Welcome! Already registered? Access your profile
Are you a new user? Register

Reviews: Hotel Royal National

Hotel ROYAL NATIONAL

Bedford Way, WC1H 0DG,

The hotel, located in Russell Square, is surely a good choice for whom want to stay and visit London with a limited budget and without high requires. Royal National is a three star hotel spread over 7 floors.It offers elevator, two restaurants one of which with Indian cuisine specialities, a bar...

Vote 3.4/5
Stay 3.3/5
Price 3.6/5
Rooms 3/5
Location 4.3/5
Cleanliness 3.3/5
Reception 3.3/5
Services 3/5
Business Services 1.3/5
View only reviews from
Sarah - Somerset, United Kingdom - 01/11/2013
Clean Hotel, friendly staff excellent location for getting around sightseeing, close to tube station and a bus route right outside the Hotel what more could you ask for. There was a queue for breakfast on the Saturday, however it is a big hotel and it was full, to us this was not a problem you just have to be patient. There is a great choice available for breakfast. The meals in the restaurant although a small choice are very good value for money. Overall a pleasant stay good value for money and we will definitely stay again
Roger - Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom - 08/07/2013
Hotel was everything as described. Rooms basic but adequate for a short stay and where hotel services are not required. CAUTIONARY NOTE: Before making reservation through HotelsClick, check the price with the hotel direct. The hotel as a flat rate for double rooms of £106. Hotelsclick charged us £134.
Wolfgang - Mevaseret Zion, United Kingdom - 02/05/2013
This is our eigth stay in the Royal National which speaks for itself. Whilst the hotel as a whole is pretty awful, the rooms are OK, the breakfast, so so but the location is really good. The price for a London central hotel isn't bad and for my wife and I, this together with the location is the draw.
Julie - Preston, United Kingdom - 05/04/2013
This is mine and my son's 5th stay here. The only down side is checking-in is a bit unorganised, and you can be queueing for a while. Location is great, breakfast really good and rooms very good.
Denise - Chorley, United Kingdom - 11/07/2012
i was concerned at what the hotel would be like after reading the amount of negative feedback that i'd read on trip advisor. but dont be put off. yes the hotel is old when you see it from outside but they are doing the place up but with over a 1,000 rooms it will take a while however we got a revamped room which was nicely decorated, very clean with hairdryer, tv, tea/coffee facilities and ample clean towels, comfy beds with clean bedding. The only 2 downfalls were the window didn't shut so room was a little noisy until the bar shut and would have meant in winter that the room would have been cold but as it had been a lovely sunny day the ventilation was appreciated and the on-site pizza rest closed at 10.30 despite it stating 11pm. so after a westend show we were looking forward to a pizza for tea/supper but no luck. Location is great and would def stay again :)
Brian - Milton Keynes, United Kingdom - 17/12/2011
For the loacation and price hard to beat.....rooms a bit dated and in need of redecorating a little, but service of the staff in the hotel was great!
Janet - Tewkesbury, United Kingdom - 29/08/2011
With some trepidation after reading damning reviews I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Every aspect was perfectly acceptable for the purpose that I needed.
Jennifer - Halifax, United Kingdom - 12/04/2011
When we arrived they denied having our reservation, despite our hotel voucher. They refused to let us use the phone to sort out the misunderstanding and we had to pay again for the room. When we check out they refused to give us any evidence that they didn't have our confirmation so we could claim back the cost with the agent and were very rude. When we asked to speak to the manager they miraculoysly found our reservation and refunded the payment. Aside from this the hotel was below avergae.
John - Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom - 06/04/2011
We have stayed here annually for the last 6 or so years. The hotel is used to a great extent by bus parties mainly of young people, which makes it rather noisy night and day. The hotel generally was good apart from the fact that the queues for breakfast were so long that we gave them a miss and made our own arrangements. I would have been rather miffed if we had paid for a full english breakfast. I think in future we would select another hotel.
Stephen - Beaminster, United Kingdom - 02/04/2011
upon arrival at the hotel the trainee receptionist was rather short with us. Yes we had a voucher and we were not aware we could not check in until 2pm. We left our bags at the hotel after a long journey from the South West of England by rail. When entering the room everything seemed ok except the towels. On returning to the hotel we went off to the West end for a show. The foyer and yard outside was full of groups of students waiting for coaches arriving late at night and early hours. The noise was out of control and many of these groups were just left to wait unsupervised. The noise did not subside until 1:30 am Sunday morning. This did not make one feel good going down to breakfast. Being on the first floor it was impossible to get a lift. My wife has Arthritis and walking the stairs was not a good experience for her. At breakfast I was challenged to pay money as the reception had not stamped my card (oversight). There were too many people for breakfast made the whole experience was not pleasant after very little sleep. I came with my wife for a birthday treat and said I will never stay at this hotel again. I have been to London many times on business and leisure but never stayed here before and will never stay here again.
Geraldine - Northallerton, United Kingdom - 12/02/2011
Given 2 keys to our room on 7th floor: 3 times had to return to reception to have keys replaced as they would not unlock/open door. Reception Staff not helpful - more I was a boring chore. Room cool and roomier than expected and clean except there were newspapers on the floor of the wardrobe, one of the beds the sheets were holed. My daughter left her hot water bottle in the bed - it was her favourite, but reception twice asked me to phone back as 1) they didn't understand what I was saying due to the background noise in reception 2) I would have to called back and speak to house - keeping about it - no offer to take my number and details and call me back, which would have been good customer service.
Melanie - Penryn, United Kingdom - 15/10/2010
After reading some reviews I was worried about staying at this hotel, it was fine and the location fab, my husband and I stayed 2 nites and yes we had to queue to check in, yes the room was basic but we had an en-suite which was ok, the room looked clean enough to us and our beds were made and we had clean towels each day, breakfast was a drink and toast - so to be honest for what we paid it was fine.
Peter - Haywards Heath, United Kingdom - 25/09/2010
The general staff were not at all helpful few could be understood or converse in English. The general attitude of staff was totally indifferent to the needs of the guests. One person stood out as helpful with an excellent attitude and that was the lady who came to room 3225 to check the heating system. The room was clean but the public areas were dirty. The breakfast way below standard to any other hotel we have stayed in. The price paid was way over the advertised price on the advert board outside the hotel, Would not use this hotel again.
Helen - Chester-Le-Street County Durham, United Kingdom - 02/08/2010
The Royal National Hotel is ideal for a London city break. It is very well situated for bus + tube giving access to all parts of London. The hotel is very clean with all the staff being pleasant and very helpful. It is worth paying the extra for the full English breakfast + we recommend the evening meal, especially the roast dinner. I've given the hotel top marks as an excellent short break hotel and would recommend it to anyone.
Delair - Winchester, United Kingdom - 18/01/2010
I really recommend this hotel to everybody trying to visit london, very friendly staff, clean, well heated rooms, good location and good price for such nice hotel.
Philip - Luton, United Kingdom - 18/12/2009
The hotel is big, though the staff were polite and helpful. The venue room was good as the food but our room, on the 7th floor has a very noisy radiator and a nasty water stain on the ceiling. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the room clean. The decor is suffering slightly from age and is due to a redecorate. I would it recommend it as there are better hotels nearby but I have stayed in much worse.
John - Clacton-On-Sea, United Kingdom - 11/12/2009
We stayed here as it was close to the West End and we could walk to the theatre. Generally pleased, but we had a room at the front and traffic noise was constant all night.
Margaret - Worcs, United Kingdom - 21/07/2009
My friends and I stayed in the Royal International Hotel recently and was really pleased with this hotel. Room was spacious, clean and pleasantly decorated. The hotel is great for being central to all London has to offer and I will deffinately use this hotel again.
Frederick - Coventry, United Kingdom - 03/06/2009
although a very large and busy hotel it suited our purpose reasonable price especially for london Well placed for trains, buses underground, shops and restuarants etc. despite my intially concerns about possible noise and service as there were numerous large groups booking in as I arrived, in fact i was served at reception very quickly and proffesionally. Again at Breakfast people were moved into the dining area quickly, only coment hear would be not immediatly clear how to upgrade meal. however there were sufficient staff available to sort that out. Reception area concorse constantly busy but once moved away quiet and plenty of places to sit. All staff very helpful and pleasant.
Frances - Formby, United Kingdom - 28/04/2009
I was attending a conference in the hotel so location was very fortunate.Foyer area always crowded thereforeI had a long wait before being attended to.Room adequate,breakfast fine.
Stuart - Kibworth, Leicester, United Kingdom - 11/02/2009
In the middle of all the latest snow & ice we fancied a trip to London to see a show and visit museums as well as doing some shopping. We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Royal National (we have stayed here before on several occasions) as it is very central and very efficiently run, even though it is a big, busy hotel.
Tracey - Wallsend, United Kingdom - 09/02/2009
For being in the centre of London its a very reasonable price, clean and friendly staff. No matter were i worked in London, i would travel to stay here again.
Pamela - Birmingham, United Kingdom - 11/12/2008
I have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times it has been clean and comfortable. The location is great especially when staying in London for travel on the Euro star. It is in walking distance from Euston station. I would reccommend anyone to stay at the hotel if you're looking for basic accommadation in a good location and for a relatively cheap price.
Joanna - Shrewsbury, United Kingdom - 08/10/2008
My room was clean and had all I needed for a comfortable stay. Just the basics but that is all one needs. The location was ideal for my purpose and I was relieved that although it is the biggest Hotle I have ever stayed in, it was quiet.apart form the inevitable traffic which is just part of London life anyway. So all in all, I will definately be staying again and hope the experience will be the same. Thank you.
Darren - Glasgow, United Kingdom - 13/06/2008
Extremely rude staff who seem to forget you are paying to stay at the hotel. We arrived 30 minutes before check-in and were told to come back 30 minutes later. There was no way we could check in early. Only one key provided for the room - when we asked for another, more rudeness from the staff. Hotel hasn't been touched since the 70s - decor is worn, carpets are threadbare, bathroom facilities are ancient, no air conditioning. Yes, it's cheap, but so are Travelodges - and they're like the Hilton compared to this place.
Gail - Preston, United Kingdom - 14/05/2008
the availabilty of a smoking room would have helped
Sheila - Abergele, United Kingdom - 16/02/2008
excellant hotel, much better than we expected for the money,very comfortable nights sleep,room was clean and service was v.good. breakfast (continental) was v.good.Will definitely use again.
Shaun - Exeter, United Kingdom - 08/01/2008
This is more of a two star hotel, very basic, rooms are not very comtable, a little noisey. Great for a budget stay. More like a youth hostel Also you can book a single room direct for £68.00 and not the £75.00 I paid by hotelsclik
Paul - Port Glasgow, United Kingdom - 13/03/2007
pleasant staff, rooms were basic but clean, Temperature in room was too warm and you couldn't control the radiator also only 1 socket in the room which was hopeless considering I was in a triple room with another 2 females.
Karen - Sheffield, United Kingdom - 13/02/2007
We found everything we needed for our 1 night stay at this hotel. Although the room and the facilities were basic, they were adequate. The reception staff were incredibly efficient and were actually expecting us (I have stayed in higher star london hotels a couple of times where the bookings have been confused), and we also were allowed to check in early. Would definitely stay here again.
Elizabeth - Portsmouth, United Kingdom - 03/02/2007
My daughter and i came for a theatre break, this is the first time i have stayed in this hotel.I have already recomended you to friends.