hotel had a lift which was useful for us with heavy suitcases. reception staff freindly and helpful. hotelsclick got us a great price on our room. i would definitely book through them again (much cheaper than the prices advertised behind the reception desk in the lobby).

Close

more

Arumai
Norwich, United Kingdom
20/02/2008

5/5 Read Review

Memorable stay at the hotel

Mr tolmie absolutely loves it and recommends it to everyone

Craig
Dunbar, United Kingdom
14/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

Valentines after babyshambles gig

My partner and i stayed here after a gig at the barrowland. we found the hotel very handy for location, price over the net was good and the staff were very polite and helpful. shower was excellent and the en suite was in very good condition and looked new. the room was a bit dated and the shutters were a hassle. the bed was comfy and the room was warm

Close

more

Terry
Matlock, United Kingdom
29/01/2008

4/5 Read Review

February 2008

Excellent central location basic rooms - which are slowly being brought up to standard room tv's not good no power outlets in lounge for laptops etc friendly attentive service & reception fair buffet breakfast overall good lcoation and value for money at lower end of cost stay scale

Close

more

Karen
Limavady, United Kingdom
29/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Hallowe'en holiday trip

Found this hotel on the internet in 2006 & stayed for three nights with my mother, husband & teenage daughter. location was excellent - near train station, good restaurants and shopping centre. i really liked the art deco stle. returned this year with same group and chose this hotel again. price is good & staff are polite & helpful. lift was essential for my mum. daughter loved the horse posters in her room.

Close

more

Karen
Limavady, United Kingdom
29/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Hallowe'en holiday trip

Found this hotel on the internet in 2006 & stayed for three nights with my mother, husband & teenage daughter. location was excellent - near train station, good restaurants and shopping centre. i really liked the art deco stle. returned this year with same group and chose this hotel again. price is good & staff are polite & helpful. lift was essential for my mum. daughter loved the horse posters in her room.

Close

more

Peta
Kingston Upon Thames, United Kingdom
22/10/2007

3/5 Read Review

Alexander thompson

The hotel was very basic. in general there was a very unkempt feeling about the place - it may seem like a minor detail, but the net curtains were black with dirt, the shower was eratic and the tv didn't have reception. even though it is at the lower end of the price bracket, a certain level of visitor experience should be maintained.

Close

more

Merriman
Swansea, United Kingdom
08/06/2007

4/5 Read Review

Hotel alexander thompson

Room a bit basic, shower didn't work and had to ask for a plug for the bath. i had clean towels everyday and the bed was very comfortable. staff friendly and helpful - although there were a few language dificulties with some who didn't seem to understand much english, and the breakfast was fine, reasonable choice of hot and cold foods. the location worked well for me as it was very close to shops and the station. the price was reasonable.

Close

more

Nicholai
Chester, United Kingdom
05/05/2007

3/5 Read Review

Not bad, not good

After making the booking i realised i had booked the wrong room. called the hotel to amend the room and was told it had been sorted. when we got there it had not... short chat with reception and it was all okay. must say never tried the breakfast as it finished at a daft time in the morning before we had the chance to get down there. ignore the room picture in the above photo, rooms do not look anything like that picture. what you pay for is what you get, cheap n cheerful. road was very noisy could really do with double glazing.

Close

more

Janice amy
Irvine, United Kingdom
18/05/2007

4/5 Read Review

Was fine, though could have been better!

The alexander thomson hotel was in a great central location, right beside shops,bars and local attractions. due to its location, you should expect traffic noise, so it wouldn't be ideal for a family. the shower curtain was mouldy, as were some of the tiles, but apart from that, everything else was clean and fresh towels given every morning. breakfast was excellent too! for its price and being so central, i would definately recommend it!

Close

more

Pete
Maidstone, United Kingdom
17/01/2007

3/5 Read Review

Alexander thompson

Plain and simple hotel right in centre of glasgow room was clean and made up every day even though i slept in late and missed breakfast most days. breakfast adequate for a hard days sightseeing though. i'll definitely be staying there again next year.

Close

more