HotelsClick.com

Reviews Hotel The Principal London

5 Stars

  1-8 Russell Square, WC1B 5BE, London

Hotel THE PRINCIPAL LONDON The Principal London boasts marble areas with high ceilings, elegant chandeliers and lavish decorations. The Tempus Bar & Restaurant welcomes guests with a wide selection of beers, wines, cocktails, champagne or afternoon teas and of course great food for lunches. More Details Hotel The Principal London

Book

  • Vote 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Stay 4.1/5 4.1/5
  • Price 4/5 4/5
  • Rooms 3.8/5 3.8/5
  • Location 4.6/5 4.6/5
  • Cleanliness 4.4/5 4.4/5
  • Reception 4.2/5 4.2/5
  • Services 3.9/5 3.9/5
  • Business Services 3/5 3/5
View only reviews from

 Guests' Reviews

Derek
United Kingdom
07/01/2016

4/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Great hotel, good location.two minutes to underground, good breakfast clean room. would stay here again.

Mary ann
United Kingdom
19/12/2015

4/5 Read Review

Great location

I stayed here for one night the weekend before christmas. it was the perfect location for shopping. the hotel was very busy, which was to be expected, given the size of the hotel and the time of year. however, it meant the bar was too busy to get a seat in so we left for a nearby pub. breakfast was a buffet. i thought it would be waitress service but i think the hotel is just too large to offer this. the room was adequate but it was a 'standard' room so it was small. i did think it was odd to have the bed behind the door but it was very quiet despite being on the first floor and there being wedding on at the hotel.

Close

more

Sara
United Kingdom
15/12/2015

5/5 Read Review

Superb customer service

As this was a special occasion i had asked about upgrades and the hotel was extremely accommodating making this all the more special for us. breakfast was a huge variety to choose from and prices in the cafe/bar reasonable and home made.

Colin
United Kingdom
10/12/2015

5/5 Read Review

Overnight stay for xmas shopping

Last minute trip to london for xmas shopping. perfect location for transport links north (kings cross and euston), and for covent garden/west end shopping. good price on a very nice room - we were upgraded to a junior suite. all the services you need to a really nice stay, in a good hotel with a bit of history. what more do you want?! the only thing i could come up with was nicer coffee at breakfast. a minor quibble.

Close

more

Kenneth
Bolton, United Kingdom
01/12/2015

4/5 Read Review

Business dec 01 2015

The hotel has seen better days and is a little bit tired. reception is efficient and breakfast substantial. i would recommend that you ask for a room at the back of the building as the front and side can be noisy with traffic. the bar is open late but is very expensive, and there is a pub round the back. overall decent value for the price in london.

Close

more

Susan
United Kingdom
02/12/2015

3/5 Read Review

Luxurious facade but poor room

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it is a very fine building with a grand feel. this time however i was very disappointed with my room which was small, dingy and very dark. it was impossible to work in that room as there was no light that allowed one to read etc.

Close

more

Huw
United Kingdom
26/11/2015

4/5 Read Review

Great location lots of character.

Best cooked breakfast every, very tasty. lovely reception area with plenty of atmosphere. staff very welcoming and helpful. room nice but smaller than expected. shower very disappointing, needed replacing.

Richard
United Kingdom
28/11/2015

4/5 Read Review

Greast location, excellent service

Friendly efficient staff, room a touch dated, but everything clean, comfortable and functioning - also nice and quiet, despite being very busy. very impressed with the breakfast.

Paul
Mayfield, United Kingdom
21/12/2011

5/5 Read Review

The russell at christmas

A return visit to a perfectly pleasant grand dame of a hotel located in an ideal neighbourhood for exploring all london has to offer.

Lorraine
Dunston, Gateshead,, United Kingdom
27/11/2010

3/5 Read Review

Hotel russell, russell square - 27th nov

My mother & i stayed here 27/28th nov. not a pleasant experience. could have been time of year, wedding party etc., but our twin room was substituted with 2 singles, no where near each other, so i complained. we got another 2 singles, next door to each other, very small and slightly drab. previous guests completed "questionnaire" propped up on my bed!!! room very noisey from street below. lounge area chaotic because of wedding party (very drunk). breakfast ok, but alot of food just "luke-warm" although staff very pleasant and helpful. to behonest for a 4* i expected better, and wont be returning here!

Close

more

John
Balerno, United Kingdom
22/10/2010

4/5 Read Review

Russell stay

Good location - rooms fine - could offer more accomodation for breakfast

Simon
London, United Kingdom
17/10/2010

4/5 Read Review

Good value

We stayed at the russell because our friends were holding their wedding there. hotelsclick had the best price we could find but we weren't treated like inferior guests as you can be sometimes when booking indirectly at discount. room was nice if a bit small bathroom was also nice. hotel was comfortable and breakfast was also good. overall a big thumbs up.

Close

more

Beryl
Bridlington, United Kingdom
14/10/2010

4/5 Read Review

Busy break

The russell is a very pleasant, but busy hotel. all the staff were friendly, expecially the young lady in the bar, who offered us guidance about food choices and recommended afternoon tea. it is a well place hotel for bars and restaurants and many attractions are within walking distance, expecially the excellent british museum. we were upgraded to an executive room which was very nice, modern, minimalist even, but lighting made reading and shaving difficult - too dim. i am impressed though as i have received a direct e-mail response to my feedback to the hotel.

Close

more

Louise
Tetbury, United Kingdom
09/10/2010

4/5 Read Review

Great location, great price

Third stay at the russell & it never disappoints. location is fantastic - easy walk to oxford st and covent garden. plenty of shops & restaurants near by. booked 2 twin rooms but ended up with 4 singles - didn't mind this option because it meant no bathroom queues! rooms were old-style (i.e. not refurbished but we saw those & they're very nice!)but still clean and comfortable with great bathrooms. breakfast was great - it was a busy sunday morning but there was plenty of choice and food was hot. had to request tea & toast but it was then delivered promptly. really don't think you can beat the russell for value - have stayed in the covent garden travelodge for roughly the same price & the russell wins hands down.

Close

more

Geoffrey
York, United Kingdom
01/10/2010

2/5 Read Review

Donot ask for low floor-if you get one wear earplugs

We stayed fri to sun and requested low floor as my wife does not like enclosure of conventional lifts ie we use stairs. we got room 152. the noise from the massive hotel air conditioning plant in the quadrangle outside our window was sleep depriving and seriously impaired our hotel experience. extra flights of stairs would have been exercise and worth it for 2 good nights sleep. good location and some impressive architecture in some public rooms and exterior. good choice for and hearty breakfast.(please note that our inability to recommend this hotel is based on this stay alone for the reasons stated ie. noise and resultant sleep deprivation).

Close

more

Laurie
Pool-In-Wharfedale, United Kingdom
01/10/2010

4/5 Read Review

Overnight at the russell hotel

Perfect location for my business meetings: close to tube, bus stops, restaurants, and green space at russell square.

Tina
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
24/09/2010

4/5 Read Review

Comfortable beds

I got this hotel as a deal 6 months in advance and would not have wanted to have paid more. the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable but unfortunately we had a room that faced the massive fans in the couryard and this kept us awake at night. my mother had a front facing room which was fine if compact! the breakfast was ok - actually the scrambled egg was lovely but getting toast was a bit of an effort! make sure you eat in the main dining room not the add on room! all in all good hotel and very convenient to where we wanted to go.

Close

more

Brian
Hornsea, United Kingdom
24/09/2010

4/5 Read Review

Short break

A very good hotel with easy access to public transport,both bus and tube. well trained staff and a comfortable feel to the hotel.

Celia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
04/09/2010

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Excellent hotal in every way

Elizabeth
Manchester, United Kingdom
04/09/2010

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel

I have stayed here a few times and have always been very pleased with the service. the staff are friendly and polite. the rooms are clean and the location is great, there is a tube station just around the corner and it is within walking distance of euston station. continental breakfast is included however they have always served full english. would dfinately recommend this hotel and the price from hotelclick was such a bargain.

Close

more

Lorraine
Wigan, United Kingdom
26/08/2010

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

Excellent location for getting out and about, good value for money. particular thanks to the concierge who looked after our bags prior to check in and pointed us in the right direction with a map.

Janice
York, United Kingdom
26/08/2010

4/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel great location

We stayed here for 2 nights 2 adults and 2 children and could not fault the hotel. rooms were lovely, buffet breakfast excellent but best of all was it was right next door to the underground, so did not have to carry the cases very far. it was only one stop from kings cross so easy to get where we needed could not fault this in any way other than if i was really picky the tv was not particularly good in the room but we were hardly in the room and had not gone to watch tv but to sight see. highly recommend.

Close

more

Patricia
Newtownstewart, United Kingdom
17/08/2010

4/5 Read Review

Fantastic stay in russell

Great stay fantastic location

Fiona
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
13/08/2010

5/5 Read Review

Very good central london option

Very good hotel in excellent location, close to tube and shopping. room was very clean and bathroom good size given the fact that london hotel rooms tend to be very small. just wish it had a gym - most hotels this size would have one. can get loud as windows aren't double glazed. not a problem for me but some people may want to bring ear plugs. would return again though.

Close

more

Helen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
29/07/2010

5/5 Read Review

A weekend away.

Excellent value,staff very welcoming and friendly.room very comfortable although a tad hot,could not turn of heated towel rail in bathroom.easy axcess around london.plenty of eating places close at hand.all in all a great place to stay.will use this hotel again.

Close

more

Michael
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
30/07/2010

3/5 Read Review

Weekend at the hotel russel

Recently stayed at the hotel which we had stayed before because of location rooms clean and tidy full english breakfast was appauling cold and the restaurant staff were so slow waited ten mins for a pot of tea then a nother 7 mins for the milk services was very poor on both days and to pay £19.50 per day for breakfast your are better of going to mcdonalds for a mcmuffin food was terrible

Close

more

Patricia
Sibford Ferris, United Kingdom
31/07/2010

5/5 Read Review

Girly weekend

I had booked 2 twin rooms, but on arrival there were none left. however, the duty manager was very helpful & polite & offered us a free round of drinks as well as a room upgrade. the rooms were superb, clean & tidy. would definitely stay again & recommend to friends/family. only criticism was no biscuits in room to go with tea & coffee.

Close

more

Kathleen
Dunfermline, Fife, United Kingdom
03/07/2010

4/5 Read Review

Beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful unfortunately the first room they gave us the air conditioning was not working, but after a phone call the receptionist asked us to leave our bags and first thing the next morning we would be moved while we were out sightseeing, all staff very helpful, breakfasts were wonderful.

Close

more

Ruth
Bristol, United Kingdom
10/07/2010

4/5 Read Review

Weekend at the russell hotel

Excellent room and service at a great price for central london. room was clean, bathroom large and it was also very quiet despite its location. rate included continental breakfast but it is all one big buffet so you could have cooked if you preferred at no extra charge.

Close

more

Margaret
East Cowes, United Kingdom
07/07/2010

4/5 Read Review

My review

The room was adequate and would have been a lot more comfortable had the weather not been so hot. however, i somehow missed out on breakfast - i understood that 'my colleage will bring you coffee or tea, and toast' but i never got the toast. i did not want a full english breakfast, nor did i want sugary pastries, and was happy to pay for a 'cold buffet' breakfast and just have toast. i could feel my blood sugar going down so went along the road and bought some breakfast in a shop and had an extremely expensive cup of coffee in the hotel restaurant.

Close

more

Rebecca
Lincoln, United Kingdom
03/07/2010

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Excellent- would recommend

Sharon
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
11/06/2010

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break

This was my third year to see the trooping of the colour and i stayed at the neighbouring hotel president on the last two occassions but decided to try the hotel russell this year as it looked very imposing from the outside .i was not disapointed as the interior was just as impressive and the service was excellent . i would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in london for a theatre weekend as it is in walking distance to the west end and also the tube station is just behind the hotel so travellingaround couldnt be easier.. will definately return again.

Close

more

Peter
Sheffield, United Kingdom
26/05/2010

2/5 Read Review

Peter herbert

Disappointing reception desk with 3 receptionists all dealing with the same guest while other guests waited in a growing queue. rooms are tiny and mine was on the 8th floor but the lifts only went to the 7th! the staircase from the 7th floor to the 8th was narrow and very awkward to negotiate with any luggage.

Close

more

Russell
Swindon, United Kingdom
28/05/2010

4/5 Read Review

Over night

The over view of the room was nice. i up graded at check in and was glad i did. although, the room was in need of some due care and attention in the very near future once i started to look at it more, having said that, you could argue that i'm being picky??

Close

more

Angela
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
10/04/2010

4/5 Read Review

Theatre break

Hi we arrived at 10am, knew we could not check in straight away, but 'uncle bernard' looked after our cases. 6 of us went to see sister act matinee and then came back at 6.15pm, only to be told that one of the three rooms was not ready, when at 10am were told they would be rady by 2.30pm. (minor blip, but we only had a 30 minute turnround before going out again) rooms big enough, but in need of refurbishment especially tv's. hotel fantastically located for walking to key areas like oxford street, theatre land, london eye and covent garden. (good job) as the picadilly line was closed on the sunday. hotel well organised for a lot of weekend visitors at breakfast time, using more than the main dining room. good choice of food available. this is a great looking hotel in a good location and certainly warrants it 4* standard. would definitely recommend to friends.

Close

more

Nick
Dorchester Dorset, United Kingdom
05/04/2010

5/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel

4th time we have stayed here over the years, some rooms tiny other quite spacious, room 228 a nice size for london, good breakfast, staff polite and particular, hotel clean and maid service excellent. prices in the hotel bar abit steep (but again it is london) overall great value for money,

Close

more

Christopher
Glasgow, United Kingdom
03/04/2010

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel london

Second visit in a year at the russell and enjoyed our stay just as much. very central for theatres and shopping and lovely traditional building. rooms are a good size and standard compared to most london hotels of similar or greater price.

Adrian
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
02/04/2010

5/5 Read Review

Staying at the hotel russell

Great location and excellent staff. breakfast was really good and reception staff helpful. our friends were given a poor room on the 8th floor and were upgraded for a small fee. double beds are a little small but the junior suite was nice. would go again.

Close

more

Paul
Maldon, United Kingdom
27/03/2010

5/5 Read Review

Weekend away

Can,t fault anything about the hotel. we only used it as a base while went to the theatre, and then clubbing. check in was good as was the room, room service and the breakfast, would without a doubt use this hotel again

Christopher
Orsett,Essex, United Kingdom
05/03/2010

3/5 Read Review

Where not to stay in london.

Overcrowded lack of staff at busiest times. dinner very average not worth £38 per head. breakfast was chaos. no staff on site bar used all available tables cluttered with dirty dishes coffee cold milk sour orange juice finished when one member of staff came into the room not to serve but to get something for the cnference next door she was told of the situation by other guests who were also fed up and her response was "well what do you expect me to do about it" after reporting the situation to the hotel the siyuation did not change and no member of staff came in to the room during my entire stay for breakfast. guests came in and then left as there was no service and little of anything to be had. frankly i find this totally unacceptable especially from a so called 4 star hotel and the price they charge. i have e mailed the hotel direct but as of now have not received any response. the hotel was so busy with a conference that ordinary guests seem to be ignored.

Close

more

Angela
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
21/02/2010

5/5 Read Review

The russell hotel

I cannot believe the value that we got for this beautiful hotel. i would definately stay there again and would recommend it for business and pleasure. n.b. your voucher stated continental breakfast but there was no diferentiation and the price included full english.

Close

more

David
Leicester, United Kingdom
19/02/2010

4/5 Read Review

Convenient and comfortable, but a bit a bit past its best

We stayed at the russell for a long weekend break. its convenient location meant that most of the places we wanted to visit were within walking distance. we got a good deal through hotelsclick, made better by a cheap upgrade to a suite offered by the hotel. the hotel has a faded gentility charm. the rooms have been refurbished in a very modern style that is a little out of keeping. but they are clean and comfortable. breakfast is a bit of a scrum, but the food is ok. with so many decent restaurants within walking distance, we didn't eat in the hotel.

Close

more

Laurie
Pool-In-Wharfedale, United Kingdom
17/02/2010

5/5 Read Review

Location, convenience, nice rooms

Another great stay at the russell hotel!

Peter
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
12/02/2010

5/5 Read Review

Hotel 3 night stay and shows

Stayed here weekend of 12th feb.2010. 1st room allocated looked onto the back of the hotel and the single glazed sash window was stuffed at the top with tissue to stop noice etc. reported to reception but nothing was done. came back that night at midnight complained and upgraded to 7th floor junior suite which was excellent. buffet breakfast was busy and had to queue as valentine weekend however the food was excellent. really central for the west end shows and able to walk to everything. tube at russell square about hundred yards away. also easy access walking to all central rail stations.

Close

more

Caroline
Wilden, United Kingdom
02/02/2010

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Some confusion at reception as we arrived separately however from then on everything was excellent comfortable and convenient room wonderful staircase and restaurant great choice at breakfast very pleased to be able to leave our luggage for a few hours after checking out

Close

more

Michael
Leicerter, United Kingdom
30/01/2010

4/5 Read Review

Hotel review

Very pleased with the overall experience. rooms very nice, staff friendly and helpful and breakfast great

Teresa
Cardiff, United Kingdom
22/01/2010

5/5 Read Review

London calling!

Hotel russell - great location and friendly staff.  spent extra on the superior twin room which was worth it for the view of the park and super big, comfy beds. fair price for services and location offered in central london. only complaint - no bath robes but good sized towels!

Close

more

Paul
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
15/01/2010

4/5 Read Review

Tired russell hotel

This hotel was probably once very grand & beautiful, but now the decor is tired & it is in need of a make over! location was ideal, room was average & the breakfast was poor. there was chaos at breakfast & we got bored of cold toast & queues! probably wouldn't stop at this hotel again

Close

more

Sean
Corby, United Kingdom
31/12/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great holiday

Very good hotel ex location room clean hotel clean very good breakfast cannot fault hotel thanks for stay very enjoyeble.

Beryl
Accrington, United Kingdom
28/12/2009

5/5 Read Review

Xmas break

A nice hotel in an excellent location, being within walking distance of euston station and the west end. the room was rather small, but nicely furnished and clean with everything in working order. staff were helpful and freindly.

Victoria
Sunderland, United Kingdom
11/12/2009

5/5 Read Review

Thumbs up

Excellent. we upgraded our room for a very reasonable price

Dave
Sheffield, United Kingdom
26/11/2009

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel review

Excellent hotel. breakfast was one of the best i have had in a london hotel. nothing to dislike.

Jane
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
26/11/2009

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

Room lovely overlooking the suare but a bit chilly and i couldn't get the heating to work

Allan
Chester, United Kingdom
23/11/2009

5/5 Read Review

Very satisfied customer

I have stayed at the hotel russell before and on each visit i have been very impressed by the hotel. it is well situated for access to the british museum and university of london as well as the bma headquarters. the hotel offers quiet well organised accommodation and all the facilities that i require for a short stay in london. in addition, the buffet breakfast is the best i have had in a london hotel!

Close

more

Alex
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
14/11/2009

5/5 Read Review

November stay

A beautiful,grande building,must rank along side any of london's many architectural delights. the main entrance is a sight to behold, all marble and sweeping staircase seemingly unchanged since its victorian heyday. our room was spacious, airy and spotlessly clean. however like many grande old dames the russell is in need of a face lift,the lack of double glazing made the almost constant flow of emergency service vehicles seem like they were shortcutting through our room. some of the facilities didnt work and the lack of storage space would have made a long stay a bit tricky. the staff at the russel were a pleasure to deal with, they were friendly and helpful,from the reception staff to the concierge and all dining staff we were treated with courtesy and warmth.

Close

more

Michael
Christchurch, United Kingdom
02/09/2009

4/5 Read Review

Business stay

Ideal overnight stay but at the price paid rather than the rack rate!

Pauline
Lincoln, United Kingdom
29/08/2009

5/5 Read Review

Anniversary celebration

We found this hotel excellent, clean, friendly staff, continental breakfast excellent. we found the prices of the meals to eat in very expensive, but there were plenty of places to eat within walking distance, quite good prices.location for tube station only round corner. fantastic marbel staircase. would go again.

Close

more

James
Glasgow, United Kingdom
17/08/2009

5/5 Read Review

Recommended !!!

Room clean. very good choice at breakfast. 15 minute walk from theatres. 2 minute walk to subway. will use hotel again.

Diane
Swansea, United Kingdom
26/08/2009

5/5 Read Review

2 night stay

Excellent location with the tube line less than a minute away. staff were friendly and very helpful. the hotel itself was very grand and spacious.

Alistair
Grimsby, United Kingdom
11/08/2009

3/5 Read Review

Disappointed

Having stayed here 2 wks ago we were looking forward to our return. we stayed in a standard room last time and it was very good. we were offered an upgrade for £20 a night and took up the offer. what a disappointment the room was. the room was decorated in contemporary style but overall it looked 'tired'. tv wasnt working properly - it was reported to reception but nothing was done about it. the bathroom was small and poor - cracked times, a sink where i couldnt get any hot water out of the tap, a shower with no shelf to put soap etc on., too close to the outside lift (noise). we had a bar snack and the chips were cold on arrival - they were replaced after a 10 min wait. overall a very disappointing stay - i certainly wouldn't upgrade there again.

Close

more

Brian
Benfleet, United Kingdom
07/08/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great getaway

Extremely convenient for the west end (one/two stops on the tube), opposite a pleasant park and convenient for the british museum. re-vamped brunswick shopping and eating is great; my wife loved it (my wallet didn't). when we want to get away we'll come back to the russell; friendly staff, beautiful building, good food.

Close

more

Anne
Newry, United Kingdom
17/07/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel

Very friendly hotel with lovely staff. felt very safe in this hotel as i was on my own on business. great location and would certainly recommend.

Susanne
Burntwood, United Kingdom
11/07/2009

5/5 Read Review

Great location

A great hotel that offers extremely comfortable rooms containing everything you need. the breakfast was absolutely delicious with a constant supply of food being displayed.

Cathy
St Saviour, Jersey, United Kingdom
04/07/2009

5/5 Read Review

Good vlaue for money @ russell

We stayed one night at the russell and it was practically next door to the tube station which was great. we found the size of room on the small side as we like a bit of space but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable in evey other way. the tv was fuzzy but we were not in the room very long at all so it didnt bother us really although still annoying. breakfast was included in our room price and was sufficient.

Close

more

Ronald
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
27/06/2009

4/5 Read Review

Weekend break

Ideal location for london. close to a variety of restuarants and tube stations.

Karen
Leeds, United Kingdom
01/06/2009

5/5 Read Review

Russell review

As always an excellent stay and excellent service all round - this includes the russell hotel and hotelsclick.com.

Wendy
Margate, United Kingdom
19/04/2009

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel, russell square. london.

This is the first time we had booked a hotel through a third party, rather than going direct, and to be honest i was somewhat dubious about using an italian company i had never heard to book a uk stay. especially fears about giving credit card details over etc i have to say though that those fears were unfounded. even with two days notice, hotelsclick.cm delivered on their promise, and at a price far cheaper that what the hotel would offer direct. a big thankyou from us.a++++++

Close

more

John
Blackpool, United Kingdom
18/02/2009

4/5 Read Review

Tea at the ritz

Excellent stay, 10 - 15 mins walk from euston station, tube station around corner of hotel, we walked to leicester square, theatreland and hamleys toy store,

Wanda
Widnes, United Kingdom
12/02/2009

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Very clean room,wide variety of foods on offer at breakfast ,efficient friendly staff. there a fire alarm during our stay which was dealt with quickly and efficiently.

Melissa
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
03/01/2009

5/5 Read Review

A london break to remember

Very accomodating stay from start to finish.rooms were clean tidy and cosy and beds were so comfortable.hotel supplied a magnificent breakfast with a1 varied choice and staff willing to assist at every opportunity.hotel was easy to find and just a short taxi,bus or tube ride away from anywhere.all in all a very pleasant stay and i wouldnt hesitate to stay again in the near future.

Close

more

Cécile
Bristol, United Kingdom
19/12/2008

4/5 Read Review

Excellent

Great location friendly staff clean excellent value for money great breakfast inc scrambled eggs best ever

Christine
West Hallam, United Kingdom
20/12/2008

5/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel

The staff were very pleasant, polite and efficient. the room and breakfast were good value at current london prices. very quiet at night.

Henry
Invergordon, United Kingdom
10/12/2008

5/5 Read Review

December 10th to 13th 2008

The room was a little on the small side but big enough for us as we did not spend much time other than sleeping in the room. the first impression is really good and the room was very tidy.

Neil
Weston Super Mare, United Kingdom
29/11/2008

3/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

We have stayed in this hotel before and the rooms have been very good. on this occassion the room provided was well below par and not of 4* standard.

John
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
06/12/2008

4/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

Liked the hotel, location ideal and breakfast was nice. down side was not enough hot water.

Matt
Durham, United Kingdom
03/12/2008

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel

Fabulous building, and ideally situated one short tube stop from both kings cross railstation. it is within walking distance of oxford street and the british museum. my single room was generously appointed with a bathroom almost the same size as the bedroom - very rare to find in britain! the breakfast was superb within a stunning room decorated with marble throughout and chandeliers - fit for royalty! my only advice is that if you are sensitive to street noise /police sirens through the night etc, you should choose a room to the back of the property (not overlooking the park) otherwise - my first chocie for london!

Close

more

Colin
Gatley , United Kingdom
28/11/2008

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel nov 2008

Everything was fine, the staff gave me the offer to swap my booking for two singles at no extra charge ,when i booked a twin. i was happy to accept the offer as i didn't fancy my the thought of mate snoring all night!

Lesley
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
25/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

Opinions

I thought i had booked for jury of russel street but i had mixed up the booking but after we found the correct hotel i (we) were very impressed and will use it again when staying in london.

Kate
Bracknel, United Kingdom
22/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

Fairly happy stay

Hotel was really good- rooms were lovely and clean, and the breakfast was yummy. did find rooms were very noisy i.e. outside street noise. also unhappy that our 4 twin rooms got turned into 8 single rooms which were dotted all over the hotel. hotel bar was also very expensive!

Close

more

Kim
Northants, United Kingdom
15/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

Grand entrance

Beautiful grand old hotel. location perfect.breakfast very good.staff very friendly.the room was extremley small for a 4 star hotel, the bathroom was nearly as big as the main room.room decor in need of tlc.overall i would recommend and would stay again.

Close

more

Susan
Aust, Bristol, United Kingdom
04/11/2008

4/5 Read Review

One night at hotel russell

I find this hotel very good value for money. a lovely building with good amenities and friendly staff. i have stayed here several times, and it never disappoints. whilst single rooms are small, they offer everything you need for a pleasant stay. whilst i would recommend it to anyone, i feel it is more suited to business people and adult visitors to the city than as a place for young families.

Close

more

Antony
Heelands, United Kingdom
21/09/2008

4/5 Read Review

Summary of views

A pleasant stay. some of the finer points could be attended to e.g. perfect cleaning of the inside of door of the bathroom - there was dust from many weeks on the ledge of the door, hair on the bath mat. the mattress need replacement. it was not comfortable in the middle. good location and the temperature control was ok. the stafff were courteous.

Close

more

Russell
Lancaster, United Kingdom
12/09/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell, russell square

Highly recommended. all staff extremely friendly. ideal location for seeing london, especially if arriving by train via the west coast mainline - it is 10 minutes easy walking from euston train station.

John
Leicester, United Kingdom
13/09/2008

5/5 Read Review

Weeknd break

Have stayed at this hotel a few times before, this was one of my reasons for booking again. only disappointment was the room. it was quite small, having had a twin room before and a single, this was only the size of the single , but with two beds, still was a lovely room and very clean, but i realy should of aked to be moved , as i know it wasnt there usual standard. after all had a great time and would book again

Close

more

Timothy
Guildford, United Kingdom
06/09/2008

4/5 Read Review

Russell

Lovely hotel and great location although we had a few complaints during our stay. staff at the bar in the evening were quite rude and not accodating. only 2 choices when ordering a bottle of wine. could not make us some irish/tia maria coffees as they said they had no cream!!! no waiter service to table. breakfast had to wait ages for some glasses for our juice. no orange juice and asked 2 waiters for some more to no avail. missing forks on table and waiter did not understand what we wanted!!

Close

more

Sarah-jane
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
03/09/2008

5/5 Read Review

Square deal

If you're looking for a comfortable, well priced and exceptionally central hotel for your visit to london, then hotel russell gives you all that and extra. a beuatifull victorian building,with an impressive marble lobby and helpful staff. rooms are both contemporary and well maintained. cleanliness is to a high standard and the food was very tasty too. for such a great price, the location was superlative, with russell square tube station 30 seconds away, and both oxford street and camden market only a 10 minute walk away, not to mention the thames riverside.

Close

more

Sadie
Doncaster, United Kingdom
24/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

Easy to book through hotelclick. the location was spot on & right near a tube station if you needed it although we managed to walk to covent garden, the mall etc really easily. the hotel was clean as well as the room, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the price made it even better. i would defo stay here again if i can get it at the same price.

Close

more

Roger
Malvern, United Kingdom
17/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

Excellent stay

We had an excellent 7 night stay.the room was very clean with every facility you could need from fridge to iron.maid service every day with fresh bed linen every other day.perfect location to explore the city with bus and underground very close.staff were helpful and friendly .the only complaint we had was the dining room at breakfast was a bit chaotic and needed a bit better organisation although food very good.

Close

more

Anthony
Norwich, United Kingdom
18/08/2008

4/5 Read Review

City center with easy tube access

The hotel is well layed out in an excellent position for any visit to central london, a minute walk from russell tube station. which is only one stop from convent garden.

Lorraine
Essex, United Kingdom
16/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hotel

Loverly

Anne
Romsley, United Kingdom
12/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

Russel hotel

Excellent internet price... worth shopping around for. good value for money at the price we paid.internal view from our room not great but as only a one night stay this was not a problem. room, bathroom etc clean and comfortable.

Susan
Aust, Bristol, United Kingdom
12/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

London stay

The hotel russell was an excellent place to stay. comfortable, and the interior and decor provided a calm atmosphere and touch of luxury in contrast to the capital's hustle and bustle. everything you need provided.

Karen
Manchester, United Kingdom
10/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

The russell

Excennet stay - staff increadibly friendly- very clean room . only one manior moad- had to wait 15 mins before i got served a cup of coffee at breakfast - and there were only 4 other people in there - i had to ask for that as well . other than that, excellent stay

Close

more

Susanne
Burntwood, United Kingdom
09/08/2008

5/5 Read Review

Luxury accommodation with fantastic comfy beds.

Excellent hotel situated close enough to walk to attractions in london but set in pleasant, peaceful surroundings of russell square. hotel offers luxury accommodation at reasonable price, everything needed for an enjoyable stay is available at the hotel. this is the second time i have stayed at this hotel and after visiting others in central london have decided that in future will opt for the russell as first choice.

Close

more

Margaret
Renfrew, United Kingdom
01/08/2008

4/5 Read Review

London weekend

In general the hotel was very good handy for euston. only down side, and this is the 2nd time we have stayed. we were allocated a room that looked down on to the air conditioning until in the courtyard - the drone of the units kept us awake

Maurice
Manchester, United Kingdom
28/07/2008

5/5 Read Review

Love the russell

Just returned from a 4 day/3 night midweek london break and had a great time. a lot of this was due to choosing the russell as our base. we travelled by train from manchester to euston and a 15 min walk got us to our hotel, which is not only excellent value for money, but ideally situated, with russell square tube only a minute or so round the corner, and the west end a 20/25 minute walk away, if you are feeling energetic. other than the rooms could have been a shade bigger, we had no complaint whatsoever with our choice. breakfast vg and all staff treated us in the manner expected of a 4 star hotel; we'll certainly be back next year

Close

more

Jane
Cornwall, United Kingdom
11/07/2008

4/5 Read Review

Lovely break

I have stayed at the hotel three times,it is so central for all the major attractions. our room was on the sixeth floor and was a bit on the small side but the bathroom was newly referbed. the staff were allfriendly,altogether a great three nights!!

Close

more

Glenda
Prince's End, Tipton, United Kingdom
09/06/2008

4/5 Read Review

A hot day in june

A lovely hotel situated within walking distance of euston, st pancras and king's cross. beautiful setting, well appointed rooms and lovely breakfast. lots of places to eat in the local vicinity, meals a little on the expensive side if taken at the hotel.

Close

more

Brendan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
09/06/2008

4/5 Read Review

Lovely hotel

The reception area is stunning with beautiful chandeliers. i had a single room which was very small and rather poky. the bed however was very comfortable and the bathroom modern and very clean. my room was at the back of the hotel and so was very quiet. the road at the front of the hotel is very busy so i'm not sure how noisy it would be but the rooms do have secondary glazing which cuts out a lot of the noise. all of the staff i met were helpful and courteous.

Close

more

Carole
Boxmoor, United Kingdom
06/06/2008

4/5 Read Review

Small room

The bedroom was small and especially the bathroom. we asked for a larger room and looked at two others but the one we had was the best. it is a great location but don't stay for the accommadation. breakfast was ok but not great. quite a small selection for a 4 star hotel.

Close

more

Gill
Epsom, United Kingdom
29/05/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hote russell

Beautiful elegent hotel next door to tube station. well located-easy to get to covent garden, oxford st bloomsbury, british museum etc. room well appointed, nicely decorated and clean. would have been nice to have a fridge in the room though.

Close

more

Lisa
Leicester, United Kingdom
28/05/2008

5/5 Read Review

Just what we needed

Booking through internet sites you really do hold your breath until you actually see what you have booked. this was a delight. this room was better than good. it was large clean and quite. we had a suite like room. bathroom was clean and again very spacious. the shower wow - powerful!! the hotel itself is elegant on the interior and amazingly clean everywhere. the communal loos in the public area were spotless. breakfast was added into hotelsclick.com price( not available on other internet sites) and it was handsome. it just kept coming out. the hotel is near enough to st pancras to walk and close enough to the west end/oxford street shops to walk. it took us about 15 minutes to get to shakespeare avenue, queens theatre. there is a park opposite with facilities to sit and watch the world go by whilst having a bite to eat. just down the road is a quaint italian restaurant and other eats. definitely the hotel for us .

Close

more

David
Long Eaton,Nottingham, United Kingdom
03/05/2008

3/5 Read Review

Could have done better !.

We went to london to celebrate my wifes birthday.when we arrived there was a problem with the booking which was eventually resolved.we had no hot water for two days (sunday and monday )so my wife had to have a cold shower on her birthday !!.the room was small but clean.unfortunately there was a vey loud noise coming from the ventilation system outside.this started at 5.30am and went on until the evening. the reception staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

Close

more

Samantha
Nottingham, United Kingdom
09/05/2008

4/5 Read Review

V good

Have stayed at the russell once before but in a twin room. this time i stayed in a double which i found to be quite small but with a very large bathroom. the room was very clean. we only paid for a continental breakfast but was given full english (bonus). would stay again

Close

more

David
Narberth, United Kingdom
03/05/2008

4/5 Read Review

London weekend

Very clean, pleasant hotel. good value for money considering the rating of the hotel. reception staff very friendly and helpful as where the staff in the breakfast area.

James
Kings Bromley, United Kingdom
27/04/2008

4/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Good clean room, breakfast fine, good service

Karen
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
05/04/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

I choose this hotel because of the location being near to the railway and not too far away from the theatres. we received complimentary drinks on the day and also was able to leave our baggage the next day - clean and friendly - i would recommend this hotel.

Close

more

Peter
Newport-On-Tay, United Kingdom
22/04/2008

4/5 Read Review

Too much noise!

Nice hotel, good location and comfortable rooms. no free internet. the rooms facing the central courtyard have a considerable level of constant background noise from ventilation systems - almost so loud could not sleep over. ask not to be in one of these rooms!lots intetnal stairs would make it difficult for those with limited mobility.

Close

more

Serena
Cambridge, United Kingdom
21/04/2008

5/5 Read Review

Review

Excellent

Patrick
Derby, United Kingdom
18/04/2008

5/5 Read Review

Wonderfull location, impressive building

The russell is an impressive building on approaching with its ornate stonework and chandeliers visible to passers by. on entering, we were immediately struck by the marble floor and walls and absolutely stunning staircase. reception was not too busy and the staff were helpful and efficient. we arrived early but our rooms were ready and waiting. the room itself had a modern decor and more than enough cupboard and wardrobe space. the bed was exceptionally comfortable with lots of soft pillows. the aircon can be altered in your room to suit you, an ironing board and iron was tucked away in a cupboard, tea/coffee making facilities were stocked up daily. the bathroom was a decent size and nice and clean with a good shower. the only drawback, if i have to find one, was that we didn't have nice view from our room, but then again it didn't really affect us. the room was clean and tastefully decorated. breakfast was fantastic.

Close

more

Lynne
North Walsham, United Kingdom
17/04/2008

4/5 Read Review

Roomy russell

A real treat to attend a business course. friendly staff. clean and spacious. bar drinks a bit pricey. cocktails not up to standard - have definately tried better. great breakfast. comfortable beds and pillows. would stay again in twin ambassador room.

Close

more

Valerie
Garstang Lancashire, United Kingdom
09/04/2008

5/5 Read Review

London 3 day visit

This hotel has good location for eustn station if travelling by train and access to shows in the west end. it is also good beause of underground location at russell square. all staff were efficient except for breakfast hostess who was chewing gum.

Richard
Warrington, United Kingdom
07/04/2008

4/5 Read Review

Russell - refurbished or not!

A good hotel if you get a refurbished room. i did not until i complained. surely hotels should offer these old rooms as a different type at a lower rate as they clearly were not what one would expect in a four star. i would not stay again unless guranteed a refurbished room! great service by the staff though.

Close

more

John
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
07/04/2008

4/5 Read Review

Great to be back

Quite a few years since we stayed at russell,delighted to find not much has changed.bedroom was very nice,would have liked to have had a bath in bathroom,but for one night it didn't really matter.reception staff very friendly,as was manuel in the bar,who served us an excellent afternoon tea upon our arrival.continental breakfast rather poor and hated being seated by the kitchen door when there were plenty of tables vacant elsewehere.very noisy.

Close

more

Helen
Warwick, United Kingdom
29/03/2008

4/5 Read Review

Great value for central london

A beautiful hotel right in the centre of london. the room was small but the breakfast and service were very good. for the price, you really cannot find a better hotel.

Kathy
Halifax, United Kingdom
31/03/2008

4/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

Well presented hotel. clean modern rooms. very central - but therefore a little noisy.

Ailsa
Llansoy, United Kingdom
29/03/2008

5/5 Read Review

Fantastic

I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews, but my stay at hotel russell really was fantastic! the lobby is gorgeous, the staff are helpful and the room (although a bit small) was very clean and newly redecorated. breakfast was great and well organised. i would definitely go back!

Close

more

Sue
Carnforth, United Kingdom
25/03/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Impressive large hotel in the centre of london. always pleased if i can stay here when i visit london. nice rooms and a very grand marble staircase. the breakfast offers plenty of choice.

Ronald
Llanelli , United Kingdom
27/03/2008

5/5 Read Review

Great hotel & fab location

This is a great hotel , with a good location for the shows and shopping , close to a good bus stop amd tube i would recomend it to anyone , just don't expect to much from the breakfast !!!

Michele
Hornsey, London, United Kingdom
26/03/2008

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

We enjoyed our stay. chose the hotel for the location as i was graduating at birkbeck college nearby. also my family were off to new york the following day and the tube station to heathrow is very near.

Adam
Leeds, United Kingdom
02/03/2008

5/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel

Excellent. exactly what you expect from a 4* hotel at a great price, especially for central london. i'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Mark
Ripon, United Kingdom
29/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

Good place to stay....

Nice hotel and brilliant position in the middle of london

Donna
Sheffield, United Kingdom
16/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

London weekend

Having stayed at the russell before in a suite, i thought i may be dissapointed in having a standard double but we were pleasently surprised. it was spacias and newly decorated.

Helen
Goole, United Kingdom
12/02/2008

3/5 Read Review

Great expectations

I had stayed in this hotel as a young person and had vivid memories of the magnificent staircase and the general grandeur of the building. although the hotel has been re-furbished it was not immediately evident. it was dark in the public rooms and the bedroom was dark with a whitewashed window, obviously there was no view! it had been decorated but the furniture was shabby. we went to the bar for a sandwich,which cost £9-99 and the bread was dry and very thick with little filling! on our return from the theatre that evening we were looking forward to a cup of tea to be told it would cost £5 per person. having had two extremely good meals elsewhere this hotel certainly does not give value for money. we will not be returning.

Close

more

Clifford
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
08/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

Superb!

A great hotel - the overall first impressions were great - speedy check in room was ready clean and nice! breakfast was superb and the times ran from 7 to 11am so you did not have to get up at the crack of dawn for it. you are also able to check in early order sandwiches 24/7 and the service throughout was superb. would deffinately stay again in a heartbeat.

Close

more

Annette
Hull, United Kingdom
01/02/2008

4/5 Read Review

Well worth the money

A lovely hotel , well worth the money. the only negative comment i have is that there is no double glazing and i could hear traffic until very late , especially ambulances going to nearby hospitals .the interior is suberb and staff were friendly and helpful. my room was upgraded , i had a lovely double bed and so did my mum in the twin room we had , most comfortable hotel bed i have slept in

Close

more

Catherine
Belfast, United Kingdom
17/01/2008

5/5 Read Review

Fantastic hotel

My sister and i stayed here for 5 nights and we were not disappointed. the hotel was lovely, staff were friendly and extremely helpful. our twin room was spacious and clean. breakfast was a bonus, we had only booked a continental but were able to upgrade to full english for £1. waiting service was excellent. bar food was lovely if a little overpriced but there was plenty of nearby bars and restaurants. location couldn't be better, 2 minutes from the tube. able to book attraction tickets with the concierge. would definitely recommend.

Close

more

Jennifer
London, United Kingdom
12/01/2008

5/5 Read Review

Beautiful hotel, great value

This hotel was booked as a present for my mums 50th birthday. her and my dad stayed there for one night and had a wonderful time. the hotel is absolutely beautiful with an amazing staircase and entrance hall. the room they hd was wonderful and comprised of two floors - bedroom downstairs and bathroom and study area upstairs. although they only stayed for one night, everything was perfect. and the price was amazing from hotelsclick. i would definitely recommend the hotel and this website to my friends/family and have even asked to stay there for my birthday. it's definitely worth a visit.

Close

more

Kate
Kettering, United Kingdom
06/01/2008

5/5 Read Review

Recommend the russell

A 2 day break proved very enjoyable at the russell hotel. tube and buses on the doorstep and the british museum was in walking distance. large rooms and although quiet inside we found some noise at the rear of the hotel from deliveries. have your £1 ready to upgrade to full english breakfast, well worth it. no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Close

more

Emma
Somerset, United Kingdom
07/12/2007

5/5 Read Review

Fab!!!!!

My reason for staying was just a weekend break with my boyfriend. i have stayed in russell square before but not at this hotel. came back to russell square because the location is great for everything you could want within london!!! this hotel was fab and i loved it, the price we got through hotelsclick was a bargin compared to the price list within the hotel for per night. at first glance it comes across really posh but we werent made to feel out of place. would defo stay here again!!!!

Close

more

Petula
Buckingham, United Kingdom
04/01/2008

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel, weekend stay

Conveniently situated for the british museum among other things. the hotel is just around the corner from ruseell square tube station and not far from euston. staff weere all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. although we had to queue for breakfast on the weekend morning, there was orange juice and newspapers whilst we waited. will be going back later in the year for another weekend.

Close

more

Karen
Tyne And Wear, United Kingdom
03/01/2008

4/5 Read Review

New year break

Exterior of hotel very impressive and on entering we were not disappointed - decorated tastefully and the breakfast/restaurant room was very grand. ideal position for many attractions and russel square underground just around the corner. the rooms were clean and adequate and room temperature warm after the cold outside. staff were pleasant and helpful. the electricity at one stage went off in our room and the staff dealt with this immediately and professionally. breakfast provided for all taste and was hot and fresh. although we did not eat on an evening in the hotel, the evening meals looked pricey but with lots of restauraunts nearby or just a short journey on the underground (covent garden two stops) this was not a problem. we would definitely stay here again.

Close

more

Sophie
London, United Kingdom
24/12/2007

4/5 Read Review

Christmas break at the russell

The bedroom was absolutely freezing - but the christmas lunch was rather good. all public areas very nicely decorated, but the hotel staff refused to light the fire in the bar so we could be all warm and cosy. it was a gas fire and i do realise they are expensive to run but if you don't light it at christmas - when are you going to do it?

Close

more

Victoria
York , United Kingdom
15/12/2007

4/5 Read Review

Overall ok for the good discount we got

Well we arrived at this hotel staying for 2 nights me and my friend had booked a twin room for 2 nights but 1 night was booked through here and 1 was at staff rate for the 2nd night the rooms should have been matched up, on arriving we were asked to have 2 singles rooms which we refused and had to keep telling the receptionist no we had booked a twin and thats what we expected so in the end we got the twin room, the 1st night stay the fire alarm went off at 1am and we had to exacuate for approx half an hour, and once back in the hotel room we couldnt sleep due too been next to a big generator it was so loud it kept me awake both nights, you can upgrade from a continetal breakfast upto a full english for just £1 which was good but when we got to the breakfast point their was a rude man asking what we were waiting for?.... that would be the bacon and sausage i have just upgraded too, his response was no more bacon and sausage come back tomorrow!! after a long wait he did bring more bacon and sausage out but by then their was a long que for it bit dissapointing, the room was very nice and clean and overall it wasnt too bad for the price we paid and i would stay their again as the location was central enough but i would ask for a quiet room

Close

more

Andy
Bristol, United Kingdom
14/12/2007

5/5 Read Review

Xmas stay in the russell

Having read a few reviews i was just slightly concerned. we stayed two nights in december and have to say that the stay was thoroughly enjoyable. we stop in a lot of hotels for both business and pleasure and for its price bracket this was excellent. the hotel looked like it had been recently refurbished and was slick and stylish. the bedroom was a good size and the bed, linen and pillows were wonderfully comfortable. the bathroom was clean and spacious. location is excellent too. one criticism would be about the breakfast. as normal we just had the continental and this was extremely limited. the hours of breakfast are great though - through to 11am during the week and 12pm on sunday. we had a fire alarm activation at 12.30am on the saturday night - obviously the hotel not at fault (more likely the christmas party going on in the ballroom). i mention this because the hotel staff handled it really well.

Close

more

Stephanie
Newport-On-Tay, United Kingdom
11/12/2007

5/5 Read Review

Russell

I wanted to stay in central london as i had an exam in the morning of my stay and didn't want to risk relying on public transport. i got a brilliant rate for the hotel russell and after booking was a bit worried it was maybe too cheap and it might be terrible! i booked a single room and that is what it was- one single bed, (which i thought was unusual but probably isn't in london) in a reasonably small room. there was plenty space for what i needed and all the usual facilities including hanging space for clothes, a desk, tea/coffee making stuff, an iron and trouser press, tv, hairdryer it a perfectly comfortable stay. my rate included breakfast but i didn't really feel like eating in the morning so can't really comment. all the staff were very friendly and helpful. if i needed to go back again i would happily stay in the same room on another occasion for the price i paid.

Close

more

Ajay
St Albans, United Kingdom
08/12/2007

4/5 Read Review

Russel square hotel

Great location, literally 2mins walk to tube, less than 10mins walk to british museum; spacious, comfortable, well-maintained bedroom; bar was tastefully decorated & service good, though drinks a little pricey; breakfast was fresh with good choice; staff were courteous and helpful.

Close

more

Kenneth
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
30/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

Back on form

After a previous stay which was marred by attitudes at reception, the russell returned to form on this visit. very welcoming and professional at reception, small single room but interesting - 6th floor, on front, but this time with secondary double glazing, and an intersting feel to the room - squared off at the door/entrance/ bathroom going to curved round walls and windows. like being in half a lighthouse! even though the breakfast is self service i found the staff on duty very helpful.

Close

more

Edward
St Mary's Bay, Kent, United Kingdom
17/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Saturday at the russell

Booked this for an overnight as we were going to see a show. arrived and booked in before the room was ready, stored the luggage all with no problems. got into room later no problem, room okay, was on 6th floor and nice and quiet. used room service for an ice bucket and glasses and this was fine. breakfast was not very well organised as there is a continental or full available but i couldn't see how they could tell the difference once you were seated. the continental was a little dissapointing for content. but what was there was good.

Close

more

Trudy
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
14/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

A very imposing but friendly hotel

Had a lovely stay at the russell hotel. the lobby is well renowned for its imposing beauty but i found the reception friendly and welcoming. the room was quite small but very clean (and if a room is clean i'm not too bothered about much else). the furnishings were nice in the room. we were on the 5th floor so had to rely on the lifts, which were plentiful so we never had to wait around for one. the breakfast was delicious and the service excellent. i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Close

more

Elaine
Warrington, United Kingdom
10/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

The great escape!!!

Firstly we choose this hotel as it was recommended to us.. secondly we were happy to the location to the theaters-a 15 mins walk.. and we liked the look of the hotel..it didn't disapoint!! the staff were warm and pleasent..the room was spaceous clean with all mod cons!! a great hotel!! were going back again next year!!!

Close

more

Kim
Canterbury, United Kingdom
08/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Bloomsbury

Perfectly ok room at a good price in a great location

Katherine
London, United Kingdom
04/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Nice stay at the russell

Russell hotel is a very nice place to stay. the staff were friendly and the building is clean. unfortunately the room we were given was not ready when we went up, but when we went back to reception a new room was sorted out for us very quick and efficently.this would not put me off from using the hotel again. the hotel is in a good location. with the tube station just around the corner it means you can get around london very fast. i would recommend this hotel to others.

Close

more

Linda
Great Sutton, United Kingdom
01/11/2007

4/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

this is the second time we have stayed here. the rooms are comfortable and spacious. the location is excellent for links to olympia, museums, theatres and shops. the breakfast choice was good and we upgraded to a full breakfast for only £1 each. the conciege was helpful and provided suggestions for places to eat which were very good for pre theatre dinner and afternoon tea.room service was fast and efficient. the daily newspaper was delivered to our door. the best hotel i have stayed in in london in the price range.

Close

more

Tara
Sheffield, United Kingdom
02/11/2007

5/5 Read Review

Weekend in london

Lovely hotel. very central and within easy reach of all the attractions within london. the room was a good size with good amenities including a huge bath (with some nice toiletries). the breakfast was of a good quality and we were able to upgrade to a full english breakfast for only a 1. would definately stay here again.

Close

more

Peter
Manningtree, United Kingdom
27/10/2007

4/5 Read Review

Looks like a top hotel but the food and drink lets it down

Magnificient external appearance and lavish marble staircase and panelling graced the lower floors. efficient and smart reception staff. very comfortable bed in a largish and well appointed room (very quiet area of the hotel on the sixth floor) continental breakfast was plentiful, but tinned fruit and strange tasting fruit juice were not 4 star standard. staff from several different parts of the world were friendly, but the head waiter seemed very stressed and there was apparent friction between him and some staff. friendly cleaning and maintainance staff along the corridors.

Close

more

Stuart
Essex, United Kingdom
27/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Fab hotel will use again!

Great hotel with a beautiful reception. rooms were lovely and clean. excellent location will definately use again.

Stuart
Essex, United Kingdom
27/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Fab hotel will use again!

Great hotel with a beautiful reception. rooms were lovely and clean. excellent location will definately use again.

David
Oldham, United Kingdom
17/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Good hotel

The standard of decor, furniture and fittings was excellent, as was the cleanliness. seervice by all staff we encountered was very good.

Sue
Sheffield, United Kingdom
13/10/2007

4/5 Read Review

Russell hotel london oct 2007

A good hotel, great location for west end and theatres. bus stop just outside but only a 20 minute walk for us from theatreland. staff very helpful. we will be going there again if we can find a good deal.

Kenneth
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
12/10/2007

4/5 Read Review

Still a good buy

Smaller, older-feeling room than my last stay here, but an excellent bathroom. surprisingly quiet although at front (5th floor). different staffing on reception - nowhere near as good as previously. nevertheless still recommended, and will go there again.

Close

more

Annie
Copthorne , United Kingdom
08/10/2007

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Very nice stay in a great location. room was fine for a one night stay and bathroom clean and tidy. nice to have air con. not much of a view from the window as it was an inside room but that made it nice and quiet. price was about £40 less on hotelclick than on the hotels own website.

Close

more

Carol
Bristol, United Kingdom
02/10/2007

4/5 Read Review

Opulent marble halls...magnificent!!!

A very comfortable stay in opulent surroundings..wow, that marble entrance!!

Mandy
Westham, Pevensey, East Sussex, United Kingdom
26/09/2007

4/5 Read Review

Lovely hotel

Friendly, fresh and clean, great breakfast in beautiful dining room.

Lisa
Trentham , United Kingdom
10/09/2007

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

The hotel was in a great location. all staff were very friendly and helpful. the menu was limited with only one vegetarian option!

Jacky
Leics, United Kingdom
31/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

London girls

Didn't know what to expect in such a big hotel, but it was really nice. very heplful staff, food good. we stayed on the 4th floor and bedroom couldn't have been better, but 4 of our party were on the 5th floor and their rooms were not of the same standard as ours.

Close

more

Andrew
Northampton, United Kingdom
28/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel not to be overlooked

Booked this hotel before reading any reviews - then read some reviews and they didn't read very well. so a little apprehensive. well what can i say...it was fantastic. i took my wife for a break away from the kids and arranged via the concierge prior to arrival for some wine and flowers to be in the room. when we arrived reception was very quick and professional, the room was lovely and the flowers and wine were on the desk in the room. the room was extreamly comfortable. the en-suite had a really nice shower too! the location is superb opposite a lovely park and 2 min walk from russell sq tube! the hotel was quiet and we were on the 1st floor so i don't know why other people were complaining about noise they must have been very unlucky. we didn't pay full price we went via an agent last minute but i would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone - but the room we had was a double and a little small for more than two. but will definately look to stay here again.

Close

more

Helen
Salford, United Kingdom
28/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

It's such a great location. reception staff were great and the we enjoyed the style of the hotel.

Palfrey
Wakefield, United Kingdom
27/08/2007

5/5 Read Review

Good value

Great location, excelant buffet breakfast. room a bit on the small side also bathroom which had holes in the walls where fittings were missing.

Karen
Leeds, United Kingdom
28/08/2007

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel review

We had an excellent stay - the staff were helpful and welcoming. the room was excellent and the hotel itself had a good atmosphere and the location could not be better. staff are conscious of customer needs. breakfast was very good. altogether this stay represented great value for money and contributed towards an enjoyable trip. strongly recommended.

Close

more

Julie
Cheshire, United Kingdom
22/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

4 day break

A bigger hotel than i would normally choose but good quality and excellent location for central london. good restaurants close by, easy walk from euston station and to holborn, covent garden etc. pleasant area which felt safe. good mix of ages staying at the hotel. good breakfast included.

Close

more

Lorraine
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
22/08/2007

5/5 Read Review

Lovely hotel

Perfect hotel. breakfast was wonderful. would highly recommend to my friends.

Andrew
Mapperley, United Kingdom
11/08/2007

5/5 Read Review

Good place to stay

A bargain £84.50 saturday night in central london for 2 people including a full breakfast each. felt like a good quality hotel. room was quite small, but adequate for shortish stays. bar prices are huge!

Margaret
Lincoln, United Kingdom
08/08/2007

4/5 Read Review

In 'smokey' london town the sun was shining everywhere

Great location. some street noise (probably un avoidable in central london). very noisy guests one night kept us awake until 4 a.m. good breakfast and extremely polite, helpful and friendly staff. room 606 was a little 'tired', especially the bed! the seating area was useful but cushion buttons were missing/broken. not a bad bathroom and shower. although assurred this was a no smoking room, the ash tray and a background smell rather gave it away! there were no 'no smoking' signs evident anywhere inside the hotel. a couple of empty bottles we noticed in the corridor outside remained uncollected for 2 days.

Close

more

Karen
County Durham, United Kingdom
05/08/2007

3/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

I have stayed here many times and have always had a nice room. however this booking through hotels click we were given a room which had not been part of the upgrading of the hotel. it was facing the boilers. hot!! not the cleanest!! we were asked if we wanted to pay extra for a full breakfast as only continental was included. every other time i have stayed here you just help your self to all the breakfast on display.

Close

more

Sophie
London, United Kingdom
25/07/2007

4/5 Read Review

Lovely bloomsbury

I enjoyed my stay in what is possibly the best area in london. i prefer it to chelsea or knightsbridge... you ve got the brunswick centre with shops and restaurants a stone throw away, literary, plus the british museum and green russel square where you can sit and enjoy a pic nic in the middle of central london. russel hotel is one of my favourites, the rooms are very attractive provided you get one of the new ones. the old ones are dire. i would definitely go there again. very good breakfast too, with plenty of sophisticated healthy options, as well as traditional english for the die hards. the bar is improved too, though the prices for a cup of coffee are a bit unrealistic even for the area.

Close

more

Peter
Penarth, United Kingdom
29/07/2007

5/5 Read Review

Business meeting

Excellent hotel and good facilities for meeting with business colleagues after very comfortable night in hotel. close to tube and for the price paid superb value for money. fast breakfast (buffet) option when main restaurant busy.

Christine
Cardiff, United Kingdom
28/06/2007

4/5 Read Review

Welcoming accommodation

A really good place to stay in central london. rooms are nicely furnished and the service is excellent.

Kenneth
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
29/06/2007

5/5 Read Review

Super location, room......but breakfast?

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now, this being the first time with hotelsclick and this was the cheapest rate and the first with breakfast. you may be allocated a bedroom in a quieter section or one on the main road, which can be busy late at night and early in the morning. there are different styles of rooms - those that have been modernised arevery chic, the others have a slightly older feel but are more than adequate - even a small single includes iron and ironing board, as well as a smart clean en suite. only real difficulties are at breakfast in the main restaurant which at peak times involves queuing but the staff are very helpful and friendly. continental breakfast selection is not great but adequate, especially considering the overall price. (excellent coffee.) coming out of lifts acn be a little confusing - choose the wrong one to enter and you can exit into a completely different section of corridor than you might have expected. if you are only a floor or two up then take the stairs - you feel as if you are making a grand entrance to a ball. i am there again this friday - wonder where i will be put.

Close

more

William
Gillingham, United Kingdom
19/06/2007

5/5 Read Review

Great stay!

Excellent accommodation, good breakfast, staff friendly, great location - what more could you ask for?

Michael
Hellidon, United Kingdom
16/06/2007

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel - russell square, london

An excellent hotel with helpful,friendly and highly trained staff.

Eleanor
Bourne Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
16/06/2007

4/5 Read Review

Excellent hotel

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

Amanda
Altrincham, United Kingdom
02/06/2007

3/5 Read Review

Russell square hotel

I booked a single room, which was quite small, but well decorated and clean. however, the room was very hot and stuffy. i had a choice of either having the very noisy air conditioning on or the window open. unfortunately the room backed onto noisy generators, which made it impossible to sleep. i am glad i only had one night there, and will not be repeating the experience unless i get a quieter room.

Close

more

Linda
Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
02/06/2007

5/5 Read Review

Russell square

Very pleased with our hotel choice

Marcus
Taunton, United Kingdom
26/05/2007

4/5 Read Review

Hotel russell may 2007

Excellent staff, and very good continental breakfast. room slightly small, but very comfortable. shops, underground, bar less than a 2 minute walk.

Michelle
Manchester, United Kingdom
22/05/2007

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Very nice hotel, clean and tidy. the staff are very friendly. breakfast is served from 7am which is a bit late when you have meetings to attend, you find yourself in a queue at 7am which makes you later! overall a nice hotel, quite close to the tube, shops and bars. i would stay there again.

Close

more

Phil
Stoke On Trent , United Kingdom
28/04/2007

4/5 Read Review

Hotel russell - april 07

Have used this hotel a number of times. very good and what i like about the hotel is that you can usually get a good nights sleep. however, on my stay this time i was put in a room next to the plumbing and was kept awake/woken early because of this. the next day, i complained and was moved. do not stay in room 112 as you will get no sleep. other than that, the hotel is really good.

Close

more

Heather
Stockton On Tees, United Kingdom
23/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

Shopping and theatre

Overall an excellent stay. brilliant location for our weekend in london. close enough to walk to the shops and the theatre, didnt have to use the tube at all. disappointments were: we were a party of 4 and had 1 double room on the 8th floor and a twin on the 6th. the double room was far superior to the twin - the twin also stank of stale cigarette smoke. breakfast was a little disorganised and we had to ask for a lot of things that i would normally expect to automatically arrive at the table.

Close

more

Geoffrey
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
21/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Room clean, dinner food good, service leisurely, breakfast food good, coffee/tea service not well organised.

Jennifer
Shipley W. Yorks, United Kingdom
16/03/2007

5/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

We were very pleased with the accommodation at the russell. the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. the central location made getting to our various appointments very easy. we shall certainly use this hotel again

Michelle
Peterborough, United Kingdom
12/03/2007

4/5 Read Review

Feedback

Nice room but very expensive food either in-room or in the restaurant

Rima
Sheffield, United Kingdom
10/03/2007

5/5 Read Review

Happy about stay

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a night,the room was nice,had everything what we needed.also got really nice breakfast.the building itself looks magnificant!and we paid £55 pp incl breakfast.and this is not too much more than b&b.also good location.

Close

more

Christine
Luton, United Kingdom
17/02/2007

4/5 Read Review

Overnight stay hotel russell

Very nice clean hotel. i had phoned hotel direct 5days prior and was told ok for early check in as going to matinee at theatre. reception had no log of call, but said i had requested bath only room. so just left bag atr hotel, frustrating waste of my time. room was small, but adequate. continental breakfast was haphazard, definately not 4* everyone was waiting for something, milk, rolls,plates, girl clearing tables seemed indifferent. the consierge was very helpful and greeted everyone with a smile, he was employee of the month & you could see why.

Close

more

Rebecca
Broxburn, United Kingdom
16/02/2007

5/5 Read Review

Pretty package, but the basics weren't great

The russell hotel is a beautiful hotel, well placed in london with excellent access to the tube and only a 15 minute walk from main line stations. service was excellent - friendly and professional. and the breakfast we had in the king's bar was very tasty indeed. but beyond the plush packaging, we were disappointed with our room. the room was clean, but very small. the bed was rubbish - and what is the point of a nice hotel if you can't sleep at night because the mattress is sagging and horrible?! i'm certain there are nicer rooms in the russell hotel and maybe we just got unlucky, but i don't know that i would stay there again. with so many lovely hotels in london and good deals to be had by most of them, i'll choose next time to stay in a hotel where i can get a good night's sleep!

Close

more

Amanda
Stanion Kettering, United Kingdom
10/02/2007

4/5 Read Review

21st birthday treat

Room was pokey, not particularly pleasant, bathroom down some stairs, almost like an afterthought. nothing like pics shown on net. as this was booked for 21st present very disappointed. i contacted hotel, (daughter sent pics via phone) and said how disappointed i was and they said because it was her birthday they would upgrade her. they did and then charged her another £30. had arranged for box of balloons to be delivered to room, they werent there when daughter arrived so i rang and they said they knew nothing about it. daughter then went and asked reception on two different occasions and the same answer. i phone balloon company who said delivery had been made and signed for at 10 that morning. daughter went back to reception and insisted on checking post room and there it was with her name all over the side. had we not been persistant she would never have received them. i think if we had paid the going rate she would have been treated a little better

Close

more

Kathryn
Kingswood, United Kingdom
27/01/2007

4/5 Read Review

Russell hotel

Great hotel and very convieniant for the theatre and the british museum

Bhasker
Hull, United Kingdom
22/01/2007

5/5 Read Review

Hotel russell

Negative points - size of room small- almost claustrophobic ! tv not working -found out that staff knew taht it was not working !