Gabon Hotels

Choose where to sleep in Gabon: among available hotels

Gabonese Republic or Gabon, is a nation of west central Africa. It borders on Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo and the Gulf of Guinea. Since its independence from France on August 17, 1960, the Republic has been ruled by only two autocratic Presidents; the incumbent El Hadj Omar Bongo has been in power since 1967 and is currently (2006) Africa's longest-serving Head of State. Gabon introduced a multiparty system and a new democratic constitution in the early 1990s that allowed for a more transparent electoral process and for reforms of governmental institutions. A small population, abundant natural resources, and foreign private investment have helped make Gabon one of the more prosperous countries in the region.

Motto: Union, Travail, Justice Anthem: La Concorde Capital Libreville 0°30′ N 9°32′ E Largest city Libreville Official language(s) French Government President Prime Minister Republic Omar Bongo Jean Eyeghe Ndong Independence From France August 17, 1960 Area - Total - Water (%) 267,667 km² (74th) 103,319 mi² Negligible Population - July 2005 est. - [[As of |]] census - Density 1,389,201 (152nd) 5.2/km² (183rd) 13.4/mi² GDP (PPP) - Total - Per capita 2005 estimate $8.031 billion (145th) $5,800 (84th) HDI (2003) 0.635 (123rd) – medium Currency CFA franc (XAF) Time zone - Summer (DST) (UTC+1) (UTC) Internet TLD .ga Calling code +241.

Gabon is divided into nine provinces and further divided into 37 departments. Gabon is located on the Atlantic coast of central Africa. Located on the equator, between latitudes 3°N and 4°S, and longitudes 8° and 15°E. There are three distinct regions: the coastal plains, the mountains and the savanna in the east.